Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set

Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set

Overall rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
49 out of 52(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adifferentone
from Colchester
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye EL530/LD1100

Posted30 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no flash option on front light.
This light is the brightest lamp that I have ever used on a bike. I have been cycling since 1963! It is a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. Oncoming motorists on unlit roads dip their lights as soon as they see you because they are unused to seeing a light like this on a cycle. The back light is also impressive for it's light output.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flexewebs
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Solid lights

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, works!
I've been using these lights now for couple of weeks and they have been quite solid.
I've got a pair for my wife too and she is also happy with them.
I tend to cycle quite fast and they are staying on which is very important and they are bright enough to light up the road in front.
It was nice that they came with batteries already, but a word of caution is that front light requires 4 batteries and back light requires 2 batteries, so make sure you have a rechargeable batteries supply once the included sets wear out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Belle2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

More high-quality lights from Cat-Eye

Posted07 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to replace my previous Cat-Eye lights, which were on the way out after 5 years' hard service. The lights are easy to operate and very bright. My only issue was that it was difficult to disassemble the front light to install the batteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Countryrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great light set to be seen with!

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cateye make some of the best lights. This set is extremly bright and will get you noticed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LordSimon

Good quality

Posted06 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very eficient. Extremely powerfull front light and the magnectic switch will ensure that water will keep out.
Don't like to allways go trough all the lighting methods every time I wan't to turn off the rear ligt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zaimuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good package

Posted11 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this set of lights after quite a lot of research. Front light is quite bulky but it produces a bright light. The back light on the other hand is the best out of the two. Some great flashing pattern but most important of all, you will definitely guaranteed to be seen.
Can't really complaint for the price I managed to get it for from Evanscycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rkumar30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good set of lights

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this set of lights for city use and they are very good. rear light is fantastic and very bright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jennifers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Bright lights

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to fit onto the bike. Really makes the bikevisible and helps the rider to see in unlit .
Costs a bit more but worth it.
The only downside is the front light doesn't flash on and off.
Would recommend this set
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HMSDanae
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best lights on the market.

Posted11 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
Recommended by my son who has has the same set of lights on his bike. Can be seen for miles so invaluable for dusk to dawn riding on country lanes. Vehicle drivers would be hard pressed to miss these brilliant lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scot1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Quality, Fit for purpose, mid price

Posted26 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit, easy to use with number of rear light settings adjusted with a press of a button. Mid price range but good quality. Best for adhoc use on/off road. If needed for road all year need higher level of lighting to see and be seen at low light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trinity156
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Definitely bright enough for the towpath at night, quite bulky and heavy for connector so had to retighten half way through ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Garythen00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth the money !

Posted30 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a better light for training at night. The local guy's were charging way more than Evans plus some of their product choice was
poor.
I chose this cateye light set as the front has a good range plus it makes
me feel safer. The rear is just as good as anybody elses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suzy72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

these lights were a gift for my husband he was so

Posted14 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, so bright
these lights were a gift for my husband he was so impressed with them the brightness is great and the fittings are easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkR41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent light set, bright yet compact.

Posted27 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, bright
Good battery life and they illuminate the road well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
denboy
from cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lights

Posted25 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: back is good fit
Cons: front is bulky and heavy
they r ok but i found them to be too big for my rcer especially the front light back light is verry good becase of the different flash sequence and it is verry bright
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best lights ever!!

Posted20 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
all i can say about these light is that theyre the best ever!! theyre bright, rainproof, coldproof and drop/accidentproof. they look good and are easy to attatch and deattatch, dont use your batteries up too much either. the front light can be seen from very far away and gives a good wide beam even in streets with lights. the rear light also can be seen from very far away (even in fog), it has two sets of lights so the top row can be flashing and the bottom row can be steady which i find handy, also it has lights on the side which is a good feature. theyre not too heavey either but not really for a weight weeny
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guggelybundle
from Dorset
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright on a point

Posted15 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
There are many differences of opinion re the brightness of this light. It is very bright in a concentrated point and can illuminate a long way away. But to use it to cycle in the dark is not great as there is too small a pool of light at the distance you need. It is somewhat heavy if you are wanting a super lightweight experience.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorolf
from South Coast, NSW, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Upgrade for Basic Lights

Posted25 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no flashing mode on front light, front light is quite large
The traffic definitely stays further away than with my previous weaker lights.
The front light is very bright with a concentrated main beam and a broad but much much weaker diffuse effect. Use with street lighting it is great. Ok in total dark too. Drawbacks are that there is no flashing mode and the light is quite large on the handlebars.
Rear light is great. I usually have the bottom row of LED's set to a solid light and the top row flashing. Traffic can really see it quite a fair way away.
All in all, these lights do the business. I'm at about 15hrs of battery life and going strong. Off-roads will want a much better light for trails etc, but for on-road and urban they suit me fine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MickyC
from Bucks
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pair of lights, reasonably priced

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, bright
Cons: Expensive
I bought these along with a new bike for road and offroad use.
The front light is good - nice and bright, much better than those in the £35-£50 range I was considering. Lights up night time roads and offroad tracks particularly well. Two things I would change though - firstly, the on/off switch is very sensitive which is fine apart from when you take the light off the bike and chuck it in your bag - it can easily turn itself on, running the battery down. Why not a simple rubberised bush button?
Secondly, there is no beam adjustment - would be good to be able to 'focus' the light a bit, as personally I would broaden it for road use and sharpen it for offroad.
The back light is great - nice chunky buttons, two rows of lights that do the same thing but operated independently. Good sturdy mounting, very bright LED's and good visibility - can't fault it!
Overally, great pair of lights but there may be others to consider that are better but I have not tried!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye EL530/LD1100 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiggytiger
from Hampshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money. Bright LED lights.

Posted19 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, adjustable
Very bright front light with easy fitting and adjusting. Lights up country roads at night. Began comparing it to car headlights which are much brighter. Then you get used to the bike lights after a while. Only used them on roads I've cycled before in daylight, so I can't really say how it works on unexplored roads at night.
Rear lights are flashing or constant and are very bright.
Happy with both.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>