Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain

KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Review 1 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HarryofEssex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Works as it should, will rust quickly if not oiled

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, reliable
Cons: rusts quickly
I am a fan of KMC chains and with MTB/Cross bikes and road bikes in the family have used quite a few of different varieties with no problems. Recently bought this and put on my daughters MTB after degreasing the heavy storage oil/grease that comes on it and re-applying a lighter oil ( pro gold). After a muddy ride, power washed the bike and left to dry overnight. Went to oil the chain next day and the chain was starting to rust already which I was not expecting. So good chain but dont store un-oiled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
xyxpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Its a chain

PostedJuly 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
It goes round the cogs. Its done about 1000 miles and it hasn't broken. The golden link can be a bit tricky to break.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Logical

PostedApril 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Absolute rubbish. Installed chain as per instructions. Three days later it snapped. So I rejoined it with a Sram Powerlink. Snapped again a week later in a different place. Again rejoined with Powerlink. Has just snapped again in a different place. Wouldn't buy anything from KMC again. Terrible equipment. The Shimano chain on before had done 12 months service with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpyevans
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Middle of the range

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great chain, not the cheapest and not the most expensive. Slightly different design and alternating finishes on plates make it look a little trick! Good KMC reliability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cidermart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this as a replacement chain for the original and it seems to work very well. The chain comes up long so I had to knock off a couple of links for it to fit, I run a triple with a 52 outer and a 25/11 on the rear cassette. I have already done a good couple of hundred miles and as yet there is no stretch in the chain, i'm no racing snake so it is stress tested (built for downhill). It is joined together with a speed link, supplied, so is a simple task to fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flattyreman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust chain supplied with a link.

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: inclined to rust quickly
Robust chain supplied with a link. Not sure if it is the grade of metal but it is inclined to rust quicker than some other chains I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexemo7
from N. Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value Good Looks

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, long lasting
Fantastic chain for price and will work with any drive system a 5 star from me and Looks if that is an issue for You cool on any two or three wheeler a strong contender for most important part on the Cycle !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ajaxis
from Worcester
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Time will tell

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Prompted by reviews of its longevity, I decided to try a KMC chain.
Easy to fit with the supplied connector link and now my gears purr contentidly. I've always had trouble with chain hopping between the top two rear sprockets but this seems to have disappeared; something which other chains have not cured.
I'll have to report back on chain life. Shortening needs a hefty chain tool - the rivets are very tough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnDaJo
from Cannock
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Qaulity at a reasonable price.

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, long lasting
Bought this as a replacement for the orignal KMC X9 chain that came as standard on my bike. That orginal chain a couple of thousand miles, so I thought why pay more a Shimano or SRAM chain.
I would recomend this chain to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigdon
from north west
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top parts

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
puchased this chain to replace my old one
after two years of non stop work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoulPatch
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Nice solid chain that seems to last well, I have had a couple of these and they haven't given me any problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enigmatic
from Brunei
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good reliable and cheap. Must buy for regular commuter like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ioner
from Cairo, Egypt.
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my 3rd KMC X9. It lasts about one year / 1000 miles. Does the job properly, never failed to date. Good value for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sabbath
from dronfield derbyshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

kmc x9

PostedJune 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
seems to do the business - no problems, power link is fiddly util you require the knack
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Delboy003
from Wittering
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good value

PostedMay 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good quaility chain at at good price, Great value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KMC X9 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclecommuter
from Chichester

Reliable with clever connection

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
I replaced my previous chain, also an X9 after 18months continuous use.
The connecting unit, comprising a removeable link with a longer hole, while hard to find worked on both taking the old chain off and putting the new chain on without the need for tools making the job easier.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.