Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single

Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single

Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Review 1 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BoomerUk
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for daily commute

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent, just the right size to get change of clothes, shoes (size 11), towel and wash kit in without having to cram. Handy pocket insode for keeping my wallet etc in. The dryline system has kept everything dry even when cycling through torrential downpours. Used with an Altura Urban Briefcase 17 on the other side of the bike for my laptop this is perfect for commuting.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vicky17
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to use

PostedMay 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good and strong, good design, easy to fit securely to bike rack, ideal for commuting. Have not yet used it in heavy rain but am confident it will perform. I like the tough rubberised patches on base for durability and stability when on the ground. Relatively heavy, so not good if you are trying to minimise weight of bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilksa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
seems to keep everything dry, big enough to carry work stuff including my 15" laptop, and good value compared to other similar products. v easy to take on and off the rack too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firsttimetoure
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

We'll made

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
They look good and fit well. Hopefully they will do the job well also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrklyk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good bag, good value

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: poor internal pocket design
A good waterproof bag that is easy to mount/dismount from the rack.
One issue is the internal divider/pocket. It is not very useful and the zipped pocket is too far down so it is difficult to get things out/in when the bag is full.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marko979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Does the job

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
So it's a bag and it does the job of carrying stuff. Not much more to say beyond that...
Not sure if it's particularly light or not. Usually the stuff inside the bag makes the biggest difference. If I'm cycling with the bag I'm not particularly after speed anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MichaelofLondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality for the price

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The only down side I can think of is its a little small, but thats stretching the point.
The fitting mechanism is a dream, so easy and secure, I kick myself for not getting this before and fighting with poor versions in the past.
Its clearly water proof (its so thick it almost seems insulated) and will keep your things protected.
The bag itself is light so doesn't add to the weight, but seems to withstand decent loads without any problems.
If you are wanting to put your rucksack in here then take it out at the other end I'd suggest popping into an Evans store to check before buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geremiah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for the money so far

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: no strap
Waterproof (so far).
Locking mechanism (onto rack) is quick and easy to put on and lift off and means no movement on pannier. Was easy to adjust precisely to what I needed. Excellent
If I purchase again would go for a larger size as extensive padding results in inside being less roomy than expected.
Interior pockets are a bit wasted as once half full they become very awkward to get at. Would prefer an external pocket for money, phone etc, but I guess would have implications for waterproofing.
No strap, but carrying handle okay for short distances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
royeggy

Very sturdy and strong looking

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not used in the rain yet, but apart from that it's great. Although on my rack on a mountain bike, my heel does occasionally catch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
basil123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

robust

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
nice bag , a bit heavy but well made , looks waterproof , the white flashes are actually reflective strips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisajobby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Solid pannier

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Replacement commuting bag for older Altura.
Pros - This bag is light, durable, water resistant. Has handy pockets inside which allow you to organise spare tube, tools etc. Easily fits plenty of stuff for whole day incl work clothes, lunch, diary. Could fit laptop also.
Cons - Shoulder strap not supplied and must be purchased separately. No ability to rear bike light onto bag for extra visibility which I was able to do with old Altura.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samthelamanite
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, durable and totally weather proof

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I use this bag to store my suit while cycling to work. It survives all weather and stray brambles, totally protecting its contents. I would redesign the zip of internal pocket though, it seems to start in the wrong place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamieN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product.. Very spacious.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bit fiddly to fit at the beginning but once you get used to it it's great. Not tested it in the rain yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JIrl29
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This pannier looks good, good quality material.

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier looks good, material is high quality and there is plenty of room inside. A top pocket would be handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erictheking
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Superb Pannier

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pannier has waterproof inner that keeps everything dry even in heavy rain. Can fit loads of stuff in & strap adjusts easily.
Clips on & off easily. Pocket inside is useful for keys/wallet etc.
I havent done an online review before but do read them before I make a purchase so thought I'd do any potential buyers a favour! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brovie
from Perth, Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost Perfect!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier is great quality and fantastic value for money. I have been through rain and shine and it has not failed yet. Looks like it will last forever and has great attention to details.
The only gripe I have is that it does not fit as tight as I thought it would on my rack. This is my first setup though, so I think it may be user error or just the way it is supposed to be. That said it does not feel like it is going to come off at all it bothers me less the more I use it. It sits well and does not move when I go over bumps in the road or up onto pavements.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who asks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lolasbike
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, stays on, easy to carry
This bag latches on and off easily and stays on securely. Its also very easy to carry around when not on the bike. The only thing I might have like is a small outside pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rads
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good utility pannier bag

PostedMay 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The bag is a good size and I have been able to fit what seems a lot of items into it. It has been used for cycling to work and on holiday. It works well for both situations. It is waterproof which is important and the flap sufficiently seals the bag. There is a strap and handle meaning that the bag can be carried quite easily when not on the bike although if too heavily packed this can become uncomfortable after a while. That said the strap has not arrived with my bag and I am still waiting for this to be sent over a month later. The reflecting patches are a useful safety addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuinbrazil
from Sao Paulo
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent !

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have used this pannier in torrential tropical rainstorms in Sao Paulo, riding through flood water with the bottom third of the pannier submerged in the water for 4-5 seconds at a time. Everything inside stayed bone dry.
After 2 years of constant use the clips are as firm as ever despite the terrible road conditions here.
If it gets dirty, I run it under the tap. It still looks great.
The internal organiser is very useful for lights, pump, repair kit etc. It comfortably holds files, large books, laptop, rain gear.
Depending on your rack type, you might have to pop out the internal part of the hooks to fit well. Again, no problems.
A commuting pannier can't have a more thorough test than daily use in a city like this. Top marks.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Urban 20 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2frogs
from Sydney, Australai
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good product

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Both my wife and I each have one of these on our commuter bikes. The bag has lots of adjustement to fit on different racks, and sits firmly on the bike - good when leaping kerbs etc. Easily fits my laptop, lunch, and clothes for work. It's been water resistant for my riding (but when it rains hard I take the bus). It can sit a bit wide on the bike which is not so good for when I squeeze between lanes of traffic. Careful packing eliminates this issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>