Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single

Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single

Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Review 1 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BoomerUk
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for daily commute

Posted06 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent, just the right size to get change of clothes, shoes (size 11), towel and wash kit in without having to cram. Handy pocket insode for keeping my wallet etc in. The dryline system has kept everything dry even when cycling through torrential downpours. Used with an Altura Urban Briefcase 17 on the other side of the bike for my laptop this is perfect for commuting.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamieM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Nearly Perfect

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Big open bag that just works. Easy to hang, easy to open and close. Waterproof so far.
Sometimes I think it could do with more internal pockets, but then that can waste space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jergui

Robust with good storage volume

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Ideal for a bike rack fitted on my moutain bike, sadly I had to return it as the fixing brackets would not fit under a Bobike child seat I had.
I have reverted to a much narower Basil Bag now which I am happy with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mwby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Easy to fit

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Took a long time to decide which pannier to buy and this one fitted perfectly. Hardwearing, easy to fit and just right for shopping trips. Not yet used for travelling but expect to be good. Easy to order online and collect from store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveojo69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good size and easy to attach to rack.

Posted20 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A good size pannier, my 15.6" wide screen laptop fits along with a shirt, tools and a waterproof for my commute to work. It does not come with a shoulder strap but has d rings to fit one. It attaches and detaches from the rack easily and can be adjusted far enough back so that my heels do not catch. It hasn't rained yet so I cannot comment on how waterproof it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vicky17
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to use

Posted09 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good and strong, good design, easy to fit securely to bike rack, ideal for commuting. Have not yet used it in heavy rain but am confident it will perform. I like the tough rubberised patches on base for durability and stability when on the ground. Relatively heavy, so not good if you are trying to minimise weight of bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilksa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great product

Posted07 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
seems to keep everything dry, big enough to carry work stuff including my 15" laptop, and good value compared to other similar products. v easy to take on and off the rack too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firsttimetoure
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

We'll made

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
They look good and fit well. Hopefully they will do the job well also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrklyk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good bag, good value

Posted31 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: poor internal pocket design
A good waterproof bag that is easy to mount/dismount from the rack.
One issue is the internal divider/pocket. It is not very useful and the zipped pocket is too far down so it is difficult to get things out/in when the bag is full.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marko979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Does the job

Posted01 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
So it's a bag and it does the job of carrying stuff. Not much more to say beyond that...
Not sure if it's particularly light or not. Usually the stuff inside the bag makes the biggest difference. If I'm cycling with the bag I'm not particularly after speed anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MichaelofLondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality for the price

Posted19 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The only down side I can think of is its a little small, but thats stretching the point.
The fitting mechanism is a dream, so easy and secure, I kick myself for not getting this before and fighting with poor versions in the past.
Its clearly water proof (its so thick it almost seems insulated) and will keep your things protected.
The bag itself is light so doesn't add to the weight, but seems to withstand decent loads without any problems.
If you are wanting to put your rucksack in here then take it out at the other end I'd suggest popping into an Evans store to check before buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geremiah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for the money so far

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: no strap
Waterproof (so far).
Locking mechanism (onto rack) is quick and easy to put on and lift off and means no movement on pannier. Was easy to adjust precisely to what I needed. Excellent
If I purchase again would go for a larger size as extensive padding results in inside being less roomy than expected.
Interior pockets are a bit wasted as once half full they become very awkward to get at. Would prefer an external pocket for money, phone etc, but I guess would have implications for waterproofing.
No strap, but carrying handle okay for short distances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
royeggy

Very sturdy and strong looking

Posted15 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not used in the rain yet, but apart from that it's great. Although on my rack on a mountain bike, my heel does occasionally catch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
basil123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

robust

Posted10 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
nice bag , a bit heavy but well made , looks waterproof , the white flashes are actually reflective strips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisajobby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Solid pannier

Posted28 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Replacement commuting bag for older Altura.
Pros - This bag is light, durable, water resistant. Has handy pockets inside which allow you to organise spare tube, tools etc. Easily fits plenty of stuff for whole day incl work clothes, lunch, diary. Could fit laptop also.
Cons - Shoulder strap not supplied and must be purchased separately. No ability to rear bike light onto bag for extra visibility which I was able to do with old Altura.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samthelamanite
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, durable and totally weather proof

Posted23 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I use this bag to store my suit while cycling to work. It survives all weather and stray brambles, totally protecting its contents. I would redesign the zip of internal pocket though, it seems to start in the wrong place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamieN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product.. Very spacious.

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bit fiddly to fit at the beginning but once you get used to it it's great. Not tested it in the rain yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JIrl29
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This pannier looks good, good quality material.

Posted12 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier looks good, material is high quality and there is plenty of room inside. A top pocket would be handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erictheking
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Superb Pannier

Posted06 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pannier has waterproof inner that keeps everything dry even in heavy rain. Can fit loads of stuff in & strap adjusts easily.
Clips on & off easily. Pocket inside is useful for keys/wallet etc.
I havent done an online review before but do read them before I make a purchase so thought I'd do any potential buyers a favour! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brovie
from Perth, Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost Perfect!

Posted11 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier is great quality and fantastic value for money. I have been through rain and shine and it has not failed yet. Looks like it will last forever and has great attention to details.
The only gripe I have is that it does not fit as tight as I thought it would on my rack. This is my first setup though, so I think it may be user error or just the way it is supposed to be. That said it does not feel like it is going to come off at all it bothers me less the more I use it. It sits well and does not move when I go over bumps in the road or up onto pavements.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who asks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>