Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Dryline Rack Pack

Altura Dryline Rack Pack

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Review 1 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hill54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Well designed

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very well made. Great design. Easy to attach to pannier rack. High quality materials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikey123

Great

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Perfect Bag for my needs.. Can easily fit two Dslr Cameras with lenses fitted, coat, wallet and tools. Apparently it is waterproof but I haven't used it in the rain so can't comment.. Highly recomended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AliC2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy and easy to get off and on the rack

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a sturdy pack and does exactly what I had hoped, easily attaches to the rack and easy to get off. I have not fully tested it yet but it looks totally waterproof and has good capacity to fit all the essentials in, in fact I think it would be adequate for an overnight without other panniers. The only thing I have noticed (and this is probably my fault) I squeezed a large loaf of bread into the pack and it seems to have distorted the sides. Clips along the edge or velcro would solve that problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cb295
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Fits well

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
So far good! Very easy to set up, waterproof and looks good!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trieditonce
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Waterproof

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I brought this as it had semi rigid sides as well as being waterproof. I'm very happy with it. I used it mainly for my commute, there's room for my d lock, rain jacket and lunch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WillD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for sightseeing rides

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, useful fixing mechanism
This rack pack has one big compartment with a small organiser section at one end.
It has a two-part fixing system to attach it to the rack:
- a flat piece that straps to the rack and has Velcro strips on its upper side and three clips;
- the rack pack itself, which attaches via the Velcro and the three clips.
This means it's quite easy to remove the main compartment from the bike when you stop, and to reattach it when you get back to the bike.
The main compartment could maybe do with a few more internal pockets, but overall the pack was effective, waterproof and easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kath2049
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very handy essential for the daily commute

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The bag's just about big enough to take what I need to work & back. Am a bit sceptical of the durability the landing strip, but it seems to be doing the job for now. Reflective trim is excellent for staying visible & the pack is easy to clip on and off as required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aldwin
Country:Algeria
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great alternative to panniers for light use. It's easy to fit and remove, has a decent carrying strap so you aren't lugging round anything awkward when you make a short stop in an area where theft is an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dannyporter4u
from Warrington
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pack

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, unclips easily
I don't like wearing a backpack all the time so I bought this for going to and from work. It's not much bigger than a loaf of bread inside but yet it can fit my dinner, a pair of trousers and a shirt also it doesn't crease them like a backpack does. The attachment system is quite good, very secure and detaches easily. Also even when its overloaded it still keeps it's contents perfectly dry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
malaca
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It Does What It Says!

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not joined up with other altura bags
Although I was dubious about whether the velcro fasteners which attach the bag's baseplate to the rack were secure, my fears were - after 30 days continuous riding - unfounded.
The bag is waterproof, and easily accessible.
Downsides are:
1. If you overfill it, the sides tend to bulge: Not sure why they are not more rigid.
2. The strap which converts from a closure tightening strap to a carrying strap is a good idea: However the velcro which fastens it when on the bike doesn't seem t be in exactly the right place to achieve a tight and secure closure - although this did not affect the waterproof performance.
3. Although I think my rack is a standard width, the bag is of such a width (and I accept that any less would not be as useful) that it has first to be removed - and the baseplate eased up on each side - in order to remove both panniers.
In summary a good product with scope for improvement.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Birmingham/Solihull, Commuter
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

GREAT FOR COMMUTING

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
GBP40 seems a lot for a bag but it does do the jo. I am a commuter so all I need to carry are waterproofs, bike-lock, mobile and repair kit. With that loy packed in there is a some space left but not loads.
The quick relaese feature is great but it is an odd thing to carry around off the bike. a bizzare man-bag.
Summary: expensive but does the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shojjy
from Purbeck
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An All Round Good Buy

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great quick release system, fully waterproof
Cons: Heavy, only 7ltrs, shortish shoulder strap
All round this is a great product.
It has a sturdy structure throughout, and has proved itself in heavy downpours. This adds a bit to the weight, but it's well worth the sacrifice in my oppinion.
The 'landing strip' feature really is useful (not simply a gimmick).
The 'transformer strap' is ok, if a bit short when fully extended.
It has an efficient streamline design with good reflectivity. As a result it looks great. Also as a result however, it is fairly low on space.
I manage to fit a basic repair kit, waterproofs and lunch in there no problem. So whilst it's fine for me, this ain't no shopper bag (it would just about fit one loaf of bread).
So in short, if 7 ltr space is all you need - THIS A GREAT BUY!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Someman
from Bucks
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A really useful bag

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The bag is well designed and made from strong materials and looks good on my bike. The interior is about the size of a large loaf of (un-sliced) bread, which is good because on a Saturday morning that’s sometimes what I put in it, along with a few smaller items squashed in. When going on rides it can store my u-bolt lock, map, glasses, compact camera, a jumper and something to eat if I need it. The lid has expansion room and the fastener can be adjusted accordingly.
The bag can be detached from its base and carried as a shoulder bag if desired. Having been caught out in heavy rain I can testify that the bag does keep the contents dry, as claimed by the manufacturers.
If you have a rear rack on your bike, consider one of these. I use it on my mountain bike and it’s enabled me to dispense with a back-pack for most rides. A useful feature would be the inclusion of two drop-down side pouches, handy for small items that need easy access, like a phone, keys or a puncture repair kit. See my other review on rack packs regarding a subsequent purchase for my road bike.
 
Products related to my review
 
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Dryline Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldernow
from Bucks
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great pack

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
Spacious, durable and easy to use - it is secure but also easy to remove. Good quality materials and very reflective.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.