Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cables or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair

M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Review 1 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitshot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job ok

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Works fine. Instructions very sketchy so if you're not technically inclined you might struggle to install. Also think about where the best location is before you cut the outer cable. Ideally install on a straight run of cable not a sharp bend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
antmarch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Inline cable adjusters

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Simple to fit and effective at doing its described job. If you're fitting a gear system to a bike these are not vital, but helpful to have fitted to enable fine tuning of particularly the front deraileur position.
Make sure to choose the straightest cable location for optimum effectiveness, which is easy if building from scratch, more difficult if fitting to an existing setup with minimal cabling.
Also, goes without saying... if adjusting while riding, keep one eye on the road!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenK

Really good and useful product

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It does exactly what it's supposed to.
I used one for an SLX rear mech with road STIs on a cross bike.
Make sure it's in the straightest part of the cable that you can manage to improve looks and reduce friction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what is supposed to do, good selection of ferrules
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt03
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple brake upgrade

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, simple to fit
Cons: lack of fitting instructions
An simple and cheap upgrade to your brakes to make adjusting them on the move that much easier than conventional barrel adjusters.
My only criticism is the lack of instructions should someone need them - that said there are plenty of sources on-line, but they are very easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sapper626
from England, West Midlands.
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Bits

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these to set up my cross bike. The product description says "gear cable adjusters", I actually used these as brake adjusters as the kit came with both brake and gear sized plastic ferrules, plenty. Although there isn't a great deal to them they are a well made item and do the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DropBarMTBNut
from Northamptonshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fab piece of kit

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Putting STIs and drops on my mtb commuter. This piece of kit is superb for providing micro adjustment of gear indexers.
And follow dogrons instructions - they work perfectly.
The main thing to remember is that the micro adjuster itself has one end which has a black plastic cylinder that extends out as you turn it. This end of the micro adjuster MUST have the knurled end cap, not the fluted one so that it fits snugly into the adjuster and allows the turn to increase the length of the adjuster.
At the other end, you can use either cable end cap as it needs to turn freely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dogron
from London

Great product - but no instructions

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: no instructions
Really well made, and does the job of adjusting real easy.
Instructions.
First thing to say is there seems to be more bits than you need in the pack. I was installing on a Race Bike, Shimano Ultegra setup so maybe it would be different for other bikes (I doubt it however).
included in the pack are:
4x end caps of the regular type (fluted - decorated with grooves).
4x end caps that have a raised end (knurled) which make it easier to hold/adjust with fingers.
2x large knurled metal tubes (the adjuster part).
To install 1 cable adjuster
1. Remove the inner cable (this might be a good time to replace this totally?).
2. Cut the outer casing where you wish the adjuster to fit.
3. Place the fluted cable end on one bare cable end.
4. Place the knurled cable end on other bare cable end. (I used another fluted cable end as it looked more aesthetic)
5. Thread in a (new) gear cable from the gear changing unit (sti levers) end. Then through the cable sheath to the first end cap.
6. Now thread on the metal barrel so the silver end is pushed onto the fluted cable end.
7. Pass the cable through the knurled end cap and push everything together.
8. Run the cable on to the mech (derailer)
Repeat for the other side if wished)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ride2live
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great bit of kit at a great price. Essential if you are using SRAM and don't have downtube adjusters. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for M:Part Micro Inline Gear Cable Tension Adjusters - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Holmfirth in the Pennines
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Groovy little gadget

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality, functionable
if you need a well made finishing touch to retro fit to STI cables then get these. Well made and they work to keep gear cables adjusted and derailleurs in line on longer tours with no effort or weight penalty. Range of fittings provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.