Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Dryline Bar Bag

Altura Dryline Bar Bag

Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Review 1 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bones66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product with little fuss

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Overall very happy with this product, fitting was easy and straight forward. It was on ready to go within 5 minutes. Good build quality although an internal zip pocket would be an advantage for those small things to stop them being lost in the cavernous space. A great handlebar bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
outdoorgirl
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, good size
Bought this bag to carry essentials for the C2C. In fact it fitted everything in that I needed, waterproof, energy snacks, spare water bottle, spares in fact its a bit of a tardis!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PipsterH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Large size/secure and waterproof

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Purchased this after using a friends. Very secure on handlebars can withhold a battering on off-road descents and torrential rain.
Great for important things (passport/wallet/electrical goods) while touring and can quickly come off and taken into shops etc.
The lid can at times can open but all that is needed is a string and clip to secure around handlebars.
Highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BycyLin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent size

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just the ticket for my needs and reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CardboardDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very practical bar bag

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, well designed
I was very relieved to find this when a week before my tour, I found my old bar bag didn't fit my new bike. The Quickfix fitting worked very well once we'd put some old inner tube on the bars. The map case is easy to read through and did not steam up in the rain; it has a very good watertight closure, although I think needs to be treated with care; you can detach the map case for rides on home ground. Although the bag itself closes with only Velcro at the rear, it remained totally waterproof despite heavy rain. A shoulder strap for use off the bike snaps on easily. Despite this being a rushed purchase, I am more than happy with it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rog50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and easy to fit

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Easy to use with detachable map case included. Fitted well to flat bars on hybrid bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulH66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Very good front pannier with simple fixing system. Has withstood a few torrential downpours and some extended riding (100 milers). Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Citygirl
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good buy

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: map pocket poor quality
This bag was so useful for our touring holiday - it was great to hold all our valuables and just unclip it from the bike. It holds more than you would think and, despite bumpy terrain, stayed secure on the handlebar - the Klickfix bracket is brilliant. The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is the map pocket, which is fairly poor quality - atfer just one week the velcro started to pull away. Disappointing. Nevertheless, I would recommend this bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
virginia

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This has been , all in all, a great addition to my cycling gear. The Klikfix system is easy to fit and provides a very solid base for the bag once it is attached, and came ready to fit both standard and oversized handlebars. The bag itself is good quality with plenty of room for all you need. There is a small pocket on the front on the outside, although a small inside pocket for something like a mobile phone would be useful. It keeps things dry, and has well placed reflective panels.
Cons: The attachment of the bag means that you lose your normal place for a front light. There is a small loop on the front of the bag for a small light. Fine for city cycling, not so great for the countryside when you actually need a larger light.
Also, the map case is of very poor quality. It feels flimsy, doesn't attach properly so flaps around horribly, and generally feels like it won't last at all. Big disappointment in an otherwise very good value bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jesse
from Leamington Spa
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid, Dependable Bar Bag

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, an investment, among the best bar bags
Cons: Expensive
This is my first bar bag, so I do not have much to compare it with, but it is an extremely capacious and solidly attached bag. I am generally fearful to put too much weight into it, but it has never lagged forward; it has a very good attachment system.
I was and am worried about other users problems with the map attachment. My advice is to attach it to the bag with the velcro straps alone, and not the buttons, as the buttons seem extremely fragile. If used in this manner, then it seems unlikely to break (touch wood) It is a very handy thing, maps on bags, plus looks cool and makes people think your in it for the long haul!!
It also keeps your stuff relatively cool, I just cycled in 27 degrees C weather, and the Milky Way mars that were in there were not melted, though would squish if squeezed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Candy1980
from Shropshire
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great idea but...

PostedJune 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: map case poor quality
Great idea, easy to fit and does what you'd expect it to.
I just have one problem with this product, the map case is poor quality and broke on my first day of using it. I honestly expect better quality given its price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Telemarkhero
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Functional across a continent.

PostedJune 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this on the strength of a previous review. Simple to fit with two handle bar clamp sizes supplied as standard. Simple one button click system is superb to release or lock on. Waterproof on 2000k from Portsmouth to Gibraltar in October. Front pocket handy for tools and small items. Slightly fiddly to close sometimes (minor). Map case is superb and can be unpopped and removed when not needed. This is necessary as it can flap madly in the wind. A second popper or velcro could easily sort that for long tours. Used daily on a commute now as it does not add to width like panniers in London traffic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Liamfre
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Map holder fell to bits!

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: carries enough stuff
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
this was one of the most dissapointing equipment failures on my trip through France and Italy, it only lasted 9 days. the bag itself was good, but for the price i would have liked it to at least made it to Italy with the map holder intact.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlCycle
from Southampton
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best Purchase ever

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic bag that I've had no problems with whatsoever. Manage to get quite a bit in there for both cycle trips and cycling to work. Only faults would be that it's difficult to open with a map as the map section can't be closed when the bag is, but other than that, fab!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pentargo
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good piece of kit

PostedJune 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
First time I've used a bar bag and this one has certainly done the job. The click fastener took awhile to get fitted at the right angel but once you've got it sorted it darn convenient. Can take a surprising amount of weight too, and to date has not let a single drop of rain in despite some fairly challenging conditions.
The map holder initially proved tricky as it is not attached at the near side at all. This was remedied by a pair of smallish bulldog clips attached and folded back, which not only added a bit of weight but could be tucked underneath the lid of the bag.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lagos
from Nigeria
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
An excellent purchase. Very simple to fasten onto the bike and the clip system works perfectly. Waterproof and plenty of space.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Dryline Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeRowGirl
from plymouth/southampton
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

simple, useful and effective

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
I purchased this for use whilst doing a weeks touring with friends around the coast of cornwall. As it was the first time i had done any touring, the idea of a box to contain all my valuables / things i needed access to quickly seemed ideal, and luckily this bag does what it says on the tin.
The mount is very secure, simple to fit and strong, as well as making the bag very quick to remove which is ideal for nipping into shops etc and taking valuables with you - although standing around waiting for friends with old-fashioned velcro-attached bar bags to remove theirs can be frustrating! the detachable carrying strap is also usful for this, although it is quite bulky.
The bag itself is very easy to use even whilst cycling, as due to the velcro it can be opened one handed and then you can get acces to the bag safely. The rigid internal frame is very good, stopping the bag collapsing around heavier items and hiding small items as cheaper bags often do. The small internal pouch is also good for keeping these items safe, especially hair bands for me!
The best thing about this bag has to be the waterproof layer - not having to worry about keeping phones/ cameras/documents dry is a blessing and means no faffing around with little plastic bags etc. Although I've only used it in a couple really heavy downpours it kept everything bone dry.
Inevitably there are a few downsides, firstky the price, which seems quite a lot for a bar bag but if you're going to do any touring or regular wet commuting its definitely worth it for the hassle saved.
Secondly, it would be nice if the adapters for oversized handlebars were included, instead of having to purchase them separately.
Overall a great useful bit of kit, whoch unlike so many things these days, simply does what its supposed to well!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.