Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light

Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light

Superseding the former single LED LD260 light the great value LD270 uses 3 LEDs to provide a greater light output and better overall visibility. - Complies with Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations - Batteries included. - Run time - 30 hours constant/50 hours flashing
Overall rating:
3.864 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lejog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I wanted a flashing front light to help me be seen on overcast commutes. This does the job nicely. It's quite small and aerodynamic sitting proud of the handlebars. It has a flashing and non-flashing mode, I've only used it a few times so can't comment on how long the batteries last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jay2oh
Country:United Kingdom

Good bright light

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does the job just fine, nice and bright. Screw-based mounting was effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VinceL

It's very cheap

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Inexpensive little light. No-standard batteries, will be easy to find?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gradEP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact front light

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This was a sale item at the time of purchase so was a reasonable value. Reasonable light output as a warning device, not tried it after dark. On/off switch is positioned underneath, so not always easy to locate if turned on during a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brunco

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
excellent signal light, great price purchase. ecommerce site reliable and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Writer55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A neat, inexpensive, functional light

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: small beam
This light is inexpensive and does the job. It is bright and the choice of strobe or steady beam is useful, though the continuous beam is a little narrow for unlit roads. It is easy to fit and quick to take on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WinterBikeMan
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

bright n cheap

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
great light power for the price.
there are more powerful lighting systems out there, but they need lots more batteries and more $$$.
for what you pay, you can't go wrong!
:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jamietee89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This light was just what I was looking for. Something small, simple, and easily attachable. It is pretty bright for a small light and has two settings; flash or constant. It also looks good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
izaak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
For a small light (to be seen) this is excellent,with cateye's usual no fuss efficient bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yeasayer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty much what you would expect for the price

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Ok for being seen, but not for lighting up the road ahead. The way it attached to the handlebars means that the brake cables get in the way a little but overall fine for the price. Inclusion of batteries is a nice touch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bigal1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product is value for money

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For such a small light it is very bright,easy to fit & remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kiminiaitainaa
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Compact, but design issues

PostedOctober 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: bad design
I have recently purchased the HL-LD270 to replace another light I had lost. It was half price, which made it a good opportunity.
I really appreciate how small it is, and it is easy to fix for the first time, and to remove off your bike every time you park. The light is also reasonably OK.
However, there is a big design issue with the light: the button to turn it on is protruding, and the slightest touch will turn it on. I am used to removing the light off my bike not to get it stolen, and I cannot simply leave it in my bag without it turning on. The only solution has been to devise a small box that I can put it in. Very annoying!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robwd
Country:United Kingdom

Road Light

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, small
I purchased this light as I needed a small and lightweight light for my road bike, for the few times I am out when its gets a little dark, but also for when I just wanted to be a bit more visible.
The light fitting on this light doesn't seem as secure as some of the other Cat-Eye fittings, but due to the light being so small and lightweight, it appears to be adequate so far.
The only problem I encountered was the strap was not quite long enough to fit around the spacers just under the headset - I was hoping to keep my handlebars as clutter free as possible. Don;t let this put you off though if you are mounting in to the handlebars - the spacers are much wider so it will fit!!
If you have a road bike and want to be seen - Buy this light!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
martin007
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and compact good for road bike

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
great light, small and light for the front of my road bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tcabs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Front light

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very easy to fit, nice and bright. A little expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andrew04
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent compact front safety light

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: requires non-standard batteries
This is a slightly smaller version of the TL-LD260 which this replaces and ideal if you don’t have a lot of room on your handle bar! Unlike its predecessor, this comes with the very simple to use Flex Tight mount system making installation a snap.
Water resistant, well built, slim and attractive design that will provide effective safety lighting. Llet down only by the use of non-standard batteries (the previous model used the readily available AAA size).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DRC9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cat-eye HL-LD270-3-led Front-Light (White)

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, city / town use
Cons: none
The Cat-Eye LD270 front LED lamp is a great choice for any cyclist on any bike riding anywhere in any town or any city because:
> Reputation - Cat-Eye products are always recommended as safe and road legal.
> Inexpensive - For under a tenner the lamp is fantastic value for money.
> Easy to install - The lamp is small, unobtrusive and can be easily mounted on handlebars.
> Security - The main lamp is detachable, pop it in your pocket after locking up your cycle.
> Appearance - The unit looks great with a modern design.
> Performance - The 3-LED lamp gives off a bright light so pedestrians / other road users to see you clearly at dusk and night.
> Power - The unit provides 100 hours of use per fresh battery installation, only 2 small camera batteries are needed and come supplied with the lamp.
> Operation - The LED's have 2 modes - flashing and continuous and lamp is easily to turned on and off.
> Durability - The lamp is of solid build and will operate in wet or dry conditions.
> Companion - Use in conjunction with any other Cat-Eye lamp i.e. the Cat-Eye LD270 rear light (Red) for all round visibility.
> Availability - The lamps can be bought separately or as a front and rear set, ideal if you need a replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyTempleIsland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good backup/town light

PostedApril 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, compact
This is great if you need to be seen rather than to see. About the size of a 50p piece - fits in pretty well any pocket. Battery lasts for months - in fact years. I use a back and front pair of these for going into town in an evening - 2 miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hambone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Small but good.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Been using this light for a few weeks on my commute. Needed a 'get you noticed' lights for the less well lit sections of my route. This light does the trick. Nice mounting system and is pretty unobtrusive when mounted.
I have been out in some heavy rain and it seems to be sufficiently waterproof.
Incidentally, I got mine, which was nice but I would happily pay full price . If you need a light to get you noticed then consider this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye HL-LD270 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taimur
Country:Pakistan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

ok for visibility

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It will aid your own visibility but doesn't have enough throw to light your path. I don't recommend this as the only light source if you are going to ride in the dark allot.
Build quality is top notch as you would expect from Cateye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>