Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender

Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender

Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Review 1 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ShakyBob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pointless

PostedOctober 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive, pointless, sticks out far too much
Once the Rack is fitted (18" Kona Hardtail) this item becomes pointless.
Also it sticks out too far out the back end meaning if like me you have to wheel your bike around on its back wheel it will drag on the ground!
Wish i'd returned it for refund
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shambles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value & effective

PostedApril 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
The mudguard attachment to the MTX pannier rack is not only good value but it also works well in keeping water/mud off the rack/luggage.
It was easy to attach to the rack and all fittings were provided. Once attached, it is totally sturdy and is unlikely to come off even if knocked or the bike is dropped.
Delivery was really quick and overall I cannot fault either the product or Evans Cycles.
In summary, well worth the money and I thoroughly recommend the MTX Beamrack DeFender.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

luggage protection

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Fairly easy to fit to beam; will protect bag from water but doesn't add much to rider protection with the beam in place. A bit OTT unless you are a serious tourer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daddyslaphead
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth the very modest price

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to fit, it actually works
Cons: there are no cons!
Does exactly what it says - prevents water/mud being flicked up so no line up the middle of your back plus the bag is prevented from getting muddy. as well. This last point is an important one since the bag is difficult to clean.
The only minor negative was that my Defender was slightly deformed when received. The blade part of the product was a little warped. I gently heated it over a gas hob and bent it back into shape then ran it under cold water to set the shape as it should be. It took no longer than a minute to rectify so I'm not going to whinge about it!
The Defender is dead easy to fit using the two cap head bolts supplied and takes no more than a minute but note you will need an Allen key. There is a cut-out in the top of the blade which engages in an extension on the end of the beam rack. The cut-out is not completely clear. You need to knock out a small plastic tab which is formed in such a way as to make this easy to do. The combination of the two bolts and the engagement of the extension ensures a good, secure fit with no movement.
First class service from Evans too. Fast and good communications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MJCDEV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Works well, looks neat and is relatively easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
123DR
from united Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very good product

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a very good mudgaurd considering what and were it goes . It is supprisingly effective and keeps nearly all of the mud and water off you as you cycle along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
potterman
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent purchase, neat ,tidy and easy to attach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GR8FUNGUY
from Basingstoke
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well!

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Defender is a great name for this product, no fear of getting a wet back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saintspaul
from Southampton
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Purchase

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very neat mud guard, goes well with rack, very cheap, great delivery service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woolie
from Southampton
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks good and stops water and mud splashing up your back when fixed to the beam rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak MTX Beamrack Defender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KNIFEMASTER
from Swansea
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Excellent Quality

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
I purchased this to go on the topeak rack - its sturdy and well made like all of the topeak stuff - fitted in minutes, it snaps home reasurringly and has securing screws for a firm no wobbles fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.