Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light

Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light

Overall rating:
4.346 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
74 out of 81(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All4Bilkes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

You can't go wrong with this amazing value light.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, uncomplicated, stable
This product is amazing value for what it does. Powerful light in two modes (Solid/Flashing), whith this light i'm seeing signs luminated hundreds of yards away that I never knew existed before.
It mounts on the bike without screws and any need for tools so can be mounted quickly onto any bike within seconds but is still solid and won't move an inch while riding.
Can't recommend this light highly enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traffik
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Pretty good, nice and bright. does the job.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
So far this light has been great. The battery is still going after a few hours with no sign of drain yet.
Its farily bright for cycling around the city at night, you can be seen which is the main thing.
Not bright enough is this is your only source of light though, but for the city with all the street lights its fine.
Very easy to remove from the bike which is a bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheDormouse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good lightweight bright light

PostedApril 25, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This light has a good output (although nowhere near that of the more expensive lithium-cell lamps like the Lezyene Micro-Drive). It also gives good endurance, with 4 to 6 hours of full brightness from a pair of rechargeable AA cells or 6-8 hours from disposables (much longer than the Micro-Drive's 60 - 90 mins).
I used to use two of these, and now use one combined with a Micro-Drive, as I cannot always rely on the Micro-Drive to last as long as I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fluffy52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Good quality light excellent value for money

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good beam. Light but a little fiddly to remove from the bracket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuffolkRichard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Light

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very compact but very bright light. Definitely a step up from the previous cateye I had. battery life unproven as yet though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pearcy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product v competitors

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Had a Smart light previously and this is great for commuting if you want to be seen. No interior water damage after commuting for over 2 months in terrible weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kormastana
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

compact and good value front light

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I like this and the fact the fitting to handlebar is the same as previous Cateye light I had.
The light is small but bright enough for most urban commuting if you do not have country lanes which are unlit included. Has flashing and continous mode. Haven't assessed battery life yet but should be fine. Can definitely recommend this to anyone needing good quality but compact front light around town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CeeJay60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good little light

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not bright enough for unlit roads
This is a slim and light weight front light. I needed a light to fit the handlebars of my Trek 3.1 which are a little chunky as other lights did not fit. It was easy to fit and on the bike in no time. Good little light with sturdy fastening system so no movement on the bike so far. Ideal for roads with street lights but not really enough brightness for regular or lengthy use of unlit roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andycuddlybear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit and quick to unclip if you leave your bike unattended. I like the fact you can buy replacement brackets if they break as with cheaper lights this is not possible. This is not the brightest light i have used but i didn't want anything too big cluttering up the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gav078
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Very bright light for dark winter nights

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works well only slightly awkward to get the light off the handlebar fixture, but probably just a case of getting used to it. Very bright light with flashing and constant functions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hendo64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable 'be seen' light

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I use this for my commute and it's been reliable and effective. Maybe the best thing I can say about it is that everyone else seems to have one too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PCM2757
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

A very good light

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I purchased this to replace my older Cateye front light which was getting on an bit.
The updated version is so much better both in full darkness and around sunrise/sunset.
Well recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toneski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great, bright light

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This item has normal & flashing modes, making you very visible at night. The light can be seen reflecting off street signs over 50 metres away, meaning you will be easily visible to all traffic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Digga

Small bright and powerful

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The light is very bright and easy to fit. Simply push button to operate between beam and flash. Very bright led's with a decent beam. Good quality & Highly reccommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Superb Light

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have used these lights for years and have always been excellent. Very bright, easy to put on the bike and like me swap between bikes. For the money I also think they are very good value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AlKim
Country:Finland
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Easy urban use only

PostedJuly 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: illuminates poorly
The light is quite bright, but the beam is unnecessarily wide. It's not too bad around town where road illumination does most of the work for you; the Cateye can then help you see signs further away (because of the signs' reflective surface) and make you more conspicuous to motorists, but problems start to arise when it gets properly dark, which it does in Finland throughout most of the year. I would say that the beam is only a few degrees short of scattering sideways, and only about 15 or 20 metres long at best; beyond that I can't see a thing on an otherwise unilluminated path. It's like driving a car that only has its fog lights on.
On the plus side, the EL-135 is small, slick and lightweight, and mounting/dismounting it is a three-second job unless you're wearing gloves (which you likely will here in Finland). The batteries last a decent amount of time, although my first pair died without warning (no waning light or anything), which could probably have been averted if there was a signal light or something indicating the level of charge left.
The upshot is that I would recommend this light for use in urban areas only, provided that there is road illumination available as well. If you want to see where you're going, there are better alternatives for similar money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GHMan1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Great value

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is compact and easy to carry around when not in use. Has a strong and far-reaching beam.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclecommutersw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Simple compact light

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Simple to mount. Comapct, fits easily in any pocket. Light has good range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PLBM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Highly visible light

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: clip broke during second year
I have owned one of these lights for well over a year, and swap it between my solo, our Pino tandem and my wife's wheelchair. The reason for this most recent purchase is that the clip on the first one broke. However the light is sufficiently good that I decided to replace it with the identical type. This also means that I can keep using the extra mounting brackets I have bought to allow it to be used on three different machines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye EL135 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
CMFraser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Better out there...

PostedMarch 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not as bright as I'd hoped, there's better brighter lights out there for less money to be honest.
Subsequently returned to store with no problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>