Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack

Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Millsby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Not the cheapest rack; quality and ease worth cost

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Expensive, but very quick to load, flexible enough to move between multiple vehicles. Solid build and good design gives confidence when driving. If you transport multiple bikes frequently seriously consider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petera
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

fitted on a no fit

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
This is a great car rack and simple to use. It’s not fiddly with loads of parts to clip on everywhere like some of the others I have used. My car is a Peugeot 5008 and is a No fit on the Saris website. I suppose they have to say this if it doesn’t clip on like they show on some of the YouTube videos.
I pushed the clips onto my boot as they showed online, I had to use some force and the rack fitted perfectly but when I went to take it off, the top clips they wouldn’t come off.
Panic over; the way to get them off is to loosen the straps and open the boot door fully with the rack on top. Although the boot does stay up I still support it with one hand so I don’t damage the gas supports that hold the boot open. Then all you do is slide the clips out from the sides of the boot. When they are both out I lower the boot holding the rack, Job done. This is the way I get the rack on as well now as it’s so much easier. You’re looking at a few minutes to get it on and off if that. Someday I will put a video up on YouTube but for now I have attached some images. All this is effortless, and the rack is worth the boot balancing job.
One more thing; I don’t know where the rubber supports should touch the car but I put them just below the window. Having said all the above its your car and down to you if something went wrong as the Saris website does say NO FIT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrewB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and easy to use.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, secure
Cons: Expensive
Bought the Saris Bones RS a few weeks ago and I'm genuinely stoked with the product. While the instructions seemed a touch simplistic, it's clear to see why. I was up and running in less than 20 minutes and had a couple of bikes rigged up within 30 minutes. Just been on a 300 mile round trip and the bikes felt safe and secure, despite travelling on some difficult surfaces. A bit pricey, but all in all, very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Redred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rack does not fit the new Ford Focus Estate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: did not fit
The rear half of the boot on the new Ford Focus Estate is made of very lightweight plastic, the bottom edge has no lipped edge to fit the bottom rack brackets. The bottom edge on this car has a square edge so there is no way of attaching it securely. This was very unfortunate because it is a well made piece of kit, however if it did fit it would obscure both the license plate and the rear lights which is a motoring offence.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simmoda1
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very sturdy would recommend

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
We were looking for a simpler strong bike rack to hold 3 bikes without the awkwardness of straps. This bike rack fits that checklist. It was expensive compared to other bike racks but you pay for what you get. It is very robust. It is simple to put onto our Avensis Verso but quite heavy to lift on. You would need a second person to align the bottom of the bike rack under the back door and set up the orientation of the whole piece.. Once you have arranged the positioning for your car you can leave it as is so you can simply attach in the same way again. The ratchet mechanism for tightening the built in straps connecting the upper part of the door is a great feature. At the end of the excercise the bike rack is very solid on the back of the car. The whole pack was delivered within 2-3 days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nobby2
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

saris bone rs

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: slightly heavy
probably the best mount other than tow bar fixed carriers. fits my nissan with 3 bikes with no problems or swaying.easy to store and fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timujin
Country:Gibraltar
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Rack

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect Rack for our 3 bikes. Quick and easy to fit. Strong build.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retro22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid, easy to use and practical

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, practical, easy to use
I bought this rack to use for Sportives and also moving the family bikes around. It's lockable so you can leave it on the car without fear of theft. It is easy to fit and solid on the car and also fits most cars so if you have more than one car, chances are you won't be restricted by which you need to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jfhjfh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not for the Prius

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Getting a bike rack for the Prius seems to be a pain you cannot easily/cheaply have a towbar (there is the Thule EuroClick which is specially made for the Prius, but the solution is c. £700), so either a strap version or a roof rack are the most realistic ways to go. I went first for the strap version. Unforunately, the straps weren't long enough for my Prius and so I had to send back. Have now gone for a roof rack option, which is obviously more expensive, but more flexible.
3 stars as the product itself was OK (somewhat awkward to get on the back of the car, but passable).
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rbibby12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Easy to fit and confident that the bikes are safe

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit and adjust to different cars. you can take it out the box and have it on the car in 10 mins. you will need to check the Saris website for one setting for the particular car you are fitting it to. I can swap between three completly different cars quickly. The construction is solid and the bikes dont move once strapped in. You do need a couple bungys for the wheels and need to be careful that the bikes dont touch. I have used a bit of water pipe insulation wrapped around the frame tubes. I got an extra 15% by using a code off the evans website makming it excellent value at less than £200.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irwil
from United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, stable, easy to use, ratchet system
Cons: Expensive
I've owned a few racks over the years and recently decided to buy the Bones RS after seeing a mate use one.
Best decision ever! Regardless of quality, the worst thing about using a rack over roof bars is the fussing about with straps, and the time it takes to position the properly (and securely). And once the rack is off the car you've still got straps flapping about.
The Bones RS does away with all the straps, and uses instead 2 rubber coated steel belts. These are quick to position and easily ratchet up to a good tension. The rack itself is top quality and is absolutely stable, even with 3 bikes at motorway speeds.
Yes - the RS (ratchet system) is more expensive than the standard Bones racks, but it's the ratchet system that makes the difference! I would absolutely recommend this rack!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carchie86
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Superb Bike Rack

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, ease of use
At the time it seemed difficult to justify paying such a considerable sum of money for a cycle rack. However after using the rack regularly for a number of months now it has been faultless and never once have I regretted purchasing it.
Once the rack is set up for your vehicle it can be fitted in a matter seconds each time you use it. This is due to the ratchet system which does away with the need for adjustable nylon straps as found on many other racks.
On the road the Bones RS is absolutely solid, giving you total peace of mind with seemingly not a degree of movement even at motorway speeds or on tight winding country roads.
My only minor criticisms of this rack would be that when carrying a single bike nothing is provided to stop the front wheel swinging whilst driving. Saris sell an accessory to prevent this, but I think at this price it should be provided. However an old toe clip strap has worked fine for me as would a lace. I have also noticed that whilst this rack does not scratch the bodywork, after a few months of use the black rubber boots that provide stability have started to leave slight dark marks on the paint.
Regardless of this, these are very minor issues which are easily sorted and should not detract from the all round quality and excellence of this bike rack.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightman
from Widnes
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saris RS3

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Best bike rack I have ever had. Easy to fit, once set up its on and off your car in minutes. Bikes lock in place with straps preventing any movement when driving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex101

The best

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Simply the best rack and it fits on a Z4!
The only one I could find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mr7958
from London

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Used this to transport one bike from London to Windsor for a triathlon - worked great. Then used it to transport two bikes to a half Ironman in Switzerland and it was faultless.
Easy to install, easy to attach the bikes, solid as a rock and looks good on the car. Cannot think of a single complaint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
3bikesonacar
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not fit many cars
the rack does not fit manyt cars. it did not fit mine, but this was not made clear.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KieronInfinito
London
 
Please wait while more information about KieronInfinito is loaded.
Additional information about KieronInfinito could not be loaded.
More details please!
Posted December 26, 2011
It would be very useful if you told us what car you have.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wolseyboy

a revelation !

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to install/remove, sturdy, safe
Cons: Expensive, potential denting
I was seeking an user friendly carrier that could be removed / installed quickly. I finally found the Saris Bones RS3 and haven't been disappointed. It is the biz! Great quality.....can be installed (after initial set-up) in just a few mins....really simple yet totally sturdy. The extra expense is certainly worth it. My only comment is beware when tightening the belts with the ratchet...if the support pads aren't flush then you can easily dent your car's bodywork.....I did! You also need some strapping as bike support straps (whilst strong) do allow for a fair degree of movement of the bikes on the rack.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LongShanks
from South East
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Excellent Bike Rack

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: none
This product is excellent...the best bike rack ever!
At first I was not sure if it would fit as the Saris fit guide did not include my make of car....but Evans helped me out and with a 28 day return policy I could always return it if any issues.
I needent have worried fits perfectly!
Easy and lightweight to fit, secure for long drives, and doesn't mark the car unlike many other racks.
Well worth the money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Polkadot
from Geneva
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Very good bike rack...but comes at a price

PostedJune 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this rack as it seemed to be easy to assemble and it hasn't disappointed. If you need to drive a lot of driving with your bikes you will appreciate the simplicity of the setup/dissassembly - there is simply no easier rack to put together, it is completely idiot proof and takes less than a minute to put together. Of course this comes at a heavy price, but as others have mentioned you get what you pay for...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones RS 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZOID
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Sure Winner

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
If you want comfort, stability & quality, this is the rack for you!!! Will fit most vehicles. Great Value for money!!!! This rack is a rider's best friend!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>