Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Water Bottles & Cages or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage

Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage

Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Review 1 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dante256
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very light, looks good BUT

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
NOW it may just be that I'm not used to using side load bottle cages, but I purchases these to go BENHIND my saddle, and just didn't get on too well with them.
Probably more effective when used on the down tube
EXCELLENT value though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
V1535s0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good solid well made cage yet light weight

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I needed a side entry cage due to the configuration of my MTB frame. A lot of the bike is Bontrager so this was an obvious choice and one I am very pleased with.
The construction is first class and the cage grips the bottle perfectly. I use a 500ml one but the 750 ml bottle would fit equally as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueBed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Lightweight and strong

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: stiff side entry
Fits my Camelbak Podium 710ml bottle with no problem. Holds it very securely but they are still easy to remove whilst riding. I do not use the side entry feature as this is far too tight for my bottles but entry from the top is perfectly fine. The cage is also pretty lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mudal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

excellent and flexible

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Will work with any bottle as you can adjust the side to make it bigger or smaller...
So good I bought two!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wayne72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

great price

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: can be awkward to get used to using
Bargain price, good quality item just not so sure about the side entry compared to the standard cage type but if you've used one before you'll be more than happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kumquat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent alloy side entry cage for small frames
Or anywhere else where space is an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RatsB
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for small frames

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for my son's 24" wheeled bike with a small front triangle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rjn26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great Bottle Cage

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I have two of these cages on my Giant Road Bike, each with a 750ml bottle in. Look great on the bike and keeps bottles secure even when I had a bit of a crash/fall; bottles stayed secure, I did not!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marko979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Happy with it

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This holds my water bottle fine. It's easy to get the water bottle out, but not held so lightly that it falls out by accident. It looks good on my bike because the colours match (that's the main reason I chose this one over others in the shop). It seems pretty light, although based on its size I can't imagine that these cages are ever particularly heavy. Overall I'm happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good for women's bikes with low top tube

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product for my wife's hybrid. The sloped top tube prevents a normal top entry bottle cage being used. It is a little awkward getting the bottle in and out even with a reduced size bottle (mainly due to the bike) and I would not want to attempt it on the move but it is fine when stopped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stoffer1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for smaller frame

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had to buy this to replace my old water bottle as my new Ghost AMR 5900 has a 17" frame and not an 18" so my standard water bottle was difficult to get out. This works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rabc
from Lewes
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great value and easy to fit.
You need to make sure you buy a small bottle (e.g. up to 600ml) to put in the cage as longer bottles won't get past the crossbar of a ladies bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBeanz
from Hanoi, Vietnam
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cage

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The side entry is perfect for small frames with fatter tubes - just like my 17" Marin.
Holds my water bottle well (another Bontrager product), yet not too tight as to have one wobbling over the road!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpookTooth
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Aluuuuminum

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, secure
Cons: flexible, only available in silver
If your car or computer looked like this, it might be classed as a design legend but we're talking about a cycle bottle cage so to say it looks classy, sleek and stylish and would add a significant amount of bling to any bike it was mounted to might be overstating things a little but is true nonetheless.
It's lightweight, stiff and grips bottles very tightly and securely indeed. I've twinned this cage with a Zefal 750mm bottle and the combination works very well. My bike is black and white and I'm not a big fan of garish graphics and bright colours so this, albeit silver, aluminium cage doesn't look too bad as it is though I might have preferred this to be available in white or black. I might spray it one of these days as I imagine it will begin to look old and dirty in the not-too-distant future being a light matte silver clour. I think it'll be weather proof however.
Being aluminium it's strong in certain ways that other materials are not but is flexible across its lateral section and the part that grips the bottle could easily be put out of shape if pulled or caught though I don't perceive this to be a problem on my road bike. It will bend back again though.
Having purchased this in an Evans store I think these Alu Bontrager cages compared very well to the competition in terms of strength and weight. In fact I think there's every reason to believe, despite the fact they're quite thin and flexible, they will easily outlast any of the plastic or carbon designs.
As far as value is concerned, I think they were excellently priced as they were marginally cheaper than others that were of similar stiffness and weight so they would seem a real bargain considering it's aluminium you're getting and not just plastic.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SubEtha
from St. Albans
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Works well on a Dahon folder

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a Dahon Jetstream P8 for which I was looking for a cage. As the space is limited on a folder I purchased this one. Works well! Once I have bent the Aluminium holder which can happen easily. But I just bent it back so no harm done. Looks also stylish, of you like Aluminium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowplc
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

ideal fo my full suss

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Wanted this because there is only a small area of the up-tube to fit bottle cage and the top entry ones did not fit. This one ideal. Had it a couple of weeks and the side entry seems to grip the bottle no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hgad
from Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Works nicely with Gary Fisher frames

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Bontrager side entry cage is perfect for usage on medium sized Gary Fisher hardtails. Bottle stays in place. And it looks good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Bontrager Side Entry Alu Cage
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product