Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Minoura Action Roller Advance

Minoura Action Roller Advance

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Review 1 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bernie123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic quality and value

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I spent a long time deciding whether to upgrade my old plastic rollers to aluminium ones. I eventually went for these because of the diameter of the rollers, and the price. They take minutes to set up from the box, and fold away when not in use. They do take a small amount of getting used to, because they are flat, and not conical in shape, but if you are familiar with rollers you will be fine. They are so quiet, and give a really good work out. It is like cycling up a very shallow slope, but this means that you can up your cadence , or cycle slowly and still get an excellent wok out. They really help with cycling efficiency, you will really notice improvements in your pace and stamina on the road. Overall these are excellent quality, and significantly better priced than many rollers out there. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrPimms
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good balance workout

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Arrived quickly and easy to put together, having only cycled on road and never used rollers, it took a bit of getting used to, but slowly getting there. Still using next to a wall for balance confidence as still getting used to 'cycling and not moving'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soulfriend
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Go for these Rollers.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, ride and go, fold away.
Cons: Unattractive, central marking would have been nice.
Look, I searched long and hard and these rollers fell nicely into my budget
area. Noise levels on a scale from 1 to 10. I would give these a 2. Quieter than I expected, more general bike noise and not as horrific as Turb Trainers. Easy to assemble and I am Dyslexic, I don't do instructions and DIY is my mortal enemy. When set up just right in-between a doorframe, takes a little tweaking, then just find an easy gear and get your cadence up to 70/ 80. The slightest movement on the bars will seem exaggerated. Just get the feel and take a risk and let go of the frame. Control your urge to tense up, relax and breath easy. Focus your eyes away from the front wheel, like your looking down the road and your on your way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bracken
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Minoura Action Rollers

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Wanted something quick and easy to setup for Cadence training and cool-downs to compliment my Tacx Fortius. I choose this product because of simplicity, alloy rollers and its ease of use. It fills all of these requirements and more.
My conclusion is there are many more expensive options out there some with additional features that most of us do not require so why bother?.
I'm fairly lightweight 62Kg and Resistance wise these suit me perfectly. The lowest useful starting Wattage seems around 90W on a 39/25 and spinning a 39/17 or 16 has me up around 200w comfortably leaving plenty of headroom for Intervals. Add to this the fun factor of learning to ride rollers ( around 20mins to get reasonably competent) and the fact you are actually riding your bike rather than anchored to a solid frame makes for a more satisfying and fun workout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mcquaid
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Minoura Rollers work great, resistance is probably good enough for everyone except the pros. Takes some practice to perfect but will definitely improve fitness and pedaling style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frank1949
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product, smooth rolling, "enough" resistance.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first set of rollers so it was with a little trepidation that I positioned them in a doorway and mounted my bike. 5 minutes later I was wondering if I would ever be able to let go of the door frame. 5 minutes after that I was riding as if I'd been riding rollers all my life.
OK, maybe that's a slight exaggeration, I'm not confident enough to change gear yet or take a drink and I still need the door frame to get me going but I'm sure that will come with practice.
The rollers need to be assembled but it's an easy task as long as you have a couple of 17mm spanners. Follow the instructions and you probably won't need to disassemble them, put the drive belt on and reassemble them. :-)
Judging by my heart rate monitor, the resistance is about the same as riding up a gentle slope. I've got plenty of gears left to increase the effort. I've just done a 10 mile session, making it a little more interesting (or less boring) by doing 1 mile efforts every couple of miles. I don't think I'd want to do much more than an hour but they'll do for those days when I can't get out on the roads.
What else? Oh yes, it's not very noisy. I was listening to my mp3 player at quite a low volume and while I could hear the roller noise it wasn't particularly intrusive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waveymac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Watch out for the telly ....!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
As a total virgin when it came to rollers it will hardly come as a surprise to the more experienced users that the first time can be a bit of a disaster. In my case coming off the rollers and nearly going through the living room television. Undeterred (mostly) and with the aid of the support beams of the door it became a bit more stable to ride.
I would say that why it didn't exactly give me a 'road' feel it did more than enough to give me a nice little work out.
I would say value for money but my dogs went a bit 'mental' with the noise the rollers were giving off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Minoura Action Roller Advance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sasman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like riding up a gentle incline - gets demanding

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased this for some winter spinning in the garage, improve my balance & pedalling efficiency. When I received the product, the belt was missing, contacted evans and they sent me a complete replacement installation pack.
Assembly was ok although getting the nuts on was a little difficult due to lack of exposed threads once the flat and spring washers were in place. I also purchased the additional add on pack which included a step and front roller guards to stop the wheel from coming off.
Once riding on them very impressed as this was the first time I have tried rollers, could not believe how tricky it was, and how quickly speed reduced once I stopped peddling. It took me a good 10min before I let go of the bench I was hanging onto. I ramped it through the gears & found it tough to keep up a good cadence, I look forward to having some great workouts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.