Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Orkney Bar Bag

Altura Orkney Bar Bag

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Review 1 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
markymarkmark

Two years later :-(

PostedAugust 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I got this two years ago I was impressed, but some heavy use has shown up problems. Firstly, the map case fell to bits on my first two week tour. The replacement didnt fit, so I made my own. Secondly, and more seriously, the bag distorts when loaded. The front sags downwards and this means the "lid"is pulled forward off its velcro fasteners and you end up trying to close it whilst cycling, but you cant without lifting the base of the bag upward - this takes two hands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tourer78
from australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Large bar bag

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good bag for the rider looking for a larger handlebar bag, easy to fit and the bright red colour stands out also. You can fit a fish & chip dinner for 2 in this monster!! have not marked it as a 5 because I have not been able to test it out in the rain yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cas1966cat

very good quality

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
very useful and just the right size
good quality product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TommyDLB
from Leighton Buzzard
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Purchase

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This bag does everythig it says it does and more not to mention keeping all of my stuff completely dry throughout several rainstorms! This bag has now been used on several long distance trips and has worked perrectly. The map pocket has also been great and all is still in perfect condition!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikingballast
from norfolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great bar bag

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, loads of room
i brought this for a three day tour, so i could carry my camera, the capacity of the bag is great, i could fit camera, glasses, wallet, phone and a waterproof jacket inside and still had the outside pocket. there were so negative reviews about the map case, just treat it gently and it will be fine.
Easy to fit. A worth buying
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Francesc
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purchase

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good product with good finishing and strong for a long trip. I did a 1500km trip in spain and still like new. I'm From Andorra, near Spain, and the delivery was faster than any other shop in Spain where I usually buy.
The attaching system is very good, easy to take off.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NeilTwy
from Gravesend
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bar Bag

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: map case usless
Ordered the bag, turned up very quickly. Fitted the bracket to the bars of a roadbike, however the oversize bar was too for the included clamps so need to order new ones at about £4.00.
The bag itself is excellent, more than enough room for a camera, sandwiches etc etc. However, the case for the map is completely useless and the velcro came off after the first ride (perfect fit on my mountain bike bars) - did not want to send the whole thing back so mended with tent seam tape and it holds OK
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ANFB
from HIGH WYCOMBE
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

ALTURA ORKNEY BAR BAG

PostedJune 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality
LOOKS GOOD,BUT ABOVE ALL KEEPS CONTENTS DRY SECURE AND ORGANISED.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NewtoTouring
from Hereford
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

PostedMay 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good bag, really easy to clip on and off the bike. I keep my valuables in the bag and items I need readily to hand like my camera. I clip it off and carry it with me when I stop.
Really easy to open and close with a velco fastening and a decent overlap to ensure that rain does not get in the bag and damage the contents.
Could be a little lighter and smaller and the velcro on the map holder lasted about two days before becoming detatched from the plastic wallet. I will repair it! I also needed to adjust the cable support which stretched after a few days of use such that the bag sloped forward rather than tipped back to make map reading easier.
All minor issues really.
Overall a good purchase. Would I recommend it - yes.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Orkney Bar Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RMB67
from Athens
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

RMB67

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
LIghtweight but durable, water-resistant, lots of pockets and useful stuff, versatile etc. Nice colour.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.