Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair

Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair

Note - Removable shoulder strap not included.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Review 1 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyboywales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Robust, waterproof bags for commuters

Posted18 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof
Cons: Expensive, no shoulder strap provided
Bought these with my bike that I use for commuting. The package is actually 2 paniers with a 16 litre capacity in each. I commute to work in all weathers and they have not let me down. I carry the following items in my bags with space to spare:
15" Laptop with charger
Large D-lock
4ft locking cable
Set of trousers, shirt and belt
Packed lunch
Various other small items like a wallet, keys etc
And I still have space to spare! The material is very hard wearing and waterproof. To get the best results you need to make sure that the top flap of the bag is covering the inner liner and that you have it clipped down tight. There are plastic rack hooks on the back of the back and a solid backing with quick release mechanism. This is handy as you don't have to worry about the stuff inside the back pushing out into the rear wheel area of the bike. Likewise the quick realease mechanism with hooks allows you to fit/remove the back in seconds. The reflective decals are a bonus on dark nights too. The only negative - they carry so much stuff, you have to be carefull not to overdo it- especially if you are going to be lugging your bike up hills! The bags work well with the Topeak Tourist DX rack.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sparklyguider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Fantastic Item

Posted09 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was offered these in place of another set of panniers which I had ordered but had a delivery date for a few months down the line.
They are an excellent item, I have had no problems, they are most deffinatly waterproof.
I put lots of different things in mine, including lunch, change of clothes and various other different thing.
I use these on my Tern link c7 and they are fantastic, just the right size for it with enough clearance from the ground and heels when peddling.
Well worth the price and fantastic item!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canvargun
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great panniers, durable, spacey, and waterproof

Posted26 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, waterproof
Cons: Uncomfortable
I live in Turkey, so first of all I want to thank Evans Cycles for the fast and easy shipment. I got the panniers in 8 days and didn't pay for the shipping. The bags came directly to my door. It is just great.
Panniers are water proof I tried them fully loaded during my northeastern Turkey bike tour. The Black Sea region is known with its heavy rainfalls. The bags kept my equipment nice and dry. 32 liters per pair which was more than enough for me.
The bag has only one room. There is no separators inside the bag. Basically you just load everything in one place. There is a pocket though; it seems small but it can hold a lot.
If you do moderate touring or commuting and looking for something waterproof, these bags are fine. If you do long and heavy tours then you might consider these for front racks and buy bigger pannier for the back. I recommend something more than 45 liters per pair.
They are very durable. My bike fell on one side often and the fabric scratched a little but they are fine. The clipping system is strong. They were fine even the bags were fully loaded and while I was riding on rough terrain with lots of bumps. I use them for commuting also. I commute to university which is 25 km away. I carry only one bag and I put my books and notebooks, spare clothes, even my sports gear for the gym; running shoes, shorts, t-shirts, my skipping rope. One bag carries a lot, I'm really happy with this product.
They don't have shoulder straps but you can use other bag's straps if you can remove them. There are places where you can clip straps. The only thing is when you carry the bag with a strap on your shoulder, the rack clips on the back of the bags might be uncomfortable to your sides. It is light enough when empty.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
junie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

nice buy

Posted20 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
very spacious, excellently water proof, easy to carry, but they forgot to give me the shoulder straps so need to go back and get them.!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
meridaman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seem well designed and made.

Posted16 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these panniers recently and therefore they have not been used for lengthy trips yet, but they seem well deigned, sturdily made, and hold luggage in an orderly (and accessible) way.
The rear clip that holds the panniers to the rack is OK, and adjusts easily, so that provided your rack has down supports in a suitable place, the pannier is reasonably secure. The top clips work well, and easily, holding the pannier firmly and securely to the top rail of the rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigBadTrevsy
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Waterproof and durable

Posted17 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I've been using these for three years now and they have survived the commute really well. They clip on and off easily but it's essential to ensure the fixtures are tight or they will fail. Mine did on one bag and left it sitting in the street with my laptop - happily retrieved without loss. Also check the screw on the frame hook regularly - these can fall off and cost a fiver to replace.
They come with a shoulder strap but the only downside to these is that they're not comfortable to carry off the bike. The stiffened wall corners and frame hook tend to dig in.
They take a lot of weight, including my weekly milk and veg shop which amounts to about 10kg.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mishmash11
from Cambridgeshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just right

Posted07 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good panniers for light touring. Only short fall is the lack of any side pockets for quick access.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy999
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Excellant Value

Posted30 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought these for my KMX Viper Trike. Absolutely no change in the performance of the trike. CofG unaffected. Room for everything except the kitchen sink! Waterproof, durable and accessible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bibski
from Greater London Area
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

great buy

Posted22 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was a little hesitant to spend so much on panniers, but I bought these in-store and I am so pleased. They are worth every penny. They hold a ridiculous amount of stuff and keep it dry. Not all bags have a shoulder strap in them, but these _should_ come with one. I recommend buying in-store so you can check to make sure it's in there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nefeli

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
great design, waterproof, convenient size
minus: shoulder straps not included even though the clips already exist
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueEyes
from London, Wandsworth
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best Pannier

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value for money, very good quality, 100% rainproof, excellent dividers inside, easy to fix to the rack,for daily commuting perfect
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Dryline 32 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jowish

Posted10 December 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
very good, very nice, comfortable, i use it a lot
very good, very nice, comfortable, i use it a lot
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.