Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender

Topeak Bar X-Tender

Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Review 1 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclist369
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Recently bought this, it functions as you would expect it to. It seems to be really sturdy, and I haven't had any issues with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCTD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Surprisingly solid and wonderfully adjustable

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
With winter approaching I thought I'd try one of these to ensure that all the extra lights would fit on my commuting bike without having to take off the usual bells and gizmos....
It fits on really tightly - even with the weight of a big Maxx D light on it, and adjusts fairly simply so that I was able to get the right position and avoid cables and keep the extra weight tucked in against the headtube so it didn't affect the handling of the bike.
Definitely a worthwhile investment for winter commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PreacherMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Useful.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My drop-bars were getting increasingly crowded with a smartphone holder, lights and horn/siren. By mounting my lights on this, space has been freed up quite nicely.
Be warned, it can be a little fiddly to install but is great in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnR1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good quality mount

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Due to the taper on my hybrid bars I have been struggling for sufficient space to mount my light but by mounting this to the stem this has solved the problem. Setting this up was simple and it felt really solid and secure. The mount seems really good quality and I'd thoroughly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful accessory

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, enhanced safety
This is a well built, sturdy and very useful accessory. It gives more handlebar space and even better allows you to position lights to avoid cables and GPS/cycle computers to be placed in your eyeline much better which is safer. The unit clamps on very well and mine has only moved once when hitting a very hefty pothole, even then it was not the main clamp but the swing arm that I perhaps hadn't quite tightened enough. No other problems in daily road use on some pretty bumpy roads. So useful I have bought one for both my main and reserve bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisfoggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great way to fit extra lights

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, very stable, I've fitted two lights for winter, will use for something else in summer, good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alex0304
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A useful tool

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A useful addition to the handlebars and not only. You can mount lights, telephone support, GPS, etc..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimmyUK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really useful and easy to install

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Very straight forward to install. Also very versatile as it allows for a variety of mounting positions. Well worth it if you need to free up some extra space on your handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Niles
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good idea but poor execution

PostedOctober 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been using the Topeak Bar X-Tender for a couple of weeks now. I bought it so I could get a couple of lights as well as bell, cycle computer on my bars and, importantly, to get some extra distance between the lights and the computer as the flash mode was making my computer think I was doing 42mph!
The Bar X-Tender was very easy to fit. And the bar itself is sensibly designed to that so you ensure it points at the right angle (or pendicular to it if you know what I mean) - useful if you're fitting it towards the end of a swept back handle bar. it accommodates two lights with ease and lots of room to spare. And my computer is no longer suffering from interference from the flash mode on the lights. Can't argue with the price either.
There is one thing that lets down what would otherwise be a great piece of kit: the junction between the metal bar and the base can be set at various angles (adding to the versatility of how you position the bar itself) but it can't be tightened to the point that it doesn't wobble. So you end up with the noise of the bar vibrating, and the irritation of your lights wobbling up and down at night too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Icarus
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've used the extender to put my computer in better line of sight - for me - 17cms ahead of the handlebar. I fitted it a few weeks ago before doing an end-to-end. It has stayed in place and needed no adjustment or further tightening during 10 days and 900+ miles of riding over very varied quality road surfaces. Having the extender made it easier for me to use and read the computer screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Llewellyn
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Can't cope with London roads

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this product for no more than a few months and the metal bar has sheared through. This is merely from riding London roads.
In theory, and intially, this was a fantastic product, but sadly let down by a lack of durability. Having said that, if our roads were maintained properly it wouldn't have been a problem.
Relocating the computer on the stem has given me back the space I thought this thing would help with. I'm not tempted to replace it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrummerMan
from Leicester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does What It Says On The Tin

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed to mount three front lights on my bike along with Santa's cycle computer present....not enough room on my handlebars.
The Topeak Bar Extender meant I could mount two lights off the stem, leaving my 'bars free.
Rock solid and easy to fit. Excellent stuff.
Buy with confidence.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CYansw
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good option for bar extension for gadgets fanatic

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I have a Specialised Sirius Bike that I use extensively for city commuting and for touring. I have a large list of gadgets and the space in the bar was quite reduce I find the extension and excellent idea. I choose this product because it is quite flexible and allow different configuration and angles. The disadvantages it is not particular easy to install It take some intuition as the instructions are not particular clear. Once I fixed I notice that is no so rigid in its position. Overall I am quite happy with the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty455
from Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than my previous model

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
More flexible, better look & more robust than the previous version I had. Topeak is the one to get if you want lights etc off the bars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grandy
from Lincoln
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

my impression

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very impressed with this product and would recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlashGordon

Improves on the Space Grip Bar Extension!

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: screws loosen over short time when on uneven roads
After putting on a little weight, my Ultra bright 5 LED Cateye rear light (the older model) attached to my seat pole, kept rubbing against my inside legs as I breathlessly pedalled along and eventually would fall into the street behind me (which in a way I was thankful for, as this meant I had a valid reason to stop). Since I had a spare Space Grip Bar Extension I thought I’d try attaching my rear light to this, as surely this would prevent a slightly overweight guy from having to ride bow-legged just to keep a rear light in place! The vertical Space Grip Bar fit I wanted resulted in my rear light flashing toward the ground slightly beyond my rear wheel. There is no adjustment to change the angle from this position. I saw red! So what’s a guy with relaxed muscle [or so I tell my children] to do!!
After searching through Google for a variation of the same item, I found Evans Cycles and there, depicted below the Space Grip Bar Extension along with similar items, was the Topeak Bar X-Tender! Not only does it secure to your handlebars and stem it also secures to your seat pole and can be adjusted for optimum positioning. With the X-Tender Bar positioned vertical, the metal extension bar can be adjusted 90 degrees from the central position to the left/right. And the actual extender which the light is secured to, can also be adjusted for my rear light to be seen from behind. A definite value for money and worth every penny!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rokerroar
from Kingston Upon Thames
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very handy gadget

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, functional
Natty little add on that helps clear the clutter from the handle bars. It allows lights to sit higher and (I believe be more visable). Very easy and straightforward to fix and is also adjustable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alvar
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Gear space solved

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, flexible design
Got more gear than fits on your handlebars, maybe due to their design or you have a lot to mount? Well this could help with the number of mounting choices not only can this be mounted of the handlebars directly but you can mount it off the stem giving a lower level bar ideal for mounting you lights. However it was a little troublesome to fit and the slot in the bar although I can see it being handy can make mounting some gear problematic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HARVEYNICK
from LEEDS
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

ANOTHER TOPEAK GOODIE!!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value
BOUGHT THIS TO USE WITH MY TWIN HEAD RE-CHARGEABLE LIGHTS ON MY FOLDING BIKE AND FIND THE FLEXIBILITY OF THE UNIT TO BE EXCELLENT-POSITIONING IS EASY AS IS ADJUSTMENT.INSTALLATION AND REMOVAL A BREEZE.WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE RUNNING OUT OF HANDLEBAR ROOM FOR LIGHTS/COMPUTERS!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.