Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set

Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set

Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 19(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Peter10

not ideal

PostedOctober 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
They do the job, but these lights take size N batteries which are a pain to find, they aren't as bright as what you might expect from the cateye brand, and most importantly they don't stand up to high humidity so if left on the bike at night, condensation sometimes forms inside and interferes with the electronics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reggiesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality low price lights

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great value for money, do what they say on the can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilly17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

excellent lights

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
very bright lights, easy to use. Can be detached easily from bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bart33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Lights

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, does exactly what i need
This is a good quality light set at a reasonable price,very bright and sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimcal71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

great lights no hassle

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great product easy to set up done within minutes just wished they sold the fixings separately but overall very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Glennr28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Stylish lights

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Tried these lights out as looked a little different from the rest. The work perfectly but take a while getting use to how they attach to the brackets. also the brackets do not have much grip on handlebars and need some cloth or similar to stop slipping around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DiDi1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good looking and easy to fit

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very easy to fit, looks sleek. Maybe a little hard to open first off, but that means it won't fall apart easily either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trekky75
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Nice and small, use for back up only

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Purchased these as a back up to my main lights, easy to fit and seem well built.
Not sure about how waterproof they will be but hoping they will live up to the elements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eenies
from Aberdeenshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight lights.

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: straps too short
I wanted a small, lightweight set of "get me home" lights for the road bike. These are exactly what I was looking for however...The bands are too short for my chunky carbon tubes. The front light only just fitted on my bars and I spent literally hours trying to fit the rear to various parts of the bike. I even tried it with various old Cat Eye bits and bobs from my toolbox. Because none of the tubes, or seatpost, is round it would not fit anywhere and I eventually gave up and swapped rear lights with the mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pendulum
from london
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bought on sale

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
very good set of lights but someone relly liked it and I had them stolen
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simo1
from sutton surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye lights are a winner

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
these lights are great. good style bright to be seen rather than to see so if on unlit roads would need another light aswell but other than that the lights do the job The batteries are not easy to get in shops like AA or AAA but easy to buy online and cheaper . All in all i am very happy with lights
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shunsbridge
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright but malfunction when wet!

PostedMarch 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Poor quality
These are very bright for other road users directly in front/behind you to see, and they're very compact and easy to take on and off - battery life also seems to be good, but my main problem with them is that if you go through a typical rainy ride you'll have to take them off, take out the batteries and let each seperate piece dry out before you use them again, as they regularly freak out and stop working when wet.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Woody
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A Bit Weak

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
front light is a bit weak for commuting. the back light I use for a helmet backup. Woudl recommned going more meaty for a primary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lecca
from kent

Value

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
i am pleased with the package overall as it offers good value for money.Mainly used at dusk to be seen not to see where i am going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gtmanning123
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Dissapointing...

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
First dissapointment was the size. I probably should have checked somehow but they are VERY small. They are not bright enough to use as a torch however bright enough for other road users to see you. There is no indication as to how to install the batteries! In the end I figured out that you need a thin knife to wedge in the front end of the casing. For a small and easily adjustable light set that will allow other road users to see you, this is a great set.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bike92
from Cumbria
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great Lights

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
very bright lights, good quality for the price!
can easily be transferred to other bikes..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red24
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Perfect

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, keeps me alive!
Bright, portable and lightweight. Everything I needed for a set of lights for a bargain price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cateye HL/LD270 lightset

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Great little lights, cheap and easily to transfer if you have more than 1 bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye HL270/LD270 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ebby
from Bolton
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

do the job

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
these lights work fine and serve purpose, just don't forget to leave them switched on when you store your bike like i did! doh!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.