Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.393 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
52 out of 56(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Review 1 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xarius
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good buy!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great buy for my girlfriends mountain bike, it was easy to fix on, looks good and works fine with no bouncing around or un nerving of the guard, would reccomend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hanx
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent mudguard!
Easy to put on and off.
Adjustable in two places.
Bought the 26 inch version, but it works great for 29:ers as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0161mark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent mud guard.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As someone who has been through a lot of mud guards for mountain bikes, I find these to be the best I've ever owned. Lightweight, flexible and with a great quick release bracket, (most brackets for mud guards are quite cheap and can't take much of a beating). The look is nice too and coupled with the M1 front mud guard, it's gives great all round coverage.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BOABYP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
very very easy to fit and remove if required good looking and many posisitons to chose from
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrimsonEth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Guard

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The guard is nice and easy to fit with a quick release leaver allowing for easy adjustments. So far it has protected my back from all water and mud, even on a 29" wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
obar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit, stays where you put it & most importantly keeps your bottom & back dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slurp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Not `cool' for roadbikes, but keeps you dry

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to attach/remove. Meant for mountain bikes, but went for this because regular mudgaurds wouldn't fit my bike and the road-bike semi-blades seem too fiddly. Does a great job protecting my rear, though I suspect isn't much help for whoever's behind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MrFish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Lasted two rides

PostedNovember 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Two 10 mile rides on a tow-path then removed to clean on my return and the plastic that attached the guard to the bracket snapped. I was not heavy handed and on closer inspection the whole thing is very cheaply made. I bought this from Evans to commute with and I am very disappointed its not worth £20 choose another product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoffeeCraig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I had some old mudguards off of an unused bike in the shed. The front guard fell off so I replaced it with the Topeak Defender and was very happy with it.
On a muddy day I parked outside Evans and couldn't resist getting the back one to match.
It was easy to fit, I did it outside the shop in a couple minutes and it has been keeping my back cleaner on the towpath.
Easy to adjust with an allen key, Easily removable without tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truckle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Easy to fit excellent quality

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great product, easy to fit, aligns really nice. Keeps spray to a minimum
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrafficDodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits my CX'er with disc brakes...

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
After searching around and trying about 5 other types of rear guard this one actually does a really nice job. The issue I had was 700 x 35c wheels and disc brakes...
It fits fairly close to the wheel 'cos of the two hinges and is rattle free offroad.
My only gripe is the shim supplied doesn't really grip all that great, so if you nudge the guard whilst throwing the bike on your shoulder you can knock if off centre and end up with wet/muddy shorts again. However once I swapped it out for a rubber one the guard stays put.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
CycleDan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

I still keep getting covered in mud!!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
It's extremely easy to fit and remove. Great for the owner, but not so good when leaving the bike in less secure areas. Due to it's fitting, it's easy to knock the guard out of place, so I've had to re-adjust on several occasions and despite constant alterations and realignments I still manage to get a spray line down my back. A cheaper version would perform just as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Works well

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good tight fit, rarely moves out of setup possion unless you sustain a large hit. Easy to set up. Had no issues with this product, as mudgaurds go its pretty good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hornbeam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job. Easy to take on and off. Very happ

PostedJune 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It is very easy to install and take on and off as and when. The Evans sales guy struggled with it in the store, but I found it a breeze to set up and it comes off easily for cleaning and travel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
J0NNYG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended with reservations

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: fitting problem
I cursed this mudguard the first few times I used it because it just wouldn't stay in position despite being very firmly tightened up but eventually I solved the problem and I'm now happy with it.
When I got it, I'd fit the thing to my satisfaction, start off on the trail and after five minutes or less of firm bumping around single track it'd be dragging on the back wheel. However once I'd forced a nut onto the couple of mm of bolt that protrudes from each joint I'd fixed the problem and it stayed firmly in place across 200+ miles of off-road coast to coast this week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginty
Country:United Kingdom

Sturdy and Effective

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent quality, very strong material, can't fault it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inari
Country:United Kingdom

Easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really happy with it, easy to fit onto bike and as well as adjustable.
It looks good and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwyfordAdamant
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is fit for purpose.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The defender is strong, light weight and easy to fit. Compared to the front wheel defender it is expensive, but it serves its purpose well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluepiglet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Well designed and easy to fit

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easily adjustable to suit bike and whims of rider. NB, the instructions point out that you must not slacken the adjusting screws too much or the ratchet mechanism that locks it in place will stop working (might explain drooping mudguard mentioned in another review).
Does as much as an MTB type mudguard can. I was impressed enough to buy another for my partner's bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skyjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick release!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hard to fit
Was tired of getting a wet back.
Got it on the grounds of quick release which I need for frequently putting the bike in a car.
Very lightweight.
Only problem was the quick release only just fitted my seat post it was touch and go whether I'd get it on.
However all works perfectly and easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>