Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain

KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Review 1 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JAD11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Long lasting chain

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Used on daily 40 mile commute. Reasonably long lasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain, I get it every time.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Whenever I get a new chain I always get this one and it's never let me down so far. Quick link is obviously good, you need to get the tool to un-link it though, I haven't been able to do it without it unless I'm doing something wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MAF66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Check your chain length first

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, missing link system
This was a straight replacement for my old chain that had become quite weathered. I have no problems with the chain, but a couple of things to note for newbies like me:
- Compare the chain length against your old chain and adjust accordingly. It's unlikely to be the same size.
- The chain uses a 'Missing Link' system so it may be worth investing in a tool to open the link in future, although you won't need it to fit the chain the first time around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlDirtyCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You cannot go wrong with this chain

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I got more than 8,000 k out of my last X10 and the transmission wear was less than half of what should be expected according to the Evans mechanic. I didn't really need to change the chain, but decided to as part of a bike service. Shifting is smooth and the X10 can put up with a lot of abuse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony0222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good quality product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's difficult to get too excited over a bicycle chain, but the KMC X10 looks to be of good quality and is easy to fit with it's quick link. It runs smoothly and quietly on the bike and changes gear without any problems. I've only had the chain about 3 weeks, but no problems so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Newelly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a chain

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nothing to get you excited about, but it does what it should do. Decent price with price matching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graz
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good value, longevity, and handy link

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, longevity, quick-link
Cons: Heavy
Bought to replace existing X10 on my commuter. Love the missing link connector - easy to use and very secure. Doesn't seem to jam up with road grit like some other quick-links.
Wear is pretty impressive - I've got 3000km on my current X10, which gets cleaned every 500km, and it's still only stretched < 0.5%.
If you use a new quick-link with new chain (and you should), this is great mileage for the money, especially for 10spd chain.
Word of warning - as mentioned previously, this is the 114L chain. If you've got alot of chain, it may be just a smidge too short. Eg:
- 29er with long stays
- Particularly large cassette and triple chainring
If in doubt, just count the links in the chain you've got at the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TTRich
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great chain at reasonable price. Bought to replace OEM chain that broke, smooth changing so far. I would recomend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Minson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Good so far...

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had this chain on for a couple of weeks now, no issues to report, comes with a handy quick link, which made life easier the other day when I swapped my rear mech
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tiger22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Replaced as part of the Silver Service

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was a replacement part suggested as part of the Silver Bike Service i booked with Evans. I had some issues with the front derailer catching on the existing chain in top gears and they suggested i replace the chain with the KMC X10, it seems to run fine at the moment and looks good on the bike as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stu007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

KMC X10 silver/grey chain

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This chain was fitted as standard to my bike, but I have been so impressed I have bought a spare for when I need one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phillince
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Superb service, arrived very quick and exactly as described....first class service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngryBadger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

112 Links In This Chain

PostedApril 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Purchased this to replace the KMC chain on my 2013 Specialized Crosstrail Pro purchased from Evans Liverpool last October.
Original chain has lasted 1600 miles.
The spec list for the Crosstrail stated KMC X10 chain hence this was ordered. Unfortunately it is too short as my chain has 116 links so on to Ebay it will have to go.
There are several versions of X10 chain, this Evans stocked one is X10.93 (112 links), the 116 link version is X10.73. There is a X9.73 116 link type sold by Evans that might be suitable for 10 speeds, I don't know. Bought the X10.73 from the Dibble shop.
E&OE!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
corralejo415
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great spec chain for price

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You'll need to go far to beat this product, KMC offer great performance and longevity at a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TractorChris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good BUT they do stretch!

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, low noise, durable
Cons: does stretch
Love this chain, no matter what bike I buy I will replace the chain for one of these! Excellent price and the missing link just makes it even more handy! I do a lot of DH and i've stretched a couple but none the less for commuting and the odd family bike ride nothing beats them! I'd recommend buying two because you've always got one handy with a missing link and a spare chain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seano
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The KMC is a basically simple and tough chain that is a useful alternative to the usual suspects. I prefer them simply because they seem to last in the face of the usual dust and grinding paste conditions I experience. The Missing Link is a boon and much better than SRAM and toolless when compared to Shimano. Works for me and works for both my SRAM and Shimano drivelines...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Esoxman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable chain

PostedJune 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This chain is great, no problems thus far, very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bobafet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality chain

PostedApril 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Nice chain. Like the fast link too. Fitted my 3x10 fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ridinghood
from canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really good value for quality

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
really like this chain. less expensive, easy to detach for maintenance, quallity product.
Shifting is as good as with shimano chain...(riding on ultegra group)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KMC X10 Silver/Grey Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
twoMetreRider
from Cheshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good reliable chain

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I weigh 90kg, cycle uphill and down dale, so if these chains were prone to stretch, I'd find out. I can't fault them on longevity so long as you keep them reasonably clean and well-lubed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>