Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Satori Home Trainer

Tacx Satori Home Trainer

Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Review 1 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pete59
from united kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sturdy and easy to use

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good looking and well built home trainer representing fair value for money. Easy to assemble and takes little effort to get up and running. Slightly noisy in operation, but provides an excellent workout.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marker
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A stable turbo trainer - good range of resistance

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, stable
Having read a number of review i was concerned this turbo trainer was going to be difficult to set up, but this did not prove to be the case and i had it up and running very quickly. When you jump on you immediately notice the excellent stablity giving you a secure feel. There is plenty of variation to the resistance settings from the almost free wheeling to very strong resistance that would suit most cyclists.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Not the quality of their older products

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Bought this to replace a Tacx Sirius that I'd been loaned and had been very impressed with.
However the manufacturing quality is poor. The trainer was not level (not even close), rocking on its four feet. That was enough to return it, but in addition the mechanism that clamps onto the wheel skewer does not hold the bike firmly. The tolerances on the sliding bolt have been downgraded and it's a loose fit in the frame. Same issue on the fixed side with the lock ring; the fittings have been downgraded and you can't lock it solid.
In summary, this is nothing like the quality of their earlier product. I notice that their top of the line i-Genius and i-Flow trainers still use the older Sirius style frame. This probably tells you something.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
currumbinmassif
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

great winter warmer

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased the Tacx Satori to get back my legs after doing the Deloitte Ride Across Britain during the summer. Can't fault the trainer although after using it in my living room and kitchen in a garden flat, I am aware of the noise. Saying this I'm always hooked up to iplayer or music with headphones. I have started to use it when i have an empty flat or by simply opening a door in the kitchen this seems to break down the noise/vibrations, otherwise outside and its perfect to get an hour in daily without the trip to the gym. It also helps having wifi within reach to keep the motivation going. Setup very easy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StuE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you out of the weather!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to set up, with all the bad weather we have been having the Tacx has proved to be a great stand in for going out in the pouring rain. The combination of using the bike gears along with the tension adjustment on the Tacx itself allow for a good range of resistance. A good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richiojim
Country:United Kingdom

Great turbo-well worth the money

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was my first turbo and so far it has been great. The noise levels I would say are similar to other turbos. Assembly is reasonably easy just make sure you have the right tools (two 13mm hex wrench/spanner)and the parts are all arranged well in the box. It is easy to adjust to fit the wheel onto the contact point.
Once on its easy to adjust the resistance level via the handlebar lever. Even a one level increase significantly increases the workload.
Overall I would 100% recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Once setup, killer workout awaits.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking around at trainers at a similar price point but ended up getting this due to positive reviews from numerous sources, and because it included a front wheel block with it. The instructions are slightly confusing but is easy to setup once you get your head around it.
The trainer itself is sturdy, and comes with a resistance adjuster. There are 10 levels of resistance. I can comfortably ride 18-20 mph on rolling English terrain, and I think the resistance is more than enough for anyone. The resistance level at 5+ starts to get very tough! 10 is...nigh on impossible to turn.
I know noise may be an issue for many people but it is relatively quiet. The bigger issues is the vibrations that come from it, which is no worse than a washing machine when you are going very hard.
I personally really like it, and was considering spending up to £300-400 for one, but I'm glad I bought this one, as it fulfills all my training needs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilber49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: noisy
Brought my Tacx as I wanted to keep my cycling fitness up. It does what it says on the box and enjoy using it regularly . It is quiet noisy but I couldn't comment as to whether it is noisier than others as this is my first turbo trainer . I have had to change my back tyre in only 5 weeks but will buy a tacx trainer tyre soon I think it is a must .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EngineerAndy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great trainer!

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, quiet operation
I originally was on the verge of buying the cheapest trainer that Evans sell. I was steered towards this due to it coming complete with front wheel stand which had made my original selection almost the same price as this. After reading a few great reviews raving about this trainer I added it to my cart. I'm glad I chose this trainer as it is super smooth, very quiet (good as I play my Xbox whilst on this!) and looks great.
Definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a serious trainer for not a lot of £'s. Evans even price matched this making it an even bigger bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ASayers

Excellent and simple

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent product. Simple to setup and easy to use.
10 settings plus the bikes gears provide a great range of resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stonecold
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality. Very smooth to use.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Although I had a little trouble putting it together, in particular fitting the spacer to use it with a mountain bike, you can't mistake the quality of the whole trainer. It is absolutely solid in use, and the flywheel is very smooth and reasonably quiet. Using the trainer is as near to riding on the road as you can imagine. You can vary the load either by using the lever adjustment on the trainer, or just by using the bike's own gears. Removing the bike from the trainer or replacing it back on the trainer is very easy and takes only a few seconds. Overall, I am very pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartinMate
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Turbo Trainer and Perfect Customer Service

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Love the Tacx Satori Home Trainer - easy setup, great magnetic resistance, and very quiet all things considering.
Also, delivery from Evans cycle was prompt, efficient, and trouble free. Nice job guys!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landegs
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent trainer! Although I have never owned a turbo trainer to compare with, I did do quite a bit of shopping around before deciding to purchase the Tacx Satori. I was looking something that was going to last and felt quality - this does not dissapoint.
Very stable, good build quality, stylish and easy enough to assemble; although the instructions could be 'bigger'! Quiet and holds your bike in a very stable position. The front tyre stand comes with it, so don't do what I did and buy a seperate one only to find out I had 2!
You will need to buy the training tyre to go with it or your standard road tyre will be destroyed in no time due to the friction created. I intend on purchasing a spare wheel setup as changing the tyres over often is a bit of a pain.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartinY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of my best purchases

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The Satori is robust, packs up relatively small and offers some strong resistance. Only had it a couple of weeks but regular turbo sessions have definitely improved my riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pooledog

Expensive present but worth it

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Buying this as a present I started looking at less expensive units but the more I read from reviews and articles I realised to have one that overcame the shortfalls one had to spend a bit more. This trainer represented the best value and performance without going to the £500 plus region.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boney
from Reading
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great training device when the weather gets bad. burns your road tyres up a bit so you may want to invest in a training tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy, stylish and GFM

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was recommended this product by others in the my cycle club and was not disappointed.
It was a little fiddly to put together as the instructions weren't clear that you needed the extension parts for the 700c wheel when assembling it the first time. But Its well made and sturdy. Runs pretty quiet, but then again I don't have anything to compare it with!!. In hindsight I should have bough the next model up with the power meter etc. but it is a lot more money. Didn't buy the special tyre as it would have meant another wheel and all my club colleagues don't use one
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyrew
from uk
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
fantastic piece of kit, yea can be boring but cycling is sometimes about mental strength aswell as physical, very lightweigt, and easy to set up, can be used anywhere, great training tool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SirPercy
from Stratford upon Avon
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Home Trainer

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to set up and put into immediate use.
Used in conjunction with their very good wesbite where there is depth of information regarding workouts and training programmes this is the ideal tool to support your weekly rides or replace them through winter weather.
A robust piece of kit at a good price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tacx Satori Home Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobbieH
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great birthday present

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Early days yet but a big improvement over my previous cheap trainer. Resistance is akin to being on the road; noisy at high speeds. Good range of resistance available with the ten gears.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>