Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair

Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Review 1 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
James100

Not a great design

PostedNovember 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
A few points:
1. Clips did not fit my back rack well ( my rack has slightly thicker tubing) thus the pannier has come off going on several occasions.
2. The outer front pocket, has no zip or fastner. Thus I would not store anything in it, expecially when the pannier is full, as the coverflap does not sufficiently cover this pocket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jhsk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

VG size, weight. Adjustable fittings a big plus.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a high-quality set of panniers. The fittings work well and the bags are well-structured. They are large and robust.
For my part, I need to ensure the panniers are positioned to the rear of the luggage rack (lest my heels strike the bags as I pedal), although this can be achieved by adjusting the location of the fittings on the bag.
A few weeks in, I'm very happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kcrafts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dry and roomy

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Large panniers that stand up to consistent soaking. Tough material (so slightly heavy) but clean up well.
My only concern (like some others) is the size. They take a really good load and are easily secured but in hindsight, with smaller panniers you would carry less. Having just completed a five day run, i should have taken less with me. The answer is either give yourself less space or exercise good self control (i didn't). I bought them specifically for their waterproof characteristics as i live in Scotland and you just have to be prepared!!!
Good kit, no mater what.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CraigP
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

they're big

PostedAugust 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
These panniers are huge! This was the main reason I bought them, my sleeping gear can fit inside them when cycle-camping rather than being tied to the pannier rack. Because of their size it took a bit of adjusting on the rack to avoid clipping them with my heel when peddaling (I have size 11 feet) but it is possible.
They are quite large to carry around for day-to-day commuting use, and now I am back from holiday I am wondering if I would have been better off getting 40 litre rear panniers plus front panniers instead, though this would have been much more expensive. I also really miss the zippable outside pocket on my old Altura Arran 46s.
Otherwise they seem sturdy, tougher and thicker than the Arrans. It rained for the first five days of my last holiday but no water got inside. Ortleibs would not have performed any better weather-wise. If you need the space they provide for all your gear then get them: otherwise something a bit smaller might have more everyday practicality (but you might not be able to fit in the bottles of whisky to bring home as presents...)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Denmark. cycle touring
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pannie

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bougth the Orkney pannier to replace my old karrimor pannier. The Orkney pannier are far superior to karrimor pannier. The volume of the pannier is very large and the design and finish really good. It is a good feature that the panniers can convert in to shoulder bags. The panniers fitting on the rack are perfect.
The reason why I do not give the pannier a full 5 star is that they are a bit heavy. 2,8 kg compared to my 1.8 kg regarding my old panniers.
John
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gehteoh
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good solid pack

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is exactly what it says on the label and is a solid, reliable pannier set. Waterproof and stands up to muddy, windy and wet conditions well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
billywhizz
from Valence, France
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Nice set of paniers

PostedApril 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just come back from a family (4 person) ride on the south coast of France. Two pairs of Orkney Altura paniers were sufficient to carry all our things. Really well made and good to know they're waterproof although it hardly rained - so haven't tested them to the full.
Could have come with some clip on straps to carry them on and off trains etc.
Having said that it does not detract from the quality. Easy to clip on and off the bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shawsey
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Quality Panniers

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, waterproof, hard-wearing
Cons: Expensive
I was very unsure at the asking price but ended up treating myself and am glad I did. I have put these panniers through a lot and they have always come up trumps. I have continually overfilled them with too much weight and they have always held out and I have also ridden for hours and hours in torrential driving rain and the contents have miraculously remained as dry as they would on a sunny summer's day. Seeing the state of other people rapidly deteriorating panniers I am glad I splashed out as these are gonna last a long long time. Don't be shy... if you're gonna be using them a lot, get these ones, you won't be sorry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Orkney 56 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andrew
from Ipswich
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good large, flexible, quick release rear pannier

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, easy to attach and release, large capacity
Cons: Expensive
Although quite expensive, this is a good large pannier. It is very easy to attach and release from the rack. It also has a comfortable shoulder strap.
After attaching and releasing on average twice every day for a few weeks, I noticed that some of the material is getting worn where it rubs on the screw that attaches the rack to the bottom bracket. Six months on, still using it every day, the problem hasn't noticeably worsened.
I leave the shoulder strap permanently attached and just tuck it into the handle, so when I've locked my bike up, I can quickly whip the pannier off and sling it over my shoulder.
It is not as waterproof as an Ortlieb pannier, but easily keeps things dry on my fifteen minute commute and overall is much better for my needs. Also served me well on two week's touring in the summer.
In summary, not perfect, but the best I could find after quite a bit of research.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.