Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner

Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Review 1 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Monz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
a good way to clean your discs without damaging your pads.
If your serious about your bike maintenance then you should get this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
seanyb123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does what it says on the tin

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Works really well but a little pricey for what it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJM1852
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very easy to use just spray on and remove excess, stopped brake squeal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoldfishPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin....and more!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, very efficient
I first started using this product when I rode MTBs and after each bike clean I used to clean off the disc and occasionally take the pads out and clean them off as well. It was amazing that even after thoroughly cleaning the bike off, the disc brake cleaner always used to get even more off.
I stopped riding off road a couple of years ago and now ride road only. However the cleaner is still in constant use, maybe even more so. The amount of dirt that accumulates on the rims of road bikes is unbelieveable. And in wet weather its even worse. I clean the rims after each wet ride and after every two or three dry ones. Once a week I'll also wipe the braking surface of the rims off with the cleaner. Again the wheels are thoroughly cleaned but the cleaner gets even more off. I have done almost 4000 miles on the set of wheels I have and due to using this cleaner the braking surface of the wheels still has LOADS of life left. Worth spending a few quid on this product to save you hundreds on a new set of wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brugi5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It works!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: it works!
Cons: Expensive
This was the first product that worked. I've used all the other usual bike specific cleaning products but none worked as well as the disc specific cleaner. It was good to have on bike park trips as well, especially with the winter we've just had! I don't think my pads would have lasted out the day had I not been able to clean the discs at lunch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rawtaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strips the paint off your fork!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: pointless rubbish!
I used this a few times and didn't see a difference to my brakes but I did notice a difference to my fork! I run fox forks and noticed after the second use that the paint had dulled round about where my disc brake was! I wiped the area after use as it stated but what it should say is thoroughly clean the whole area after use by hosing the sprayed area down and drying of off with a cloth free of disc brake cleaner. The paint is flaking off my 8 month old bike. Not impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mavy2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Keeps your brakes in tip top condition

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Muc Off products are great, I take them for granted until I run out and then suddenly realise how much easier they make maintaining my bikes. The disc brake cleaner is ideal for removing grime and dust from your disc brakes and helps to keep your brakes doing what they do best, slowing you down safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Muc off disc brake cleaner

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Worked really well, simple to use, quick to act. Price was reasonable. Top!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neil101
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cleans disc brakes well

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
spray on, leave and wipe off. The cloth is always dirty and discs clean. My brakes were starting to squeal and this stopped that. Braking power might have improved slightly but hard to say for sure. I would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazza5574
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Obviously the cleaner your bike the better things work.. I use this once or twice a week on the discs and it works for me, Stops that dreaded noise.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
plock
from Bristol
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Effective, but...

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: effective
Cons: Expensive, doesn't last
This product is very effective once it is dry, but it will only work for a while, and I have to reapply every dat for it to stop my brakes squeaking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Muc-Off Disc Brake Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Psymonkey
from Forest of Dean
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Muc-Off's disc brake cleaner is a highly volatile solvent that squirts and dissolves the dirt from your brakes, in theory stopping brake squeal. It does this but obviously when you use the brakes, more dust accumulates, so you need to do this before each ride for best results!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.