Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads

Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Review 1 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good product for a decent price

Posted27 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I needed new brake pads for my disk brakes. These were the only fitting option of-the-shelf. The price was decent, so I bought them. They been working well, so I'm happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

High sintered and good bite when applied

Posted01 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good performance
Cons: noisy until bedded in
These higher than standard sintered pads bite onto the disc better than my OE ones, they are particularly good in the wet. Drawback was squeeling for the first 20 miles until they bedded in despite a thorough clean / degrease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Replaced under warranty

Posted11 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
After using my brand new trek caliber 9 I had noticed the front brake was useless compared to my pals. So I took the bike back to the store . The engineer had noticed the brake pads were contaminated and suggested I get new pads. The bike had only been used for 4 hour so he agreed to change FOC. Top customer service and changed parts like for like. Perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

work well

Posted26 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
work well in rain or shine (though, sadly I've had little chance to try
them out in "shine" mode at the moment...).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

The end of squeaky breaking

Posted08 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product to avoid those annoying squeaks downhill. Came a part of a prompt service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Slam the brakes on and you stop very quickly!

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Slam the brakes on and you stop very quickly! A much improved set of pads compared to my original set. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

They are Brake Pads!!! and they stop my bike

Posted19 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
A bit squealy at first, but seemed to have clamed down now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

friends bike

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
fitted these along with few set to a friends bike he is happy with the improved braking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Oh, so these were fitted!

Posted02 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I didn't know I had purchased these. I had a service and the brake pads were replaced, so these are what must have been used. All I can say is that they work, and thanks to expert fitting my wheels don't make any squeaks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

nice

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted at annual service after approx 3k London commuter miles. Factory fit shimano pads worn out. Recommended by service technician, does the job quietly and smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

They seem to work well without wearing out

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good quality pads, seem to resist wearing out too quickly. Do the job perfectly well even in bad weather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pads

Posted08 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Strong pads fitted by the helpful people in the Liverpool store
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good for the price

Posted09 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
these are great for the price and offer reasonable stopping power even in the wet but there are better pads out there like the nuke proofs ones, but if you want some cheap pads then these are great, no squeel either and mine have only just worn to nothing after 2500miles of punishment!!!! they do last a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Aberdeen
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Spot on replacement parts

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent disc replacement parts. Easy to fit using the enclosed instructions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Deore BRM515 Cable Actuated Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Oxford
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Learning experience

Posted06 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Evans service is good and the product is good.
The learning experiences are;
+ what pads fit my brakes (the brake model isn't stamped on the brakes nor in the owners 'manual')
+ what relevance of resin performances (as these pads were only available in one resin)
+ the pads don't come with another split pin. No problem to re-use them, but there will come a time...
+ the pads tend to wear more at the top and less at the visible end. This is understandable as the spring pinches from the top, but you need to take them out.
+ slacken off the 'pad in' screws at both sides then readjust so the disc runs cleanly through the new pads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.