Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner

Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner

Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Review 1 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brugi5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It works!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: it works!
Cons: Expensive
This was the first product that worked. I've used all the other usual bike specific cleaning products but none worked as well as the disc specific cleaner. It was good to have on bike park trips as well, especially with the winter we've just had! I don't think my pads would have lasted out the day had I not been able to clean the discs at lunch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rawtaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strips the paint off your fork!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: pointless rubbish!
I used this a few times and didn't see a difference to my brakes but I did notice a difference to my fork! I run fox forks and noticed after the second use that the paint had dulled round about where my disc brake was! I wiped the area after use as it stated but what it should say is thoroughly clean the whole area after use by hosing the sprayed area down and drying of off with a cloth free of disc brake cleaner. The paint is flaking off my 8 month old bike. Not impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mavy2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Keeps your brakes in tip top condition

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Muc Off products are great, I take them for granted until I run out and then suddenly realise how much easier they make maintaining my bikes. The disc brake cleaner is ideal for removing grime and dust from your disc brakes and helps to keep your brakes doing what they do best, slowing you down safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Muc off disc brake cleaner

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Worked really well, simple to use, quick to act. Price was reasonable. Top!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neil101
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cleans disc brakes well

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
spray on, leave and wipe off. The cloth is always dirty and discs clean. My brakes were starting to squeal and this stopped that. Braking power might have improved slightly but hard to say for sure. I would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazza5574
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Obviously the cleaner your bike the better things work.. I use this once or twice a week on the discs and it works for me, Stops that dreaded noise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
plock
from Bristol
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Effective, but...

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: effective
Cons: Expensive, doesn't last
This product is very effective once it is dry, but it will only work for a while, and I have to reapply every dat for it to stop my brakes squeaking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Psymonkey
from Forest of Dean
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Muc-Off's disc brake cleaner is a highly volatile solvent that squirts and dissolves the dirt from your brakes, in theory stopping brake squeal. It does this but obviously when you use the brakes, more dust accumulates, so you need to do this before each ride for best results!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.