Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Flyer Saddle

Brooks Flyer Saddle

Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 36(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casperdog
from West Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Elegant beauty

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, style statement
Cons: Heavy
I have a hybrid which is mainly for tarmac and lighter trail riding in West Sussex. I wanted a saddle to cope with the UK and its atrocious roads, so the Brooks Flyer was a firm contender; I was attracted by its looks and it adds to the bikes look 100%. I was concerned that the Flyer model might look too clunky on a modern hybrid, but it doesn't. I have the honey coloured version and it looks brilliant.
Cost is a factor, but given that the saddle could last a lifetime, surely this is not an issue? I was well pleased with the presentation of the item and it took minutes to fix to a modern seat post.
I have only done about 50 or 60 miles so far so its not ''broken in'', this seems to be part of the Brooks folklore. However no pain or discomfort and its been a great addition to my Kona Dewdeluxe, which is my one and only bicycle. Ten out of ten from me.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jingsmonty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Nice saddle

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This saddle is very comfortable so far-I haven't used it for long yet, but first impressions are good. I have it on a 2014 Croix de fer, I didn't fancy the razor blade saddle that came with it! The honey leather complements the bike well, not dissimilar to the original one, which I haven't used at all. I am not an experienced cyclist, I have recently started cycling (after over 20 years) again, so as a lardy 40 something, this saddle suits me fine. It is quite pricey and is pretty heavy, but that isn't an issue for me, comfort is the main thing, just like the Croix de fer itself. The springs are very strong (they don't really compress if you push them by hand, but they are a very effective way of coping with rough roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

long distance comfort : highly recommended

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
This is the traditional Brooks B17 saddle equipped with rear springs.
These are very stiff and have no effect on routine pedalling as there is no sensation of bouncing up and down. But the springs smooth out the small shocks of our pretty awful roads.
When broken in which can take several hundred miles the effect is like riding on wide touring type tyres and provide lasting comfort for longer rides at the expense of the extra weight of the saddle which in my opinion is well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

A specialist product, for a special ride

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this to replace a 16-year-old honey saddle for my old Pashley. Be warned though, these models won't fit the old saddle mount and that's where the trouble lay. It's too soon to say if this will mould to my contours but I'm treating it as royally as the backside that goes on it, so let's hope it rewards like the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kingoftincline
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Probably the best saddle you'll ever own.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this saddle after seeing them being made on How Its Made on Quest one night. Yes there is a breaking in period but I found it to be only about 50 miles before it finds your shape. I bought a tin of Proofide with it to treat it. On first fitting I had to tilt the nose up slightly as you tend to slide forwards on it, after 50 miles I then set the seat parallel and no more sliding problems. It's fitted to a Specialized 29er which I use for riding around fields checking livestock and general mountain biking. The springs on the saddle make a huge difference when on rough terrain compared to a standard saddle, making it a great investment.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rogerofwestray
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

High quality product

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This is a good quality saddle with a fine leather finish. I haven't done enough miles yet to gauge how comfortable it will become but it is quite comfortable already. My only gripe at the moment is that the surface is so highly polished that my backside slides around quite a bit!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardL
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Simply the best for comfort

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: comparatively heavy
Great saddle for an 18 mile (roundtrip) daily commute. Comfortable first time and getting even better day by day. I have used a number of gel based saddles over the last 15 years and would not go back to these. It may not be lightweight, but that's a sacrifice worth making. Feels like it will be good for a decade or more. Don't forget to order the Proofide.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotlund
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good all round seat.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I bought this in Jan 2012 but didn't want to say anything until I had time to break it in and clock up some mileage. So over the last year and a half I have cranked out over 4700 miles on it and all I can say is my bum is very appreciative if it. I have the saddle on my GT mountain bike hard tail which I use for Road, Touring and Mountain biking, so the saddle is very versatile IMO. After doing an 11 hour tour on it last year my bum wasn't sore at all and it even handles the high impact mountain bike rides that I do.
If there was a downside, and there isn't IMO, you have to go through the break in process but I would class that as part and parcel of buying the saddle in the first place. Besides that's not such a big deal, since I ride every weekend it didn't take long to do, and over time this saddle only gets better.
I would also recommend, like everyone else, that you get the brooks proofide cream which helps with maintaining and breaking in the saddle in the first place. Although this saddle is heavy, nearly 900g, I wouldn't say that was a bad thing given the situations that I use the saddle in, but if your looking for a light aerodynamic saddle, I would say your looking in the wrong place.
Overall this is a great saddle which given that it will last a life time, and that fact I got it for £54, using Evans price promise, makes it great value for money and a worthy purchase.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent saddle

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After many years I recently returned to some recreational cycling . A couple of weeks of using my new bike left my 'sit bones' bruised and tender. A bit of research soon came up with the attraction of a replacement saddle, leather seemed a good alternative. The Brooks was clearly the most impressive from reviews by experienced riders and I settled on the Flyer for some added suspension.
The price from Evans is very competitive; it is a reputable company with knowledgable and very helpful staff, so I was not tempted to buy anywhere else.
Even straight out of the box the saddle has been extremely comfortable and apparently from other reviews will only get better over time. My 'sit bones' are now fully healed after a couple of weeks. The saddle also looks great.
Don't get misled into looking for alternatives to the Proofide. It is made specifically for the job and after a few applications (including underneath initially as recommended) I have not made much of a dent in the block; I can see that this will last many years.
The cover for the saddle is 'medium' (sorted out for me by Evans).
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shreedhar
Country:India
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Saddle

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was thinking of buying Brooks saddle for a long time before actually going for it. (Evans 20% off RRP coupon also helped in taking the final decision!) The product was delivered in two weeks time (to Bangalore, India) and I put it on my Bergamont horizon bike immediately. It fitted the cycle perfectly and looked the perfect part of the cycle. By now, I have used it for about 500Km (went for a 200Km Brevet ride) and I experienced no real bad experience and I can actually feel that the saddle is getting better. I feel that its a good investment and would recommend it to every serious biker.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gabra1
Country:Malaysia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the second Brooks Flyer Saddle bought recently for my new bicycle. I have had one on my older bike for more than an year. Undoubtedly the best saddle I have had so far. I like the quality of the product plus the comfort. It is so comfortable that I find I do not have to wear padded riding pants anymore!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SanJay
Country:India
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Best Ever

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
True to the words, Quality and Comfort excellent. Easy to install as well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The classic "B17 Standard Saddle" + Springs !

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, adds suspension to your bike !
After my 25-year-old Brooks B17 saddle broke, my first thought was simply to replace it with an identical one. However, after looking at the complete range of saddles offered by Brooks, and after some research etc., I began to look with interest at the B17 Flyer saddle instead. It has exactly the same seat or top as the Standard B17 saddle - which I was used to - but also comes with suspension springs. (Surprisingly, the Flyer's extra workmanship and springs, come at no extra cost over the non-sprung version ! ) I used to think my old saddle was comfortable, yet my new FLYER version with the springs - despite not having been broken-in properly - already seems even more comfortable! If you're over say 35, I'd say forget the 'B17 Standard' and go for the Flyer instead - it's superb, and it looks cool too when mounted on the bike. The saddle springs are discrete and don't spoil the stylish looks of the saddle. I went for the Honey coloured one, like my old saddle, and it looks great.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silvestrs
Country:Latvia
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Probably the best saddle for touring

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, lasts forever
Cons: springs are noisy sometimes
This saddle is great for touring. What is so brilliant about it is that it takes it's owners bottom shape. It becomes a custom fit! So only 60 euros for a custom saddle is definitely a good value.
What makes it so comfortable? simple- you don't have to sit on your meat, but bones (unlike on most other saddles) - that makes it easier to travel long distances. Haven't had better saddle.
The springs are really firm and not bouncy at all - takes away all those little bumps on the road but you don't jump up and down when pedaling. Only downside of the springs is that they tend to make noises now and then.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rfa31
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort +

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable!
This is a very comfortable saddle. Get help from a "professional" or bike mechanic to make sure you put it in the right spot.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pat43
Country:France
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The saddle is shaping up well after about 100 kilometres and I am pleased with it in all respects. However for the price I feel that the small tin of Proofide could have been included or at least I should have been advised to purchase it as the same time as the saddle thereby saving about £5.00 postage and packing and having the Proofide to apply right from the start.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woply
from Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brooks Flyer saddle

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
After riding approx. 150 km the saddle has adjusted for my riding style perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SydCommuter
from Sydney
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable old style saddle

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
After 500km with the honey coloured Flyer saddle on my new blue Surly LHT, I found that:
- It's heavy but oozes with quality
- It is quite comfortable for a new leather saddle if adjusted properly)
- The colour darkened a fair bit --> Looking better
- It squeaks --> Not bothering me much but it does squeak
All in all, I am one happy buyer and would recommend this product to other tourers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdventureBen
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Saddle

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great saddle, Although next time I would go for the model without the springs.
The springs seem to squeek, which i'm hoping is minor and will go away once broken in a bit more but currently it's very annoying.
The breaking in period is apparently the worst part about owning a brooks, and after switching from a gel saddle it was like sitting on stone, but now it's much better after putting about 120miles on it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks Flyer Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Murthy
from Bangalore, India
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic touring saddle

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Hello All,
Recently I brought a Surly Long Haul Trucker and with a friend's recommendation brought the Brooks Flyer, it has been an amazing saddle. Have done more than 2000km on it in the first month and have found it very comfortable. I leave in India and the roads here are very bad and some times there is no road at all, riding with this saddle has been the best experience for me ever since I took up cycling about 3 years ago. From December 16 to December 23 I went on a cycling touring which included some of the worst roads one could imagine, just because of the saddle I found the ride very comfortable. The sprint action works flawlessly and gives you that ultimate comfort ride which brooks is renowned for. Initial 500km were a bit uncomfortable as the saddle was not yet "Broken in" now it is perfectly set to my requirement and I enjoy every ride on it. On one of the days during the tour I rode 90km without the padded shorts and still found the saddle comfortable. I would highly recommend this saddle to any one which does touring, also it would be a good choice for places where the roads are very bad as the spring action absorbs a lot of the shocks the roads throw.
Cheers
Murthy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>