Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed

Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikeyonhisMikey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
so good, I bought a second one! At £6.25, you just cant go wrong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REG21UP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

REPLACED AFTER 2 YEARS AND 4,500 MILES

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
REPLACED DURING A SILVER SERVICE AFTER 2 YEARS USE - 4,500 MILES APPROX. BIKE IS A SPECIALISED SIRRUS ELITE HYBRID.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LeithHill

Good value

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value chain for everyday and training use....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
johnny123

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
good product, for not a lot of dosh. i always prefer shimano when it comes to my cycling gear.
well recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nattyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
good quality product from a good name - fitted during routine service, ride was nice and smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chromosapien
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Works like a charm

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted as a replacement to my worn out KMC to go on an XT cassette, caught it just in time and it runs smoothly with crisp shifting. Only catch with shimano chains is the connecting pin, but a quick-link soon solves that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Shimano chain

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Seems very good quality, as you would expect. Gear changes nice and smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lleeggoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what it says on the tin ,nice to have a few extra links to .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charlie23240
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality chain

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good chain that was easy to connect. Should have chosen the longer option in hindsight. With a triple its a bit of a snug fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

super smooth

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Replaced my old chain and this is very smooth and efficient when changing and super quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this with HG50 cassette. Fitted perfectly, just had to cut-out a few links.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
X666
Country:United Kingdom

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality, good value. Always the sturdiest chains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colesy79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good product

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm quite easy to please in cycling terms as my knowledge is limited but this chain does what I need and for a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueblood1962
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Another quality Shimano component

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased at start of June ridden over 300 miles without a hitch very smooth changing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevesticks2
Country:United Kingdom

Great value chain

PostedMay 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Recently had a chain break during a work commute. My local Evans fitted this for me despite being extreamly busy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NEEG80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

amazing durability at a very low price.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
I had to buy this chain as a quick fix at very short notice before a riding weekend away in Scotland.
For a lower price/quality product i was slightly worried it would fail but to my delight i managed four days riding the 7stanes without a single problem..... Shimano, quality products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
strack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and cheap

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I used this chain many times and I was always happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Chain, good chain!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brought this as I needed to replace mine. Found to be a good price to elsewhere.
The chain comes pre lubricated which saves time getting one to do it.
The link pin is a bit difficult, mine broke premeturly. But may have been my error.
But generaly all good. my bike is better for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Melker
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good chain

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If your chain is broken, buy this one. It fits to Deore and Deore LX. You probably need to replace the casett, it cause the chainbreak.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Tiagra HG53 Chain - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Barico
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cheap (Spend a bit more for much better quality)

PostedNovember 11, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I rode 1200 miles in 4 months then this chain snapped. I expect much more from Shimano and a chain. I have replaced it with a SRAM which fits perfectly and is just as quiet.
I can only assume that Shimano's cheap parts have poor quality so if you must buy Shimano get a better one. This one came stock on my Sub 20, I would have gladly paid more for something more durable.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Windsurfer
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about Windsurfer is loaded.
Additional information about Windsurfer could not be loaded.
Cheap and unreliable
Posted January 29, 2011
This chain was supplied on an expensive Scott Mountain Byke. It broke, I repaired it, it then broke again in a different place. Now use SRAM without any problems. Very surprised that this Shimano is not better quality. Even more surprised that Scott supplied it with a multi thousand pound byke!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)