Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand

Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand

Overall rating:
4.584 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
88 out of 89Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Review 1 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money!

Posted19 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
For the home mechanic this is a solid, well made piece of kit that should last a lifetime.
Setting up can be a little tricky and it takes up a fair bit of space in storage but, hey...
Highly recommended.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Littlehampton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good value for money

Posted13 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This isn't the sturdiest of stands for doing prolonged maintenance but for the average amateur rider, this is plenty good enough to take care of the basics. For the money, you can't argue with what it offers. Recommended.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good stand at a reasonable price.

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
This stand is well made and quite sturdy - especially for a collapsible stand. Adjustments are easily made and there is a good range of height, my XXL frame flat bar bike fits in it with ground clearance to spare so any bike should really.
I use it for both road and the heavier hybrid, it's fairly sturdy under both, there is some movement if tightening or loosening stuck bolts but if in any doubt break or tighten them on the ground first and then lift into the stand.
The head itself is very robust and even if you found that the post of the stand wasn't to your liking it would be easily hacked to a bench mount or wall mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Practical value for money piece of equipment

Posted28 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First time I have owned such a piece of equipment.
Easy to put together and well made bought for use with my Trek 8.4DS Hybrid.
Makes cleaning and maintenance much easier by securing the bike by seat post.
Given my wall mounted bike stand is full will also use as storage stand whilst bike at home keeping off garage floor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock solid, easy to assemble and use

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great product. Saves your back and makes it much easier to those fiddly bits of maintenance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent - great bit of kit for tinkering!

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Sturdy bike stand, which was easy to build, and is very solid.
Much easier to work on your bike with this - a must buy to save turning your expensive bike upside down in the garden!
Holds bike solidly, easy to fold for storage, but doesn't feel at all wobbly when using it.
I wish I'd bought one years ago!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Cyprus
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mechanic Repair Stand

Posted02 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very functional and value for money. I'm pleased!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good sturdy build

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to assemble and easy to adjust, a good choice for all bike repairs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Really sturdy yet easy to store work stand

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no tray
Great stand, looks really robust and it's sturdy with an 8kg road bike attached. Made it much easier to service and work on bike. I was worried it would be difficult to store but it folds away pretty easily and sits in the bike store. Would recommend. A tray for tools would have been nice but that's just a minor thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Unexpected design flaw

Posted27 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I expected great things from Park Tool's but the rotating mechanism that holds the bike jammed so unfortunately had to replace it with an alternative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best entry level stand

Posted11 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This stand is superb, I really can't find a fault with it.
If I was hard pressed I'd say it was heavy, but a flimsy lightweight stand wouldn't last or hold a bike securely.
The stand is easily to assemble, I separate the legs from the upright for storage. I would wholeheartedly recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Well made.

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
There are cheaper stands on the market but this is a good quality sturdy bike stand by a trusted company. I wouldn't want my bikes hitting the floor because I bought a cheap work stand from a supermarket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good piece of kit..

Posted23 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Finally bit the bullet and bought one of these.. It is quick to assemble, folds up fairly neat and is robust. Bike tinkering and cleaning now infinitely easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very easy to set up but stong enough to Handel any bike.
Very happy with my stand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, robust
Robust product that makes working on a bike so much easier.
The stands legs will fold up to align with the upright so it's easy to store as a 'column' in the corner of the garage.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

So much easier

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is the first repair stand I have had and the work I do on my bike is much easier using this. I do minor stuff only - but it is adjustable and suits my needs perfectly. Good and stable - stabilising legs take up a reasonable amount of space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was tempted to buy cheep imitation on eBay and for my needs I don't think it would have made much difference, but you know you are buying quality with park and it's much easier to return to evans than eBay if there are any problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

basic for home mechanics

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, space consuming
the workstand is very durable and it steadily holds my bike easily for servicing and occasionally if I want to wash my bike. The downside however is that it needs to be disassembled after you're done with it in order to free up some space, but if space is not your concern then it shouldn't be much of a problem just to leave it as it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good quality piece of equipment.

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to assemble instructions clear and concise. Bike very stable when clamped to stand. Easy to store when not in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Park Tool PCS-9 - Home Mechanic Repair Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent. Very easy to use.

Posted07 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Took five minutes to put together...two more to put the bike in the jaws...another half hour and I had a bright, clean, shiny bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>