Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Stems or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem

Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem

Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Review 1 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cambers
from West Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thomson Elite X4 - 70mm

Posted18 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, instricate machining, compatible with hope lights
I bought this stem to replace a 50mm version I had run on my old frame. I now have to of these, both in 70mm guise on my Orange Five and P7 bikes. Simply fantastic, subtle and stylish, the craftmanship is second to none and it's one of those pieces of kit that once you've owned one you won't be interested in looking at anything else! I was initially worried that I'd notice flex due to the weight saving machine work but I was vey wrong! Stiff as you like and half the weight of most DH'able stems, a real keeper.
Light enough for XC, strong enough for All Mountain or Freeride. In my opinion they're the best looking stem on the Market.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheSilverback
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Fantastic

Posted17 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great stem, nice and stiff. If you care, the 50 mm version looks nothing like the picture provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flickwg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great product as always from thomson

Posted15 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, stiff
Great stem in 50mm, light but still nice and stiff. Can't go wrong with Thomson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dejo27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very strong and great looking machined stem

Posted14 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not the lightest but looks fabulous, very well made and built to last. Expensive but good value - especially when you can get one with a discount on-line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AjGT
from Durham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

amazing

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I recently upgraded to longer travel forks and to help balance out the steering opted for this as a shorter stem, I love the look of it and cant believe how light it is great bit of kit with fantastic quality. Yes its expensive but with all other parts you pay for what you get
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
headset
from New Zealand
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Can't go wrong

Posted20 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It's Thomson so as ever it is bombproof tough, super functional and even looks cool. It even seems to be good value for money.What more could you ask for.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldrick999
from Surrey Hills, Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great buy

Posted13 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had this stem for about a year now and have not been dissapointed. Its so much lighter than i thought i was going to be. I have the 70mm stem and have been very impressed by its strength to weight ratio! I simply would not have anything else.
It also looks fantastic and the worksmanship that has gone into producing this is superb. I ride mostly all mountain and XC and this stem is lighter than some of the carbon ones!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cptoddball
from Coventry
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I own two of these stems one on my full sus and one on my single speed and I can't find a single negative thing to say about them if you want a light yet strong no nonsense great looking stem buy a Thomson stem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kidscientifik

Posted09 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Best QPR out there. No wonder they're already classics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustyracer
from Whyteleafe
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

CNC Art

Posted26 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Thomson Elite x4 is machined out of Solid one piece 7000 series aluminum. The combination of high quality materials and precision CNC machining results in one of the toughest and lightest stems available today. I highly recommend this stem, it is absolutely flawless in design and performance. Not only that It looks amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WSL112
from Brighton
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best stem I have come across

Posted23 May 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been using this stem for about 4 weeks now after deciding to go slightly shorter to make steering more responsive (went from 90 to 70). I am really happy with the decision - this stem is bombproof, lighter than my previous one, looks great, and I would recommend it to anyone. You cant really go wrong with Thomson kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spudlord
from manchester
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

awesome quality bit pricey

Posted18 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
this has to be the best stem i have ever used its superbly machined so it looks ace and its knee friendly as it has a round back on it, it soo strong i mean for the weight of it its definitely proven itself on my dirtjump bike and it weighs the same as an xc stem its awesome
it would be 5* just a bit expensive but it is the best performing stem in production
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thomson Elite X4 Stubby MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jammy
from St Helens
Age:18-24
Gender:Male

Thomson - ultimate quality

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As I'm sure all of you know Thomson are rightfully considered to be amongst the best quality bicycle components available on the market today. Seatposts and stems, I wouldn't consider anything else!
The elite X4 stubby is a beautifully machined, lightweight and STRONG stem. Well worth every penny; Thomson components will migrate with you from bike to bike - a stem for life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.