Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket

Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Review 1 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JMT73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Strong reliable BB

Posted16 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I purchased this as direct replacement. As my other Shimano BB was starting to click. It's a solid and reliable BB, which I would definitely recommend.
However, for some reason the non-driveside cup would not screw into the BB thread. No idea why as the drive side went in smoothly and quickly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scotty442
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product good quality buy

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i found this product to be of a very good quality, it is good and robust, the bearings role superbly smooth and make it a good easy pedaling pressure to maintain, i find this is also a good lightweight part of great value, would definitely recommend to any other road cyclists!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
denthemen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Delivery

Posted10 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
The item supplied appeared to be new old stock the plastic nit had previously been fitted to a bike as it had dirty oil in the the threads and the spline in the nut to accept the fitting tool were damaged. Had to use my existing nut.
Actual bearing unit OK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ricky100

Posted14 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fitting very straight forward. Only issue was that the previous BB was asymmetric whereas this is symmetric - should have gone for the next size up to compensate. Resolved by minor adjustment to the drive set changer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geejay
from Brisbane, Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, honest bit of kit

Posted02 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: no lh cup provided
This BB replaced a similar one that had been on my bike for the past 14 years. I have every expectation that this one will last just as long. Bit of info...the item did not come with the left-hand threaded cup as shown in th photo - I had to use the old one,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickenstu
from Cumbria
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Value bottom bracket

Posted02 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quiet and efficient after several hundred miles, for a basic bottom bracket replacement you cant go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moelbak
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Nice bracket..

Posted31 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It runs really good, quiet and its much lighter then I thought it would be - It was easy to install, and it feels like good quality. Only downside was that the lock bracket in the left side is plastic ( wonder how long it will last?!! But the box it self seems to be really good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano UN54 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamela
from Lancashire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good Value

Posted11 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value, easy to install, works well so far, would recommend
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.