Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light

Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light

Overall rating:
4.479 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
66 out of 71(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Review 1 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KingstonDad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lights up my life

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install and super bright. The top row and bottom row of LEDs can have the flashing pattern changed independently, which (I think) helps drivers notice me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moggy64
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Excellent investment! Buy it!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Like a lot of people I was a little hesitant in buying this rear lamp..yes it's not the size of a flea, and takes more that a watch battery to power it, and it doesn't cost a fiver either.
But...well,it's lived up to my beyond my expectations.
As a keen motorist in a busy city I'm more than aware of how clueless most other drivers are, and equally am fed up with loads -perhaps 70% of cyclists who think it's 'cool' to ride in all weathers and at night without lights or reflectives..
Having fitted this Cateye and returned onto a bike after a very long gap , I was expecting to be carved up by vans, cars etc, I was shocked and stunned to discover that this lamp commands respect from other motorists, trucks, white vans, you name it!
Because it's so bright and blinks on both sides all gave me masses of passing space, often driving over to the other side of the road to pass me.
This lamp is worth every penny and I can't really say any more than that.
You'd be mad not to buy this light.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Martin01

One of the best rear lights

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I have 2 of these.
They are certainly very visible.
The batteries lasts forever.
The only gripe is that the battery cap only takes a quarter turn to screw on - I would prefer it to have positive screw on feeling. I once did not check carefully enough and the cap came off during use - fortunately I did not loose it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheDormouse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Powerful light fit for busy main roads

PostedApril 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This light has a bright output which should be easily visible among other traffic, valuable when weaving in traffic jams or changing lanes.
Cateye make (& Evans stock) an adapter plate to mount it at the rear end of a rear rack, where it will not be obscured by bags. On some designs of rack this also traps the light so that it cannot be removed without first unscrewing the mounting plate from the rack, which can be a good deterrent to thieves (the batteries are still accessible and so can be changed without dismounting the light).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iStacey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Bright and easily seen, but why two buttons?

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: why two buttons?
I wanted something big. When I'm driving I hate suddenly seeing a single, dull flashing led at night and almost too late realising its a cyclist.
So, I wanted to avoid that and get something BIG (not too big mind) that has multiple LEDs, visible from all angles. This was it.
I do question why it needs two buttons, its pretty annoying getting it sync'd up or turned off. The second button doesn't add anything other than peehaps some battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
paddypower101
Co.Donegal
 
Please wait while more information about paddypower101 is loaded.
Additional information about paddypower101 could not be loaded.
Tips
Posted May 20, 2014
TIP: Press both buttons 4 times each at the start & once each at the finish - that way they simply switch without the hassle of cycling through the buttons ;)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ant45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent light

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is my second light as I managed to lose the first. As it was so good I just had to buy another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arnaud
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

The more secure rear LED

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, bright, secure
This is the only rear LED with powerfull side lighting.
with this you are visible in crossroad.
The delivery is fast and the price is competitive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brodrickontour
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Will definitely get you noticed

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If only all cyclists in London fitted their bikes with this sort of rear light - very bright, alternating light schemes to get you noticed and sturdy. If you are going to wear your all black cycling outfit first thing in the morning rush hour, do everyone a favour and get something like this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian262
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Still one of the best rear cycle lights there is

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: uses aa batteries rather than being rechargeable
It's well built, very weather resistant, provides light visible from both the rear and the sides, and the two sets of LEDs which can work independently of one another mean that you have a range of options for setting up the flash pattern.
Yes, it's on the heavy side, and it uses AA batteries rather than with its own rechargeable battery pack, but these are minor grumbles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shieldsy55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Very Bright

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Simply one of the brightest rear lights on the market due to having two banks of LEDS. If you want to be seen and who doesn't this is the light to buy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pmcd

Good so far!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Although this seemed pricey I bought this for its other good reviews, brightness, and the LEDs on the side for improved visibility, which not many other lights seemed to have.
I had to order the adpator to fit onto my pannier rack (held on with zip ties at the mo but it rattles and has fallen off twice).
Seems great so far, used for a couple of weeks and the batteries are still gonig strong.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bought this and evans price matched it ..... this is one of the greatest tools iv had different settings x 2 buttons and it can be set on single or double
mates loved it they bought it end of story
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fullysynthetic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

The only rear light youll need

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good bracket and mounting options. Side and rear facing led's. Allows one row to be solid and the other row to flash so the best of both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skybluescooby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dazzling performance

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: too big
Nice light which I have found to be very bright and actually makes other road vehicles slow down and pass with care... (when positioned correctly).
Good choice of lighting modes from still to flashing to knight rider.
Only bad point is its a bit big n bulky
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vetinari
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Big and Bright...

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, bright/all round visibility
Cons: Expensive
Even though it is not the most ecpensive rear light in the world, still costs a fair amount (I won't leave it attached to my bike when I am not using it). However, would I recommend it? Yes.
Bright, with simultaneous multiple flashing/steady lights, this will get you noticed by almost ever other road user.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kraut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Nice and bright, very visible

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
What can you say? Nice, bright light. Two rows of LEDs with lots of different flashing patterns - and you can control both rows separately.
A wee bit fiddly to turn off, but great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MacMan64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not robust enough

PostedAugust 31, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, bright
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I have used this light for two winters on my 20 mile commute on quiet country roads. The light output is excellent and the unit very easy to use, although it is a little fiddly having two buttons to switch on and off.
The main issue is the 'cap' on the side of the unit which holds the batteries in place. This is made of brittle red acrylic, with a large rubber O ring to keep the unit watertight. On the cap there are three small lugs to hold it in place. Over the last few months two of these have failed, without the light having ever been dropped or otherwise damaged - so it is now held together with tape! I will be replacing it for this winter and as it's my third Cateye light to crack in some way or other, I will be looking elsewhere.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ferrocement

Brightest rear light I've come across

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I particularly like the way the upper and lower rows of leds are separately controlled giving a relativley large number of options as to how the light is displayed. At first it felt a bit of a fiddle cycling through the different functions but it soon became easy enough to set up. Main thing is even in broad daylight I think it is very hard to miss.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Countryrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do you want to be seen?

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It's not just cars that will spot this light, I reckon aeroplanes will spot you! Best light I have ever seen. Can be seen from all angles, extremely bright, great buy! Being seen is so important and you will be seen with this light!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye TL-LD1100 10 Led Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eurotrash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It's a good light, no denying it - bright, multiple modes, battery appears to last long enough (I've been using this light for 1.5 months, about an hour a day in #1 flashing mode, both upper and lower, and haven't had to replace the batteries yet).
I bought it specifically because I wanted something bright so no drivers coming from behind me would fail to see me. It serves its purpose. It is a little wide, and I prefer a more streamlined look. But you do what you gotta to to survive on the roads.
I've read (here or elsewhere) people talking about the light falling out of its clip. Never had any issues with that, and think it's unlikely as it seems very solid.
Overall I'd recommend it to people who want a bright light, if they aren't going for the minimalist look.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>