Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Maintenance Kit

Brooks Maintenance Kit

Includes; 1 x Proofide leather dressing, 1 x Cotton application cloth, 1 x Spanner and a maintenance guide to provide a long life to your Brooks saddle
Overall rating:
3.938 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Review 1 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dahon7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential piece of kit for a Brooks saddle

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Brooks maintenance kit is essential to correctly maintain a Brooks saddle and is quality, complete and value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
walker123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

nice bit of kit.

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Goes very well with my brooks saddle.
Does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
celchapman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good but small tin of Proofide and awkward spanner

Posted18 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this as a first time brooks buyer so wanted the right stuff to look after it, the cloth is nice enough but is just cotton and nothing too special. The proofide is a must as far as I'm aware but be warned it's a smaller tin in this than the stand-alone one. And the spanner is difficult to use but i think this is due to the placement of the nut and the spanner design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tkzkn
Country:Turkey

this product is good

Posted07 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: small leather dressing
perfect for brooks b17, cloth has a good quality, but leather dressing is bit small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rulloclash
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great seller, fast shipping, Great product. High recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swede70
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

Posted23 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have a Brooks team pro saddle and Brooks bar end tapes wich need maintenace now and then... this is it for the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Colly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Essential maintenance

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's probably too early to say how good or useful this product is as I have only just received my new Brooks B17 saddle. However, top marks to Brooks for the quality and details even in something this simple. They do a great job of making you loyal to the brand, and care about your saddle. I've been applying Proofide for a few weeks and the tin's only half empty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
takuosaka
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It looks good

Posted21 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
It looks good.But I haven't used it yet.
It will take a few months to make the leather seet soft and smooth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fredblogger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor value for money

Posted08 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Not until I bought this along with my saddle did I discover that:
a) the tin of Proofide is only 25 g compared to the 40 g you get if you by the stuff on its own
b) for the extra money, you get a spanner which it turns out you don't need as the saddle is supplied with one anyway!
OK, you do get a cloth that's smarter than a jay cloth, but then it's best (and easier) to apply the proofide with your fingers than a cloth anyway!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
garrenm
from Shonan, Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lovely

Posted30 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very traditional and functional, with good instructions in multiple languages, BUT you do get an adjusting spanner with Brooks saddles, and the tin of Proofide is small in this set. However, it is a nice set and well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Democritus
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must have for Brooks saddles

Posted20 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The proofide cream is really helpful to break in the leather. Go for this kit only if the polishing cloth is of value. Else just get the proofide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brooks
from Northumberland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A quality maintenance kit & a perfect accessory for the Brooks saddles. The wax dressing certainly made my saddle more comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lejog11
from cheltenham
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

profide

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good product absolute nessesity with brooks saddle - only downfall is you end up with 2 spanners to adjust seat with if you buy a new saddle as well- works well to help saddle break in.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snewie

Brooks Maintenance Kit

Posted03 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I recently bought a Pashley bicycle which has a Brooks saddle and was informed that I could only use Proofide leather dressing on it.
I quickly searched available suppliers of this product and found that Evans did it, together with an application cloth, spanner and guide, at a much lower price than the others. Their website was very easy to use and it arrived very promptly anabling me put on the first application before my second excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Schkrumble
from Paris, France
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Unnecessary

Posted02 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This maintenance-kit contains :
- a spanner (wich is provided with every Brooks saddle)
- a piece of cloth (wich is only... a piece of cloth !)
- a small box of Proofide cream (wich is very very small !)
For a lower price, I'd rather purchase of a larger box of Proofide cream
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Maintenance Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from cornwall
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

worth it!

Posted18 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
really nicely presented kit, exactly what you need for a new brookes
clear instructions and you even get a nice wee tool (great for the girlfriend!)
would recommend for anyone with a brookes saddle
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.