Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle

Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclingTortoise
Country:Singapore
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, but leather appears marred

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, classic looks
Cons: quality could be better
Was looking forward to mounting this saddle on my wife's bicycle, but a little taken aback by the odd grain (rough texture) running across the saddle at several points. Surface appears to be full of imperfections -- unlike an earlier Brooks that I ordered for myself (that was delivered with a really smooth, regular surface). Somewhat disappointed. Fortunately, my wife is very happy with the classic looks and the comfortable ride.
The saddle did not come with a rain cover. You might want to order a saddle cover if you ride in the rain frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RideFree
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Best saddle I've tried so far

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very firm
I decided to give this saddle a go as I've heard so much about how good it is. Well, it's true. It is hard but not comfortable. This is the first out of about 5 saddles I've tried, including gel ones, that has not resulted in a numb butt, so I'm really pleased. Am now thinking of getting a second one for my other bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Singapore
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The best saddle I've ever purchased!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I'm a humble owner of 10 bicycles ranging from roadies to foldies. Sampled many saddles over my years of cycling. So far, none surpasses the Brooks. Some say it will take a few weeks or even months to negotiate with the curvatures of my butt. I thought my butt would be seasoned by it instead. On the contrary, I did not feel any butt ache or pain since my first ride on it. Simply love the Brooks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bisletci
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent for tourer

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this is the best saddle i have ever use. this is the most suitable chose for the tourer. i am from turkey thanks
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Theadora
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Best saddle ever

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I can say for sure that this saddle is perfect! I ride it only for100 km and it already fits to my body! from the first time there was no pain for me! great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclelady6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Smart, comfortable saddle

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After years of contemplating a Brooks I decided to take the plunge and order one for my touring bike. The saddle is a real work of craftmanship and looks very smart in black. You definitely have to be a bit patient with a Brooks as it is a pretty 'firm' ride when you first get on it. However, I am sure that after a few months of use it will be wonderful because even now after only a few rides it feels ok. It is very good in hot weather as the leather breathes. Brooks are expensive but if you look after the saddle properly according to the instructions it will last a lifetime so it actually represents amazing value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fiifs
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

One word: "Droooolll"

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After putting up with the stock saddle on my carbon roadie (which caused pain after 15km in padded shorts), I did a lot of research and finally settled on the Brooks. And SO glad I did. It came in a beautiful cardboard box (very quickly, especially UK to AU, I might add) and was passed around at my workplace to be admired and pushed in disbelief at how "hard" it was.
Not only does it look amazing (and it does suit a modern carbon roadie, I kid you not!) but it feels beyond amazing! I spent some time rubbing Proofide into it (a couple of times over a day or so), put it on the bike and rode. First ride was 30km, without padding in the shorts and I had NO pain. The saddle didn't even feel hard on the bike, and I'm NOT light (85kg or so). Also, because the design encourages you to tuck in your hips (to sit on your seat bones, it's made to support them), the result is (1) more toned abs and (2) less pressure on the hands. The S version is shorter and wider than the normal version, which is great the women with wider seat bones (not NOT hips, as such).
If you buy this (and you should), be prepared to tinker VERY slightly with the tilt. I find mine is slightly tilted forward from level. At approx AU$90, it is a bargain, given you would expect to spend that on just ONE "good" pair of padded shorts. Forget the lycra, you can ride in almost anything (inc gym shorts, maybe not jeans) and you will be comfortable! The most amazing thing about this saddle is that it will just get better and better. If you're umming and ahhhing, just buy one and persevere! I'd be surprised if you regretted it (you could always sell it second hand and get your money back anyway, especially in Aus).
PS Just bought a standard for my brother as well :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MewsHawk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect with your Brompton

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Not the lightest but a great looking saddle and once you've broken it in (which, be warned, takes about 100 miles of riding and a couple of polishing sessions) supremely comfortable. This one fits the Brompton perfectly and is a great look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Darling
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
expensive but good quality and comfortable product from Brook
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magmag
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brooks B17 women's saddle

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Still breaking my fab Brooks saddle in but love the black leather look, shorter women's size and overall fit. It's a joy to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elefantina
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saddle?!?

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've just finished building my own road bike. The crown ontop the piece was my New saddle. Speaking to a wide range of cyclists one word kept appearing..."brooks". I purchased the B17std and cannot understand any cyclist that hasn't made the same choice. I am yet to add any wax and the saddle is already (3x 15mile commutes) a complete dream. No problems with saddle sores either during or after rides and i don't dread the first few minutes of a ride as i have done with 'newer', synthetic saddles. 5stars is a genuine minimum, This is an investment worth every penny!!!
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whit
from cambridge
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good product, excellent service, fast delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirby
from Hamphsire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Brooks saddle to the rescue

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am due to head off on a six month cycling trip. One practice trip and 60 miles in I was in tears due to the torture from a previous saddle. I was loaned a Brooks saddle and finished the ride in comfort. If this wasn't enough I was highly recommended this saddle by lots of fellow cyclists. I was advised it needed a good 400 miles to wear it in but on the first outting it was comfy and there were no tears!! Evans provided a competitve price and excellent service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinkpal
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Big surprise

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I was having problems with my gel saddle being uncomfortable so was looking for another saddle. Brooks had been mentioned to me by several people so I thought I would go for it. When it arrived I was all set for returning it as when you wrapped your knuckles on it it was like hitting a brick wall, there was just no way this saddle could be comfortable. For several reasons I didn't get round to sending it back in time so decided to give it a go. Wow!! it was so comfortable and if it feels like this now what will it be like when it's moulded to me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks B17 STD S Ladies Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bantam
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

You need to persevere!

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
This saddle was recommended by several people in my cycling club and was reviewed in the CTC magazine as one of the best saddles for high mileage riders. For the first few rides it was like sitting on a house brick, especially on back to back rides but the saddle is now starting to soften and is certainly much more comfortable that any pervious saddles I've had on my solo bike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.