Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebars or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender

Topeak Bar X-Tender

Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Review 1 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Essential light bracket

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I needed a bracket to accommodate two lights, not only because I had lack of space on my handlebar but because they needed to be mounted higher so that the beam did not shine directly through the gear and brake cables. This fitted the bill. It is fiddly to fit but with a little patience and experimenting plus a cup of tea everything came into place. It has supported my two lights on the daily commute for two months, and the lights are secured well with no issues. Highly recommended for commuters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevie1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Versatile bar giving extra space

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to enable my front light to be set above my bar bag on my road bike and it did the trick. Also used to house my bell. It's a bit fiddly to put on but it's firm once installed. The bar can be locked in a number of positions across 180 degrees so is very versatile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SamSpecialized
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

neat construction, flexible

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
worthwhile if you want to make more space on your handlebars or if you want to raise the position of a light over any other equipment (such as a handlebar mounted bag) . Easy to assemble and mount, however the diameter of the steel clip cannot be adjusted to fit on smaller handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mudlark

Excellent

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Was more than fit for purpose. Easy to fit. Ideal for carrying phone holder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0rangutan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a very handy device to de-clutter your handlebars.
This is the third one I've had as the first unfortunately broke when carrying a Samsung Galaxy s3 in a waterproof case. I think it wasn't so much the weight, but the way the case attached making the leverage a problem - that and the potholes I didn't avoid.
The second one has been going strong for nearly a year carrying a small light and a Garmin 800. I have just bought a third one for a new bike.
If it were a little stronger then I'd give it five stars.
I have the old stub attached to another bike so I swap the main bar between the bikes without having to detach the whole thing. This third complete x-tender means I now have two bars to swap between three bikes. Quite handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
patrickblain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good, but small

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
The bar extender is easy enough to attach to the bike, and very flexible and versatile, but as I had ordered it in store then collected it, I hadn't realised how small it was. The bar its self has room for maybe 3 things at a push. As my handlebars are too wide to have lights e.t.c. on them, I am current'y using the bar extender for 2 front lights and an air horn, but I would also like to add a computer on, but I don't think there will be enough space (not comfortably anyway, see photos. Also, nothing can go further to the left, as that part of the bar is tapered, so it will slide down). So if you only want it for a couple of things to go on, brilliant, but make sure you know the size of it if you would like to add a few more on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclist369
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

Posted09 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Recently bought this, it functions as you would expect it to. It seems to be really sturdy, and I haven't had any issues with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCTD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Surprisingly solid and wonderfully adjustable

Posted08 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
With winter approaching I thought I'd try one of these to ensure that all the extra lights would fit on my commuting bike without having to take off the usual bells and gizmos....
It fits on really tightly - even with the weight of a big Maxx D light on it, and adjusts fairly simply so that I was able to get the right position and avoid cables and keep the extra weight tucked in against the headtube so it didn't affect the handling of the bike.
Definitely a worthwhile investment for winter commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PreacherMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Useful.

Posted05 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My drop-bars were getting increasingly crowded with a smartphone holder, lights and horn/siren. By mounting my lights on this, space has been freed up quite nicely.
Be warned, it can be a little fiddly to install but is great in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnR1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good quality mount

Posted07 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Due to the taper on my hybrid bars I have been struggling for sufficient space to mount my light but by mounting this to the stem this has solved the problem. Setting this up was simple and it felt really solid and secure. The mount seems really good quality and I'd thoroughly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful accessory

Posted16 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, enhanced safety
This is a well built, sturdy and very useful accessory. It gives more handlebar space and even better allows you to position lights to avoid cables and GPS/cycle computers to be placed in your eyeline much better which is safer. The unit clamps on very well and mine has only moved once when hitting a very hefty pothole, even then it was not the main clamp but the swing arm that I perhaps hadn't quite tightened enough. No other problems in daily road use on some pretty bumpy roads. So useful I have bought one for both my main and reserve bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisfoggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great way to fit extra lights

Posted28 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, very stable, I've fitted two lights for winter, will use for something else in summer, good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alex0304
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A useful tool

Posted17 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A useful addition to the handlebars and not only. You can mount lights, telephone support, GPS, etc..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimmyUK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really useful and easy to install

Posted02 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Very straight forward to install. Also very versatile as it allows for a variety of mounting positions. Well worth it if you need to free up some extra space on your handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Niles
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good idea but poor execution

Posted13 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been using the Topeak Bar X-Tender for a couple of weeks now. I bought it so I could get a couple of lights as well as bell, cycle computer on my bars and, importantly, to get some extra distance between the lights and the computer as the flash mode was making my computer think I was doing 42mph!
The Bar X-Tender was very easy to fit. And the bar itself is sensibly designed to that so you ensure it points at the right angle (or pendicular to it if you know what I mean) - useful if you're fitting it towards the end of a swept back handle bar. it accommodates two lights with ease and lots of room to spare. And my computer is no longer suffering from interference from the flash mode on the lights. Can't argue with the price either.
There is one thing that lets down what would otherwise be a great piece of kit: the junction between the metal bar and the base can be set at various angles (adding to the versatility of how you position the bar itself) but it can't be tightened to the point that it doesn't wobble. So you end up with the noise of the bar vibrating, and the irritation of your lights wobbling up and down at night too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Icarus
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted18 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've used the extender to put my computer in better line of sight - for me - 17cms ahead of the handlebar. I fitted it a few weeks ago before doing an end-to-end. It has stayed in place and needed no adjustment or further tightening during 10 days and 900+ miles of riding over very varied quality road surfaces. Having the extender made it easier for me to use and read the computer screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Llewellyn
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Can't cope with London roads

Posted27 January 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this product for no more than a few months and the metal bar has sheared through. This is merely from riding London roads.
In theory, and intially, this was a fantastic product, but sadly let down by a lack of durability. Having said that, if our roads were maintained properly it wouldn't have been a problem.
Relocating the computer on the stem has given me back the space I thought this thing would help with. I'm not tempted to replace it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrummerMan
from Leicester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does What It Says On The Tin

Posted08 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed to mount three front lights on my bike along with Santa's cycle computer present....not enough room on my handlebars.
The Topeak Bar Extender meant I could mount two lights off the stem, leaving my 'bars free.
Rock solid and easy to fit. Excellent stuff.
Buy with confidence.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CYansw
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good option for bar extension for gadgets fanatic

Posted06 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I have a Specialised Sirius Bike that I use extensively for city commuting and for touring. I have a large list of gadgets and the space in the bar was quite reduce I find the extension and excellent idea. I choose this product because it is quite flexible and allow different configuration and angles. The disadvantages it is not particular easy to install It take some intuition as the instructions are not particular clear. Once I fixed I notice that is no so rigid in its position. Overall I am quite happy with the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Bar X-Tender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty455
from Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than my previous model

Posted21 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
More flexible, better look & more robust than the previous version I had. Topeak is the one to get if you want lights etc off the bars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>