Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light

Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light

Overall rating:
4.383 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
87 out of 94Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All4Bilkes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

You can't go wrong with this amazing value light.

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, uncomplicated, stable
This product is amazing value for what it does. Powerful light in two modes (Solid/Flashing), whith this light i'm seeing signs luminated hundreds of yards away that I never knew existed before.
It mounts on the bike without screws and any need for tools so can be mounted quickly onto any bike within seconds but is still solid and won't move an inch while riding.
Can't recommend this light highly enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tonichicaloca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Does what it says on the tin

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am very pleased with my new front light. It is bright and has improved my visibility. The cradle was very easy to fit and it is quick and simple to remove the light from the bike when out and about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
M2918
It was bought:Online

Great Light

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, no pointless epilepsy-inducing flash mode
This is a very good light. Bright and robust, with static and flashing modes. All for a very good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SciGuy
It was bought:Chalk Farm

bright light and also lightweight

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This was a good replacement for a larger Cateye which was slightly too heavy for its mount and used to slip forward when going over bumpy roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Handy little light

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I just wanted a lightweight backup light - this fits the bill perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bifter81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Relatively cheap, pretty bright, robust. Pretty much what you need from a front light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TooSlow
It was bought:Online

Excellent.

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Be seen and see where you are going all from a small, smart looking and lightweight light. No gimmicky unwanted multiple flash modes or full beam/low beam nonsense - just on and flash. And the bracket system is excellent - ideal for tapered/oversize bars.
You would be hard pushed to find a better performing light for the price I reckon and one that uses a bracket that can fit around fat bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Michaelsamps

Great Light

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: maybe not as powerful as more expensive models
This is a good light for the price. The batteries last for a long time and its quite robust.
Its my second one as my son lost the one I regionally had. So was happy to purchase a new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BusheyBiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Very good, a great improvement on my old light.

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This is easy to fit and nice and light. It casts enough of a beam for the darker stretches of my commute. The on/off switch is an improvement on the hyper-sensitive one that my old Cateye light had and which meant that it often turned on in my bag and wasted the batteries. My only criticism is that the top of the lens is quite bright and dazzles a little if I look down. Mind you, if I look down for any length of time then I'll probably cycle into something.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AMC27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Compact and powerful be-seen light

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Surprisingly small and light for the power it packs! I bought this light for cycling along unlit cycle paths at night, and does an OK job of providing illumination on the path for the size and price.
However, its real purpose is as a be-seen light for city riding at night, and for that it's *excellent* -- I've had drunk pedestrians stop and comment on its brightness, which lets me know it's working to make me visible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Farweasel

Really Good Light

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, efficient
Cons: the fixing doesn't look robust - although its fine
Had it several months now.
Its powerful, its been reliable and it isn't ravenous for batteries.
If this one get's nicked I'll buy another - What more is there to say?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Father
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Decent bit of kit

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Really strong light, good flashing and sits nicely on handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick1959
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light!

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit
Powerful. Easy to fit and control. Solid sturdy product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keith59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact lightweight and effective

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this to use on my drop handle bars mainly to be seen by other road users, it does the job well. The product is well made, lightweight and compact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traffik
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Pretty good, nice and bright. does the job.

Posted17 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
So far this light has been great. The battery is still going after a few hours with no sign of drain yet.
Its farily bright for cycling around the city at night, you can be seen which is the main thing.
Not bright enough is this is your only source of light though, but for the city with all the street lights its fine.
Very easy to remove from the bike which is a bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheDormouse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good lightweight bright light

Posted25 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This light has a good output (although nowhere near that of the more expensive lithium-cell lamps like the Lezyene Micro-Drive). It also gives good endurance, with 4 to 6 hours of full brightness from a pair of rechargeable AA cells or 6-8 hours from disposables (much longer than the Micro-Drive's 60 - 90 mins).
I used to use two of these, and now use one combined with a Micro-Drive, as I cannot always rely on the Micro-Drive to last as long as I need.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fluffy52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Good quality light excellent value for money

Posted13 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good beam. Light but a little fiddly to remove from the bracket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuffolkRichard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Light

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very compact but very bright light. Definitely a step up from the previous cateye I had. battery life unproven as yet though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pearcy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product v competitors

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Had a Smart light previously and this is great for commuting if you want to be seen. No interior water damage after commuting for over 2 months in terrible weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kormastana
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

compact and good value front light

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I like this and the fact the fitting to handlebar is the same as previous Cateye light I had.
The light is small but bright enough for most urban commuting if you do not have country lanes which are unlit included. Has flashing and continous mode. Haven't assessed battery life yet but should be fine. Can definitely recommend this to anyone needing good quality but compact front light around town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>