Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack

Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack

Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
62 out of 62(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Review 1 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElManticore
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent product, well worth it

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is well worth the slightly more expensive price. It fits on my bike perfectly (after a bit of fiddling), and comes with spare bits and bobs in order to clamp a light to the bracket at the back.
If you carry a backpack at the top of the rack like I do, you'll appreciate the light bracket at the back of this rack, since a light clamped to your seatpost won't be visible from behind your bag. So this is a much appreciated feature, but make sure your light fits the adaptors for the bracket (any rear light should fit just fine if it has a belt clip, and there are other adaptors as well. Best to check in store though).
The rack is a bit on the heavy side, not excessively so though. I personally would rather have a heavier, sturdier rack than a rubbishy lightweight one, since I carry two gigantic bags to university full of books and clothes. The rack handles these with ease.
All in all, I heartily recommend this if you need a rack for your disk brake bike.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andrew1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Feels substantial

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Feels quite substantial. Has a top bar and a lower bar so there are 2 heights for panniers. Easy to mount a rear light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bfdingo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Solid robust, boring - just like it should be

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A panier rack should be boring and tedious. You should forget its there because it just works. This is the most boring one that I've bought. Perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Well built, versatile rack

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Got this along with the MTX DXP Rack bag for the morning commute and so far it's done the job as expected.
Easy to fit, and very sturdy once in place. It was a bit of a fiddle bending the bracing arms to reach my seat stay bolt mounts but once in place the whole thing is solid. Side supports fitted easily over the disk mounts without removing anything and the wheel is still pretty straight forward off and on.
Great with the bag because of the slide on mounting mechanism but I've used it with a bungee as well and it does the job just as well.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
steveojo69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good solid rack, needed filing to fit.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: needed filing to fit
A very solid and fairly lightweight rack. It would have been simple to fit but it did not fit my Ridgeback Flight Ti without being filed down. This may be due to the shape of the titanium frame that has a ridge around the rear dropout. It only need a few seconds each side with an angle grinder to file down and it now fits perfectly. My Altura pannier fits and does not get caught by my heels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shamrock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Generally good

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fits over the disc brakes and rather odd shaped bottom attachments on my specialized rockhopper MTB. That said, one of the supplied screws came loose from the bottom attachment above the disc brake mechanism after a couple of weeks use.I will put that down to not checking and re-thightening fixings after initial use and will report back if the issue repeats with a replacement screw. Lightweight but strong and has happily taken both my Ortleib classic roll tops, packed to capacity with a weekly shop. Good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tich103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Extremely sturdy once fitted

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a typical TOPEAK accessory, being functional adaptable and totally fit for purpose
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fixitagis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Suits Trek Superfly 29er

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Light, strong but fiddly to install.
Top plate acts a bit like an bottom saver, so bonus.
Biked c2c with it and two panniers, no problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
woodchopper
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

exactly what i expected & easy to fit

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The carrier is of excellent quality and was extremely easy to fit to the bicycle.It is of perfect proportions and capable of taking a reasonable load.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jackie127

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Perfect rack for a Cyclocross bike. Now you don't need to fiddle around with extra components to make the normal rack work on a Cyclocross bike!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steviecapt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

good quality product

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
another good quality product, from topeak, easy to fit, and very strong when fitted to my boardman mtb, i would fully recommend this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
razmopete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

fine product

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
its a parcel rack, not a lot to say about a parcel rack, it is tidy, lightweight , painted a rather pleasing black and feels solid enough for the shopping and paniers that I've slapped onto it so far.
Basically it is fit for its intended function, which is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carbon77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

A great rack but a little pricey!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to mount my child seat too as I didn't want to clamp it to my frame. It fits well and is easy to mount but it was a bit expensive, but I bought it because I can't put a price on my son safety.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
felts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Top Quality

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: slightly expensive but you get what you pay for
Was looking for a rack to fit over a disc brake bought this after the assistant pointed me in the right direction good quality product easy to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Althebike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Solid and practical

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: no child seat fitting, bags hard to fit/stay on
Whilst this product is very solid and does the job, it is a bit larger than my previous bike rack. The bags that I used on the previous rack fit this, but are a little harder to fit on and have bounced off couple of times on this model, despite me tightening straps etc. Also child seat doea not fit on this rack which did on my previous one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crossbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

does exactly whats need

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This a well built product with comprehensive instructions that makes it easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greyseal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Bike Rack

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Well made and looks as if it will last. Comes with all the bits to mount.
Also Evans priced matched this after purchase so really appreciate their price Promise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mayfish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great Rack

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Had this fitted when I bought a new bike. Very sturdy and secure, notrattles. Great rack if you have disc brakes and need to transport panniers.
Recently went on an extended camping trip, fully loaded. Rack worked really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LanceRomance
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Solid rack

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I was a little disappointed at its width at first (to clear disc brakes), but that soon was forgotten when I realized how little flexing there was when laden with heavy panniers. This is most telling out of the saddle going up hills, my last two racks would flex and sway making the change in direction hard work, but not this rack it just becomes an extension of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baz100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent sturdy rack

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This rack is top quality, the rack comes with an extra horizontal rail on either side just below the top level which is not shown on the illustration. Fitted this rack to my Specialized Crosstrail, and because I already had mudguards with stays, I had to use slightly longer bolts. This rack looks excellent on my bike, I have since bought the Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP. I can highly recommend this combination.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>