Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase

Altura Urban 17 Briefcase

Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Review 1 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt2112
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it is supposed to do

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought this bag to carry a lap top and paperwork on my short commute to work. Have not had it long but it has seen some very wet weather and so far it has kept everything completely dry. Easy to get on and off rack. Works well and looks smart. Very happy with my purchase
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fpallstar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and looks professional

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very straightforward to fit and much easier than a previous pannier. Looks a lot more professional when carried into work and meetings! Need to remember to detach the bottom clip by sliding it off the frame so slightly nervous that forgetting could result in breaking the clip - we shall see! Front pocket 'gapes' a bit when loaded. Overall a good buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjath
Country:Sweden
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, but could be even better

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, inner bag
Cons: no cover, missing pocket for cables and ada
This bag was bought to replace another Altura laptop bag for bicycles that I bought in the year 2003. This bag is better in that it is better fixed to the bike, but not as good in that it is harder to detatch. You need two hands and a knee to for this. Another virtue is the inserted bag for the laptop that you can lift out and use separately. That is brilliant.
But I miss a separate pocket for power cables and adapter and, living in mid Sweden where winters are very wet and where the streets are sanded, ending in an abundance of sandy slush splashing all over, I would have appreciated a separate cover to keep the bag clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dee06

enthusuastically received gift

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this as a gift for my partner who needs to carry a laptop, paperwork and shoes on a long commute daily, in all weathers He says it is absolutely fit for purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vanjameson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, bot not great

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This bag holds my gear, and I like that there is an outer pocket with room spaces for pens, etc. There is also a clip to hold my keychain, which is very useful. However, the shoulder strap is a bit too short. Also, even though there is a zip-up flap that covers the hardware that clips onto the pannier rack, the flap is not padded. Thus, when carrying the bag, the hard plastic can dig into one's side. Overall, I'm happy with this bag, but hope Altura comes out with an improved version 2.0.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jules1664
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great capacity

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great bag, fantastic waterproofing. Slightly awkward to put things in or take things out while on the bike as it is fixed on at an angle. But otherwise a really good product at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bike748
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Practical, stylish & well thought out

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I don't usually post reviews but thought this might be useful to anyone looking for a decent briefcase/pannier. Look no further!
I've found this to be smart enough for meetings (that said I'm no city slicker) & a great improvement on having to fold documents into a standard pannier. It accommodates A3 papers and a laptop comfortably (in the padded insert which can be left out to improve capacity if not needed). The cover flap is elasticated at it's edges to snugly fit the bag when closed and the back has a roll-up cover flap to conceal the very secure pannier attachment mechanism (preventing it from catching on things when not on the bike). It's a sensible compromise between robustness (reinforced rubberised corners to the base) & weight. It also has some reflective detailing in it's construction and a shoulder strap. I should add that it's done well in all weathers thus far, but I haven't been in a torrential downpour yet. The internal waterproof lining with drawstring inspires confidence but it's yet to pass the ultimate test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TooManyBikes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product, if it fits your bike!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: doesn't fit all racks
I had struggled to find a pannier bag big enough for my 17" laptop, so this seemed just the ticket for commuting. When the product arrived I was pleased with it and impressed with the quality - looked to be waterproof and just what I needed.
However, when I came to put it on my bike it turned out it wouldn't fit. The bracket was too small to go on my rack (standard rack on a Bobbin Brownie). Unfortunately this meant I had to return it and start my hunt again.
If this fits your bike it would be a great bag though, I was disappointed to have to return it. Evans have handled the return swiftly and without problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ColH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made functional bag.

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
So far so good, a spacious well made bag that appears rain proof.
The main quibble is that the front pocket is not so secure, if they had a seperate flap and clash that would be better.
Like all paniers if you load it up and do not counter balance it with another panier it does unbalance the bike slightly.
I would suggest a rain cover just to protect it against splashes so it does look muddy after a bag rain shower.
One large pocket with a divider and insert Laptop bag.
Very easy to pop on and off and angled fixing does stop you catching your feet on it when peddling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BOBBLESG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good & Big, just needs more pockets

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This is a very nice product,very easy to fix to the bike and very portable with the supplied carry-strap. Feels lovely quality and I am sure would be waterproof. The only problem I have is that it needs more compartments/pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sub5orange
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent commuting solution

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Does the trick to transport laptop, locks and lunch and more. Item is easy to fit and remove of a pannier rack, nearly bought one that is twice as expensive. The bag is also attractive of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mostafa

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I can fit my 17" Laptop in this bag, which leaves a small space for the rest of my stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richard86
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good choice for commuters

PostedJune 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This bag provides ample room for the daily commute and even for short weekend trips. The diagonal mounting position leaves plenty of room for heels while pedalling.
Slightly lacking in extra pockets to keep more fragile items separate from tools etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrGPhD
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent capacity and ease of use.

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to use, plenty of space
As a bicycle pannier this is excellent. The removabal laptop compartment provides a reasuring amount of padding to protect your laptop during transit and the rest of the bag provides useful pockets with plenty of space for documents (or games if you prefer). Altura's usual excellent water-proofing provide peace of mind even in horrendous weather conditions and the diagonal mounting is even easier to use than the standard ones.
The strap supplied with it is comfortable and it functions reasonably well as a laptop bag once removed from the bicycle. It is quite large, but this suits my needs perfectly and I have been using it recently even when not cycling to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnowStorm7890
from Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Urban 17 -- Great bag !

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bag in order to avoid getting all sweaty from carrying a backpack. The switch was a great idea. I carry a big laptop in this bag and a few books. I find the shape just perfect for this purpose. On the bike, the bag is not saggy, but stays in place. It has a stiff structure. The bag can carry fairly heavy loads. Also, the bag is well designed from a water-proofing point of view. The black fabric top has elastics on the side to ensure that no water gets in by the corner ; and in addition, there is a grey fabric layer that you use to wrap the inside content and tighten with a rope. Note that the bag is made to be mounted on an angle of about 45 degrees. This is to give the clearance to your heel when pedaling. I mounted mine on the right side of the bike, which seems to provide more clearance. Only negative : the handles both the one on top of the bag and the strap one are rather cheaply made. They could be changed easily, but the fabric for the handle is not great.
I have used my bag in the canadian winter (Montreal) with new snow in the streets for a ride of about 40 minutes morning and evening, and I would never go back to backpack. Best buy for the money in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kevp5774
from Coventry
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bag fits well but needs outside pockets

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: no outside pockets
I have just bought this to replace an old Altura computer briefcase and it really does the job well. The 45 degree angle that it attaches on does work well and it carries plenty of stuff safe and dry, including my dinky little laptop. It lacks any outside pockets which are very useful for keys, lights, cash etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skijock

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good capacity for a 13" laptop and a couple of files.
Fits well to the rack and the angled mount keeps it away from your feet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colby
from Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Laptop Bag for Commuting

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to use
This bag has been great for my daily commutes. I'm using it to carry a heavy Lenovo W510, along with all the accessories, notepad and various other items. The pockets are great for holding cell phone, mouse, pens, etc, keeping everything neat and tidy.
The bag's drawstring pulls together a nice waterproof pouch that protects the leptop and papers that are stored in it. The cover folds over the bag, sealing it nicely by stretching through the back. The built in carry strap and cover for the rack hooks makes it a great bag for carrying into the office.
I was a little leary of the rack system, however it works perfectly, is easy to attach and detach, while securly locking the bag into a 45 degree position, allowing more room for pedaling while still carrying a large amount of gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
griet
from South Africa
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I would choose this one again any time!!

PostedMay 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very well designed and sturdy product. Now I can enjoy using my bike to go working without worrying about the safety of my laptop!
Love the padded loose bag inside for the laptop.
Very well designed for use in wet conditions. Also looks very neat and professional to take along to meetings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Urban 17 Briefcase
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mecjb
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Laptop bag

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good quality bag with a decent padded laptop liner. Drawstring top keeps the rain out.
The angled mounting is a little strange but keeps the bag away from your feet when pedalling.
All in all, pretty good purchase, and looks OK when arriving with it at a meeting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>