Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape

Bontrager Gel Cork Tape

Inner gel strip for extra comfort - Natural cork feel - Bontrager reflective bar end plug included.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
127 out of 133(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Review 1 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunDOG
from South East
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and relatively hard wearing

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used Bontrager Gel Cork Tape for a number of years, and find it both comfortable in use and relatively hard wearing, although being a consumable it does eventually wear thin around the shoulders of the bars.
In the wet it is non-slip , not that I particularly like riding in the rain!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
marmiteturkey
 
Please wait while more information about marmiteturkey is loaded.
Additional information about marmiteturkey could not be loaded.
Comfy tape
Posted July 9, 2011
Good comfy tape, just the right thickness for me. Goes on easily because it's stretchy, looks good (for a while!). Only big problem is the finishing tape - not good at all, it's just not adhesive. The adhesive on the back of the little strips that go round the hoods isn't strong enough to hold them either, though the tape itself holds them. I had 30cm left over on a 44cm compact bar, and no gaps..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peterpiranha
from Bedfordshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was the first time I'd ever bought new bar tape and I was incredibly pleased. It was easy to put on (I just watched a few YouTube videos on how to do it), the accessories it came with were excellent, I didn't use the short lengths of tape, but the bar ends and finishing tape were great. I'd recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gibbotwg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks great in white

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Easy to install after watching some videos on youtube
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveSkins
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bontrager Gel Cork Tape

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, easily installed
Ordered this online from Evans, before I knew it it was delivered, Great product easily fitted, Look on Youtube for the How to wrap bar tape (Evans).....Easily to follow and did mine in about 15 mins! Tape is quality item, takes most of the vibration out from the bars, mines been on about a month now covered approx 300 miles looks as good as new, Well pleased with product would order again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smurfo
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very comfortable , looks good

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
first time wrapping my bars with high end tape but well worth it , great level of comfort achieved aswell as matching nicely to my colour scheme! strong and easy fitted
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loloFrench
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The mechanic at evan's fit it for me so I don't know if it's easy to. I have used it three times now and it's cumfortable and seems able to last lond enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigeltt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tape

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very easy to apply. Variable stretch. Cushions the bars well. Will buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whatever2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
didn't bother with the bits for the brake as it didn't look like they would stay put
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RidleyRider
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first time use Bontrager Gel Cork tape, previously I had always used Prologo Double Touch and thought it was excellent, that was until I tried this, its simply brilliant, very very stretchy and strong and even when stretched it provides excellent cushioning effect. Its very grippy and absorbs all road buzz. There is more than enough in the box for both sides of the bar. After doing the first side I had loads left over so unwound it again and wrapped it with a closer overlap so that it fitted to the end without having to cut any off. I love it so much that I've bought another box of it for my summer bike and will remove the brand new prologo tape I fitted only a few weeks ago and fit Bontrager on it instead, It really is that good! The only con, is that the finishing tape isnt great and I just used electrical tape to finish it off but Ive done that with all other tapes too and its only a very very minor gripe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lemecredi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Decent Bar Tape

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
easy to put on, looks good, as good as any other bar tape i have used
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alekan
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Affordable and good

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, Comfortable
Good, comfortable cork tape. Bought it black color and I really like it.
Will see how much time will be before it needs replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tommyb500
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Great value and comfort and a perfect way to improve the looks of an aging bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good grip, good comfort.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Works a treat. Has a good feel to it. And I particularly like the almost snake-skin-like look of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
It is exactly what you would expect. What more to say?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SJppppp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of best handlebar tapes on the market

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is one of many handlebar tapes on the market and it was a bit of a gamble as to which tape I chose. I found this easy to fit and the result was smart and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sarah1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great quality and easy to apply

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I bought the pink colour and it is a lovely bright pink. The tape is great quality and was easy to wrap around the bars. My only concern with it was that there was not enough sticky tape. I had to buy some black electrical tape to have enough to get it to stay on at the ends, but still recommend the tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VeloFreddo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the Job

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good price, very comfortable and easy to fit yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bpowell555
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist

Great tape

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Looks good and feels good. Helped with hand pain alot and easy to apply. Plus its cheap and high quality too. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickl7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

smart & comfy

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not sticky backed
needed tape that would match a leather saddle without the leather bar tape price - this is just what I was after
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Gel Cork Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DiegoB
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very compfortable, above all on hot italian summer, the cork can be used also without gloves. easy to use.
and the real cork color is fantastic on my LaMatta S9 Bianchi... :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>