Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light

Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light

Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
17 out of 22(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
CountryCousin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

disappointed - should be better for the money

Posted28 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good quick release clip mechanism
Cons: Expensive, quite bulky, too easy to switch on accidentally
This light arrived in the post in a damaged pack with batteries that did not work as they were flat. I think the problem is that the on-off switch is an exposed pushbutton at the rear and it was probably turned on by being bashed around. This is a weakness in a light that may be carried in a back pack.
The light was also heavier and more bulky than I expected.
If it had worked OK I would probably have been content if it had not cost a whopping £36.
I have returned it and hope to do better for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skynight
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good illumination - good as usb lights

Posted22 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, practical - easy battery change
Cons: Heavy
Very practical and useful light. Great feature that you can always change the batteries when in the forest. USB lights which run out when needed are no use to anyone.
I have used this light for roof spaces, eaveas inspections and other areas.
Very good purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sally67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

A great light!

Posted10 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the second model of this light I have bought. I bought one of these a few years ago and it's a great light, very bright. So, I bought another as a present for someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BTH1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good & Bright Light

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This light provides a decent light projection with a direct beam reaching at least 20-30 metres.
My only comment is if you are cycling down a country road and there are no other street lights you will always find yourself straining your eyes as you end up concentrating very hard. This isn't as bad if you are very familiar with the route.
The light provides great visibility to other road users with the low and high beam functions.
The fixing bracket is easy to fit and stays in position well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oldishPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Bright - good as a hand torch

Posted08 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought one recently as I had bought one some years ago, and found it to be usefully bright. The original was bought for the bicycle, but mostly use it as a bright hand torch.
On the original the black plastic body at the dimple at the top of the torch that secures the front silver plastic is cracking and pushing up with the years of strain at that point. (Haven't discovered a reliable method of repairing this - tape won't stick and what plastic adhering glue could be strong enough?)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beresfordo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Powerful and bright, good for winter

Posted13 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, bright, powerful
Cons: no flashing mode
I cycle to work through the winter and have to go on some very dark sections of road and path, so I was looking for a bright and powerful light to keep from running over anything in my way.
This light is certainly bright. It is quite big but to be honest it needs to be to project a good beam and to take 4 AA batteries. I like the 2 power settings and I think the only thing it lacks is a flashing mode (though not a problem for me as I have a secondary backup light on my bike that does this)
Overall, a great winter product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PaulH68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Expensive

Posted10 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: half decent beam
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Cateye brand usually says to me quality, which of course you pay the price for.
This looks and feels very cheap. Made of light plastic it has that cheap feel
The light emitted isn't too bad, giving a half decent beam with a good wide spread across the road.
I am disappointed in the quality and would look elsewhere if I'd had handle the unit beforehand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pxd1212
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good brightness
Easily switchable between full and half beam
Easy to fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tubthumper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A gem of a jewel of a light!

Posted12 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
At long last, cars are actually giving way to me, when I have my Cateye EL520 front light on!
Like most cyclist I have become over obsessed with minimalist mass, but when cycling round town and country, I have realised that my small token LED light was simply an accident waiting to happen.
The Cateye EL520 is mounted above the bars on a quick release mount - well away from brake hoses and gear cables. There is but one switch; depress and the light turns on, depress aagain and the light will go from the previous selection - High beam or dipped beam, and depress and hold to turn it off.
The light gives an intense focus beam of light, with a nicely diffused halo, which lights up the foreground more than sufficient to make quick progress with confidence.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zensanj
Country:India
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonable , but expensive, not standalone light

Posted19 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, may not be so bright
Compact, bit heavy (might be due to batteries) . There is not much difference in brightness between high mode and low mode . It is definitely brighter than my older light , but four times more expensive.
The brightness around the center is high, but area of brightness around center is small ( one led). You might need a second light. In semi-lighted road in urban area, I use my older led light to supplement this. I get 5-8 feet visibility travelling at 20 kmh. On the shaky mount, I added a spare rubber strip and it keeps it stable. It might be worthwhile to save up and get a more expensive model. There is no flashing mode.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hboggis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A possible replacement for The Sun!

Posted16 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, brightest light i have ever had!
Cons: Expensive
This light is simply fantastic. All other previous bike lights I have bought have on really had a 'spot light' effect on the road which although is great for helping drivers and fellow cyclists see you, it isn't actually that great for you to see by. However, this light has the spot light effect but also has a much larger outer circle which will easy light up an entire road lane.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
champsk
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not that bright for the price paid

Posted04 June 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, not very bright
this light unit takes 4AA battery which makes it a bit on the heavy side.
The light isn't very bright, it is more of a spot beam so you cant really see much on road.
No flashing as well
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shaun69

Impressive amount of power

Posted15 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Impressive amount of power in both hi and low modes. Would be nice to have a flashing function for city cycling. Others have mentioned problems with the clip but I have found it secure and easy to attach and remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wrinkleskin
from Herts
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Light Bad catch

Posted12 November 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very bright
Cons: bad catch
The light on this bike is very good, it's bright and the battery lasts a very long time. However if you do buy this light make sure it is ALWAYS on the catch securely, or as I recently found out the hard way, it'll come flying off and break if you don't.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PeterLights
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Good idea, poorly implemented

Posted02 March 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
This bicycle light is very bright and powerful once on the bike, I am impressed by that.
However, the catch is a bit of a faff, but not too bad to get the light on and off.
However, as the switch on mine has never worked I have to take it apart and take a battery out to switch it off. The battery must then be stored to be reinserted, and it can be slightly awkward to fit back together, especially in the dark
This is very poor given how much the light cost. I could send it back I suppose but I tire easily of such "admin" and so put up with taking it apart every time I use it. That's life - you pay your money and take your chance - that poor quality components let down what could have been a very good product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy08d
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent product, small unit but does the job on the unlit country roads early in the morning.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PapaFrank
from East Kilbride
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

Posted06 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Use this for riding on dark unlit country roads and very effective in lighting road ahead of you.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chmpnz
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

let there be light

Posted20 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no flashing mode
The front EL520 is a bit of a chunky beast when compared to cateye's other offerings but the brightness output more than makes up for it. It is bright but wasn't designed for road lighting in the pitch black (more to help you be seen). But it'll ensure you don't hit any critters on an unlit back street.
The icing on the cake would be for the EL520 to have a flashing mode along with the Hi/Low settings. Otherwise I couldn't be happier with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldFartCommuter
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent light

Posted22 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent light, Small, light and very powerful. Excellent teamed with the Cateye 610 rear light. Not the cheapest, but worth the money. Can tick the safety box and concentrate on the riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye EL520 Power Opticube Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dublin
from Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Problem with Cateye!

Posted18 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Like many quality items, it seems that the designers have got carried away trying to differentiate their producs from their competitors’. Instead of keeping things simple, ‘Cateye’ have made a plastic/rubber fixing that simply does not work. The light kept moving out of the ‘set’ position. I got round this problem by discarding everything except the very top plate that the light fit onto. This can be clipped ‘securely’ using a ‘jubilee clip’ but make sure to pad the back with hard plastic, or other such material, to prevent the plate from bending. The light itself is well worth the money.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>