Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
71 out of 75Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Review 1 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Needs to be treated with care!

Posted27 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
An excellent construction, but the mechanism to fasten to the saddle pole is likely to strip if it is tightened too tight. But careful tightening will not keep the guard properly secured.
I recommended this product due to the strong material but scored average on overall design issue
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Simple and effective

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The guard was very easy to fit and was perfect for the British weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

Posted29 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
does what it says, like the tightening mechanism, just like a saddle stem on a fold up bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Good, not great

Posted30 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
The guard has a tendancy to move around when cycling. Attempted to prevent this by tightening the catch but so far unsuccessful. When it is in place it has a good length and width that makes it effective, however.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good all rounder

Posted27 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easily adjustable
This is presented as a mountain bike mud guard, but I've used it on a single speed and on a cyclocross bike, so 28" or 29" wheels. The guard works well even on these because it's easily adjustable to a range of angles. That allows it to be set to stop debris thrown up from a large range of wheels. And, because it's wide, it easily covers anything up to mountain bike width tyres.
Beware, though, that on some bikes, such as single speeds, the collar is a little large, so for a tight fit it's best to have a spacer of some sort. Fortunately, rubber spacers are quite easy to come by - various bike accessories come with them. I wouldn't expect the mud guard to come with them since it's not meant for bikes with those frames.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great mudguard

Posted31 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought another for my second bike, great coverage of the rear wheel and easily adjustable,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

perfect for the job

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Looks good and does the job plus lightweight which is important on my folding bike yet offers the protection needed from a mudguard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Reading

Not cheap, but proved to be a good choice

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, efficient
Cons: Expensive
After two failed experiences with other options, I opted to spend a bit more and try this model. So far and after a few rides in very muddy conditions, I'm convinced to have found the right option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Product is easy to install/remove

Posted04 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It is very easy to install/remove because of the quick release. It does the job of keeping me clean. I would recommend this to anyone at such a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good bye dirt bum!

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great product, easily angled to provide the best cover possible. It's simple and easy to remove without any tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

It's alright until you kick it

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've used one of these with a bolt on mechanism before which is slightly more rigid but definitely harder to adjust as you need a spanner. This one is the best non-spanner one I've ever used and I've tried about 4 in all. It will still slip if you accidentally kick it but other than that it seems OK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Good for people with small bikes

Posted08 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, fits small / awkward bikes
Because this mudguard is articulated it is good for small riders with small bikes - the previous mudguard I tried wouldn't clear the wheel.
It's not the smallest or most asthetically pleasing of mudguards, but it's easy to fit and does the job. Fine by me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent piece of kit. Takes 2 minites to fit and definately keeps crude away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps your bum clean!

Posted28 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit and look good too, great coverage for the wider tyre. Reasonable price, compared to other on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Upgraded my current rear guard for this

Posted25 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Having recently purchased the equivalent guard for my 29er Hardtail I decided to invest in this to replace the one currently used on my 26 full suspension bike. Pleased that I did as this is more versatile to meet the clearance required over the back wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak Defender M2 Rear mudgard

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Best rear mudguard I have found (and I have been through a few).
Easy to fit and adjust, stays where you put it. Also easy to remove.
Looks good too.
Basically does what it says on the tin, a really good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Difficult to fault

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fitted it my MTB. Easy to fit. it's quite long, stays in place and doesn't rattle. One of my better buys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted10 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Keeps the mud off your back.good product. Only used it once but easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Quality product and easy to fit.

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Quality product and easy to fit. Haven't had the chance to try it out yet but the guard is wider than my back tyre and so should be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender M2 Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good buy!

Posted21 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great buy for my girlfriends mountain bike, it was easy to fix on, looks good and works fine with no bouncing around or un nerving of the guard, would reccomend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>