Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard

Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.103 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
51 out of 58(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Review 1 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMT22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is easy to install, and pretty good value for a good quality product. Combined with the M2 Rear Mudguard they also look great on my hybrid (more at the trail end than the road end of hybrids) - I wasn't sure about the clearer sections at first but now really like it! Thankfully haven't crashed yet so don't know how unbreakable they really are, but overall very happy with this.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martin72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

No problem

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my Pinnacle Cobalt Two 2014 Hybrid Bike and had it fitted by the Evans team at time of purchase. I've had no problem with this product and would recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jacks34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Absolutely awful.... stay away

PostedJuly 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, difficult to fit
This product is horrible to fit, no feat of engineering! Flimsy and ended up in the bin. Not cheap and a total waste of money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MattX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Installation

PostedApril 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, falls off
Before the purchase I read most of the reviews and took measures off my Fork - everything was absolutely fine on paper. In reality - I couldn't fit it inside the pipe fully. It looked solid'ish so I took it for a ride to work the next day. Freaking thing fell off on the way back and has been falling off ever since. I ended up uninstalling it completely. What an utter waste of money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
collie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Topeak Top Quality Product

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easily wiped clean
On a recent canal run my flimsy front mudguard fell off! As I was finishing in Glasgow City centre I took the opportunity to call into the Evans store on West Nile Street.
The staff member allowed me to vent my frustration at the defective mudguard and then suggested that the Topeak Defender M1 model would be a suitable replacement.
After checking the internal bore of my steering fork the staff member gave me a short tutorial on the fitting method for this mudguard.
The Topeak is sturdy in construction and comes with three alternative expanding fittings to suit most standard fork sizes. It took me less than 5minutes to fit, using only a 4mm Allan key on my multi tool.
The fitting felt very secure even though I was at pains not to over tighten the nut. The shape is ergonomic and prevents most water and mud from impinging on either my legs or the down tube. After a 30 mile canal path ride I checked the fitting again and it was rock solid!
I paid £14.99 for this item and this was much cheaper than the one that fell off which it replaced.....seems like good value for a very robust part!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Evans Cycles 10 / 10: Topeak 0 out of 10

PostedDecember 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, bad poor brittle plastic
I bought the cleaper & more basic Topeak Defender:
It snapped off my bike on way from shop to car!
Returned to Evans Cycles & they immediately replaced with this better (& more expensive alternative), but:
same happened - I caught the front of guard with my sleeve pulling it upwards and it snapped off.
I suspect not just a bad item as the same happened with 2 completely different models, I suspect a very poor design!
Granted should not have caught it with my sleeve, but hey!, this is a MTB and its going to get a whole lot more abuse than that.
Topeak: Get your act together & redesign your kit!
Evans Cycles (at National Cycling Centre, Manchester): Thanks for your help, give Topeak some stick, they desire a royal rollicking.
(NOTE: Full detail given here in the hope Topeak get to see as they need to fix this for the sake of others).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
collie
 
Please wait while more information about collie is loaded.
Additional information about collie could not be loaded.
Dearie me!
Posted January 28, 2014
Everyone is entitled to their evaluation but there is a limit!
No comment on your choice to buy the cheaper model which failed , except economy is not always the best strategy.
The M1 has attracted an enormous majority of favourable comments about its robustness on this and other sites, most of these respondents have not caught it on their sleeves, a purpose for which it is not designed. Topeak can hardly be criticised if one of their products fails this novel technique of destructive testing?
For £15 you expect to get a plastic product...treat it more carefully perhaps?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaun4
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought both the M1 and the M2 mudguard and besides being functional, it also looks great. Had a bit of a problem installing it initially because I didn't realize that there was a smaller 'attachment bracket' built into the bigger one which is the one you see when you buy it. Also like the quick release of the front flaps so it's easier to put 2 bikes on the car rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guzzibear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great protection provided

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have previously owned this product and bought this as a replacement when I broke the bracket after a fall. Both the front and rear guards provide excellent protection against the worst of the weather but they need care in setting up to give the best cover.
Would recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greg77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit & keeps the mud out of your face

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, keeps your face clean
Does exactly what you want, very simple to fit, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wil109
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Robust, easy to fit and stops the mud

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Previously had a cheap generic fender mud guard which was awful. This offering from Topeak is the dogs!!
The facility to clip front and rear parts is so handy particularly when transporting by car. The plastic is pretty firm and offers enough rigidness such that guards stay in the right place regardless of speed or terrain.
The rear part is a bit longer as well so really offers excellent protection to the downtube. I use this on my commuting bike which sees me on the roads, bumpy canal paths and some good old off road conditions.
Considering getting one these for my zesty 514 as it looks ok as well.
Other topeak mudgaurds I have tried have been quite poor but this is well worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Good front mudguard

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Fitted to my Scott scale 960 with ease, the fitting systems is a clever pressure mount that fits in the front forks and comes with 2 fork dimiater fittings. Great upside to it been fitted on front forks in the mudgard always covers the wheels minimising mud splatter when turning. Just watch out after crashes they seem to pop off quite easiy due to the quick realise systems designed to be used when leaving the bike parked up.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginty
Country:United Kingdom

Sturdy and Very Effective

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good design, very effective, strong and robust material and design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terryboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product not over expensive and does what it is supposed to do and is sturdy and well made, you can also get the same make for the rear which is just as good
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwyfordAdamant
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of equipment

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A well made and easy to fit accessory, which provides the necessary protection in wet and muddy conditions. Almost instant removal when not required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bluepiglet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Well made but check your fork size

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: slight issue with fitting
Easy to fit and comes with two sets of wedges to accomodate different fork tube sizes - but apparently not mine. A bit surprising given it's a Recon Silver which I would have thought were common enough for Topeak to want to accomodate.
Anyway, using the small wedges I tightened the thing up hard. Something clearly wasn't right though and when I removed it it was clear the small wedges were not quite big enough, I had bent the bolt (!!).
Evans on Deansgate came to the rescue by ferreting around the workshop for a suitable replacement. Well done. For now I have fitted it again with the small wedges wrapped with a load of tape while I decide on shimming or turning down the large wedges. It would be nice if Topeak supplied medium wedges too to fill the gap not covered by the large and small ones.
Still, it's a nice product and I bought another for my partner's bike (which it fits!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
pearmund
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Doesn't Fit Fox Talas 36 Forks

PostedDecember 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: fitting, compatibility
Won't fit Fox Talas 36 RC2 Forks - but for compatible forks, they seem good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
channel23
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As always first class service,the item was easy to fit and serves it purpose well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
flyboywales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good protection, securing mechanism needs work

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: fixing mechanism needs improvement
Had these fitted to my commuting bike at the time of purchase earlier this year.
The guards provide excellent protection from spray and debris flying off the front wheel, though if you want to protect your feet, you'll still need a pair of overshoes. I opted for this form of mud guard as it follows the wheel when you turn, which is normally the time when you stuff flung at you on an un-guarded bike. Frame mounted mud guards are a waste of time (other than protecting part of the frame), but offer no protection to the rider.
My only gripe with the product is that the fastening mechanism can work its way loose over time, which means you have to push the assembly back up into the steerer tube. Likewise this happens if you accidently nock them out of line. Not a big deal, so only a minor irritation. The guards are used on road and on light trails so I can't really comment on the security of the fixings when it gets really rough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leader
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Overall a good product

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The small front fixing is too small and needs a shim fitting to get it tight as I found out when it fell off. Rear is great and does keep the mud off your back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender M1 Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jakethepeg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent once fitted

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent mudguard, good coverage, secure fitting and easy to remove the 'blades' if you need to remove the front wheel to fit bike in the car etc.
Only problem was the initial fitting, it does come with 2 size setting to fit different front forks, but the smaller of the 2 was just slightly to large for my Specialized Rock Hopper.
But a couple of minutes with some light sandpaper to smooth it down a bit and it fits snug as a bug.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>