Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebars or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender

Topeak Bar X-Tender

Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 29Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Review 1 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCB0303
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Just what I needed

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works with larger diameter handlebars. Not too heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
touringmalx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

good piece of kit with a design flaw

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: useful
Cons: design flaw
Well in theory it’s a nice piece of kit that does just what it says on the tin. In practice though – and a number of others have remarked on this – it does have a design flaw. First of all you do need to read the instructions rather than just steam in (sorry – I know it’s a guy thing!) and it is a bit of a fiddle. But, as I say, once set up it will do the job nicely. My need for it was for an all night bike ride using my old style headlight that I know is bright enough for the job but wouldn’t fit the thicker handlebars on my new bike – hence the need for the x-tender.
So the design flaw. The key to the kit is a steel loop which goes round the handlebars. It has 4 settings and you adjust to the setting which makes it tight and then turn a tightening screw to make it secure; a rubber piece is supplied if you need the handlebars to be thicker to get the necessary alignment – in theory! In my case it simply didn’t work – with or without the rubber piece the holes wouldn’t align so the screw wouldn’t go through both to tighten. And worse still, at least in my case, I was not happy with the rubbing of steel on my metal handlebars – it would be bound to scratch. And, even worse than that, the tightening screw to make it secure would go straight into the metal of the handlebar immediately damaging the paintwork. Even the diagram on the instructions had the rubber piece away from the screw – otherwise at least positioning the rubber piece between the screw and the handlebars might have been a passable solution.
So the obvious solution, which most cyclists would veer to anyway, was to use tape round the handlebars where it was to be attached to the point where it was thick enough so the holes would align and the screw could be tightened through them but wouldn’t damage the paintwork.
After that it was plain sailing and the x-tender works just fine. I live on an unmade, bumpy road and (to date anyway) no sign of it loosening – and it would on my road if it was going to.
So hopefully this will provide some helpful tips and, if Mr or Ms Topeak gets to read this – surely there must be a better approach than that annoying steel band! Not that I've got anything against samba music!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cit1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Does what it says on the tin

Posted11 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I now have one of these on each of my 3 bikes. Always find it a bit messy to fit but once on great piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
soltydog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A bit fiddly to fit,but gives good extra bar space

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I bought this so I could run with 2 front lights on dark nights. Was fiddly to fit onto the bars, but it's easy to fit & remove the extender part once on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Essential light bracket

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I needed a bracket to accommodate two lights, not only because I had lack of space on my handlebar but because they needed to be mounted higher so that the beam did not shine directly through the gear and brake cables. This fitted the bill. It is fiddly to fit but with a little patience and experimenting plus a cup of tea everything came into place. It has supported my two lights on the daily commute for two months, and the lights are secured well with no issues. Highly recommended for commuters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevie1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Versatile bar giving extra space

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to enable my front light to be set above my bar bag on my road bike and it did the trick. Also used to house my bell. It's a bit fiddly to put on but it's firm once installed. The bar can be locked in a number of positions across 180 degrees so is very versatile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SamSpecialized
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

neat construction, flexible

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
worthwhile if you want to make more space on your handlebars or if you want to raise the position of a light over any other equipment (such as a handlebar mounted bag) . Easy to assemble and mount, however the diameter of the steel clip cannot be adjusted to fit on smaller handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mudlark

Excellent

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Was more than fit for purpose. Easy to fit. Ideal for carrying phone holder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0rangutan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a very handy device to de-clutter your handlebars.
This is the third one I've had as the first unfortunately broke when carrying a Samsung Galaxy s3 in a waterproof case. I think it wasn't so much the weight, but the way the case attached making the leverage a problem - that and the potholes I didn't avoid.
The second one has been going strong for nearly a year carrying a small light and a Garmin 800. I have just bought a third one for a new bike.
If it were a little stronger then I'd give it five stars.
I have the old stub attached to another bike so I swap the main bar between the bikes without having to detach the whole thing. This third complete x-tender means I now have two bars to swap between three bikes. Quite handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
patrickblain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good, but small

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
The bar extender is easy enough to attach to the bike, and very flexible and versatile, but as I had ordered it in store then collected it, I hadn't realised how small it was. The bar its self has room for maybe 3 things at a push. As my handlebars are too wide to have lights e.t.c. on them, I am current'y using the bar extender for 2 front lights and an air horn, but I would also like to add a computer on, but I don't think there will be enough space (not comfortably anyway, see photos. Also, nothing can go further to the left, as that part of the bar is tapered, so it will slide down). So if you only want it for a couple of things to go on, brilliant, but make sure you know the size of it if you would like to add a few more on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclist369
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

Posted09 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Recently bought this, it functions as you would expect it to. It seems to be really sturdy, and I haven't had any issues with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCTD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Surprisingly solid and wonderfully adjustable

Posted08 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
With winter approaching I thought I'd try one of these to ensure that all the extra lights would fit on my commuting bike without having to take off the usual bells and gizmos....
It fits on really tightly - even with the weight of a big Maxx D light on it, and adjusts fairly simply so that I was able to get the right position and avoid cables and keep the extra weight tucked in against the headtube so it didn't affect the handling of the bike.
Definitely a worthwhile investment for winter commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PreacherMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Useful.

Posted05 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My drop-bars were getting increasingly crowded with a smartphone holder, lights and horn/siren. By mounting my lights on this, space has been freed up quite nicely.
Be warned, it can be a little fiddly to install but is great in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnR1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good quality mount

Posted07 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Due to the taper on my hybrid bars I have been struggling for sufficient space to mount my light but by mounting this to the stem this has solved the problem. Setting this up was simple and it felt really solid and secure. The mount seems really good quality and I'd thoroughly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful accessory

Posted16 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, enhanced safety
This is a well built, sturdy and very useful accessory. It gives more handlebar space and even better allows you to position lights to avoid cables and GPS/cycle computers to be placed in your eyeline much better which is safer. The unit clamps on very well and mine has only moved once when hitting a very hefty pothole, even then it was not the main clamp but the swing arm that I perhaps hadn't quite tightened enough. No other problems in daily road use on some pretty bumpy roads. So useful I have bought one for both my main and reserve bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisfoggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great way to fit extra lights

Posted28 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, very stable, I've fitted two lights for winter, will use for something else in summer, good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alex0304
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A useful tool

Posted17 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A useful addition to the handlebars and not only. You can mount lights, telephone support, GPS, etc..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimmyUK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really useful and easy to install

Posted02 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Very straight forward to install. Also very versatile as it allows for a variety of mounting positions. Well worth it if you need to free up some extra space on your handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Niles
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good idea but poor execution

Posted13 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been using the Topeak Bar X-Tender for a couple of weeks now. I bought it so I could get a couple of lights as well as bell, cycle computer on my bars and, importantly, to get some extra distance between the lights and the computer as the flash mode was making my computer think I was doing 42mph!
The Bar X-Tender was very easy to fit. And the bar itself is sensibly designed to that so you ensure it points at the right angle (or pendicular to it if you know what I mean) - useful if you're fitting it towards the end of a swept back handle bar. it accommodates two lights with ease and lots of room to spare. And my computer is no longer suffering from interference from the flash mode on the lights. Can't argue with the price either.
There is one thing that lets down what would otherwise be a great piece of kit: the junction between the metal bar and the base can be set at various angles (adding to the versatility of how you position the bar itself) but it can't be tightened to the point that it doesn't wobble. So you end up with the noise of the bar vibrating, and the irritation of your lights wobbling up and down at night too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Icarus
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted18 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've used the extender to put my computer in better line of sight - for me - 17cms ahead of the handlebar. I fitted it a few weeks ago before doing an end-to-end. It has stayed in place and needed no adjustment or further tightening during 10 days and 900+ miles of riding over very varied quality road surfaces. Having the extender made it easier for me to use and read the computer screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>