Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
59 out of 63(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Review 1 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
craig10
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent piece of kit. Takes 2 minites to fit and definately keeps crude away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SilverCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps your bum clean!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit and look good too, great coverage for the wider tyre. Reasonable price, compared to other on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevie1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Upgraded my current rear guard for this

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Having recently purchased the equivalent guard for my 29er Hardtail I decided to invest in this to replace the one currently used on my 26 full suspension bike. Pleased that I did as this is more versatile to meet the clearance required over the back wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chapper1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak Defender M2 Rear mudgard

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Best rear mudguard I have found (and I have been through a few).
Easy to fit and adjust, stays where you put it. Also easy to remove.
Looks good too.
Basically does what it says on the tin, a really good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dnk1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Difficult to fault

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fitted it my MTB. Easy to fit. it's quite long, stays in place and doesn't rattle. One of my better buys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bayman14

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Keeps the mud off your back.good product. Only used it once but easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Quality product and easy to fit.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Quality product and easy to fit. Haven't had the chance to try it out yet but the guard is wider than my back tyre and so should be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xarius
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good buy!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great buy for my girlfriends mountain bike, it was easy to fix on, looks good and works fine with no bouncing around or un nerving of the guard, would reccomend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hanx
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent mudguard!
Easy to put on and off.
Adjustable in two places.
Bought the 26 inch version, but it works great for 29:ers as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0161mark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent mud guard.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As someone who has been through a lot of mud guards for mountain bikes, I find these to be the best I've ever owned. Lightweight, flexible and with a great quick release bracket, (most brackets for mud guards are quite cheap and can't take much of a beating). The look is nice too and coupled with the M1 front mud guard, it's gives great all round coverage.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BOABYP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
very very easy to fit and remove if required good looking and many posisitons to chose from
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrimsonEth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Guard

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The guard is nice and easy to fit with a quick release leaver allowing for easy adjustments. So far it has protected my back from all water and mud, even on a 29" wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
obar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit, stays where you put it & most importantly keeps your bottom & back dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slurp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Not `cool' for roadbikes, but keeps you dry

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to attach/remove. Meant for mountain bikes, but went for this because regular mudgaurds wouldn't fit my bike and the road-bike semi-blades seem too fiddly. Does a great job protecting my rear, though I suspect isn't much help for whoever's behind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MrFish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Lasted two rides

PostedNovember 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Two 10 mile rides on a tow-path then removed to clean on my return and the plastic that attached the guard to the bracket snapped. I was not heavy handed and on closer inspection the whole thing is very cheaply made. I bought this from Evans to commute with and I am very disappointed its not worth £20 choose another product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoffeeCraig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I had some old mudguards off of an unused bike in the shed. The front guard fell off so I replaced it with the Topeak Defender and was very happy with it.
On a muddy day I parked outside Evans and couldn't resist getting the back one to match.
It was easy to fit, I did it outside the shop in a couple minutes and it has been keeping my back cleaner on the towpath.
Easy to adjust with an allen key, Easily removable without tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truckle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Easy to fit excellent quality

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great product, easy to fit, aligns really nice. Keeps spray to a minimum
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrafficDodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits my CX'er with disc brakes...

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
After searching around and trying about 5 other types of rear guard this one actually does a really nice job. The issue I had was 700 x 35c wheels and disc brakes...
It fits fairly close to the wheel 'cos of the two hinges and is rattle free offroad.
My only gripe is the shim supplied doesn't really grip all that great, so if you nudge the guard whilst throwing the bike on your shoulder you can knock if off centre and end up with wet/muddy shorts again. However once I swapped it out for a rubber one the guard stays put.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
CycleDan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

I still keep getting covered in mud!!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
It's extremely easy to fit and remove. Great for the owner, but not so good when leaving the bike in less secure areas. Due to it's fitting, it's easy to knock the guard out of place, so I've had to re-adjust on several occasions and despite constant alterations and realignments I still manage to get a spray line down my back. A cheaper version would perform just as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Works well

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good tight fit, rarely moves out of setup possion unless you sustain a large hit. Easy to set up. Had no issues with this product, as mudgaurds go its pretty good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>