Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD Saddle

Brooks B17 STD Saddle

Overall rating:
4.814 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 199 reviews
5 Stars
167
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
197 out of 199Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Sheer quality

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The moment a new Brooks saddle arrives the quality and care is evident. The packaging alone is fantastic, with a genuinely interesting newspaper included, plus spanner to adjust tension in the saddle. The saddle itself is a beautiful object, very easy to fit and adjust, and I'd say ignore all those folks who reckon Brooks saddles are just too hard to start with. Yeah, it's hard, but it's comfortable straight out of the box for me. Already done 65 miles on it without any concerns for my behind. Make sure to buy some Proofide to prepare before riding and keep the saddle in good shape as it begins to relax.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SUPERB Saddle

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Having had to replace a broken Brooks B17 standard saddle (which was about 25 years), my first thought of course, was to replace it with an identical 'B17' saddle. However, after some browsing and research - to my initial surprise - I began to look at the Brooks FLYER instead ... this is the same saddle as the standard B17 but with a few springs added at virtually no extra cost !
I bought the honey coloured one, the same as my old saddle, and although it's not had that much use yet or wearing in, I'd say that it's even more comfortable that my old saddle!
If you're say over 35 - or at any rate, not a youth anymore - the B17 "FLYER" deserves some serious consideration. In my youth, the thought of 'un-cool' springs might have put me off, but the saddle's a dream to sit on !
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CedricInOz
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

A good saddle thats getting better with each ride

Posted11 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I had been thinking about getting a Brooks saddle for some time. My old saddle was good but Brooks have such a legendary name I thought that I should try one. I was buying some other products from Evans online so decided to add the saddle to the list. I gave it a good rub of Proofide each night for a week before I fitted it. On the first ride it felt a little firm but not uncomfortable. On each subsequent ride it got better and better. I am starting to understand why these saddles have such a great reputation. I am a bike tourer so I spend many hours in the saddle everyday for weeks on end. I know this saddle will get better and better with each ride. My tip is to buy one and see.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobboRob
from London & Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth it

Posted04 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was not 100% convinced that paying over £50 for a saddle could make sense - especially one which looks like it was made in World War One.
However this saddle has doubled the distance I can do in comfort and I am looking forward to years of use.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raleigh84
from Brighton
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mmmmm comfy

Posted07 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
‘Don’t get a Brooks saddle’, one friend told me, ‘the two years of pain you’ll have to endure before it actually becomes comfortable will scar you for life.’ Clearly he had never come within ten yards of one. It was comfortable from day one, and a totally different experience from any saddle I’ve used before. The smooth leather surface means there’s less resistance than with softer fabrics, and so the first thing I noticed was that my riding actually felt more efficient. It also keeps your bum amazingly cool since there are ventilation holes drilled through that allow air circulation. The profile is great if you have dropped handle bars, since you can just move back slightly on the seat and the upwards curvature helps to tilt your hips forward so you’re not just leaning from the lower back. And if all this isn’t enough, just look at it… sexy!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilCrossTrail
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tried and Tested

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
The fact that this design hasn't changed for over 100 years and is the go to choice for many cyclists riding across continents or other such extreme distances shows that this saddle is one to seriously consider.
It takes more effort than a regular saddle, such as a breaking in period, treating it with leather oil and ideally keeping it out of the rain but I feel like it's worth it.
This is my second B17, I have never found the breaking in time particularly long, maybe 100 miles - after that it's very comfortable without the need for padded cycling shorts.
I personally like the look of the saddle but it is larger than most other saddles and can look at odds with some of modern slimline bikes.
A major plus is that if you look after this saddle then it will give you years of pain free riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stoneboy19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is a thing of beauty!

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Even in the packaging, the quality and aesthetics of this saddle can be easily appreciated. On the bike it looks great too.
Reading through previous reviews, most people have had no problems "breaking in" a new saddle. This appears to be some kind of myth that a period of suffering has to be endured before a level of comfort is reached. The first day I did my normal commute, second day 40 miles with no problems and great comfort since. Perhaps if your back side is used to a saddle you will get on with it easier than someone who has not ridden for a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slated
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the solution to my hurty bits.

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
On opening the box, I was surprised and just a tad alarmed at the hardness of the leather...(knock on a wooden surface and you get the general idea of how hard this is.) So I was begining to feel I would have the same old issues with discomfort that I had experienced on a few other saddles before this one.
How wrong I was..right from the outset, the saddle was far more comfortable than the stock saddle fitted to my Trek Domane 5 series (a Bontrager Affinity 3). I think the stock saddle simply didn't suit me or my riding position, thus causing unbearable pressure on my soft bits, which made rides that exceeded 2 hrs in duration, rather lacking in enjoyment.
This saddle is wider by a whopping 40mm, so it accomodates my sit bones well, and is firm enough to support my weight in the places it should. There are no humps, waves, cut-outs etc because they are simply not needed. The quality is superb, and (although I know this is very subjective) I think it looks the bees knees on my bike.
Now to the percieved down sides...and for some, they would be considerable. It is heavier than my stock saddle by 300 grammes, so in effect, double the weight of the original unit. If you are at the peak of your cycling prowess and can make no gains in performance by improving technique, fitness and therefore efficiency, then shaving the grammes is the way you will be looking to go to help squeeze a few extra time savings on your rides. I am certainly not any of the above, and feel that the extra comfort given to me by this saddle will actually help me to concentrate more on the ride and my technique, rather than trying to get a position that prevents pain and suffering (not to mention the dangers of disfunction that can be the result of constant pressure on your soft bits). To be honest, the weight difference is the equivalent of 5 energy bars or 10 packets of crisps, so not sufficient to get me worried about whether I will be able to cart it up the next hill.
The saddle is slippery when first using it, but this resolves pretty quickly (after a couple of hours in the saddle)..I suspect that the hardness will relent as the leather fibres loosten a bit, and in this time, it will have formed itself to your sit bones, resulting in a 'sit and forget it' comfy saddle that is bespoke to you. I will report back on this after the summer season and some longer sportive rides.
In conclusion, a saddle that for most of us mere mortals, will give a lifetime of service, will be superbly comfortable, and looks good to boot. Although it probably won't appeal much to the elite athletes amongst you.
I am very, very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
M401a
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Old school

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
It’s a Brooks leather saddle, and while they’re now over-packaged and Brooks are over-playing all this old, British design heritage nonsense, they’re still a very good saddle.
I have these on my other two bikes and when I bought another bike I bought another B17 as soon as I could afford it. Nothing comes close to the comfort you get from a broken in leather saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leodis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very comfortable and great value

Posted25 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking for a saddle for my Dawes Galaxy and this was a perfect match. I had read that a Brooks needs to be broken in, but I found it to be very comfortable from the first ride. The only downside being that for the first hour the surface was very smooth, but that wasn't really an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
abdul1996
Country:Malaysia
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product makes me comfortable when i cycled

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable and relax when cycling. It's also cheaper then other website. Thank you evanscycle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DDubbleya1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Once into Brooks saddles, there's no going back.

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've now got Brooks B17 saddles on 4 bikes & now can't live with any other make. I've just done a 2 week tour using one (550Km) without any saddle soreness. They say they mould to your shape but I wonder if it's the other way round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CycleLdn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great style and comfort

Posted16 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was looking for a comfortable saddle and bought the Brooks B17 following generally very positive reviews read on line. I am using it on a steel hybrid bike converted into a light touring bike and it works very well both in terms of comfort and look. It is heavier than my previous saddle but this is not a concern for my intended use and what I am looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Psilos
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

For my body it's good

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This saddle makes exactly that i was expected,i hope for long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humptydumpty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

style & comfort

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
What more can you ask for classic style and comfort.
Brooks saddles have a reputation for needing a breaking in period but this is my second B17 and I treated them both straight from the box with brooks own proofhide, three coats underside and two on top over a 24 hour period and then fitted them to my bikes and have found them to be comfortable with no breaking in period and just getting better the more I ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChsCyprus
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very high quality, great looks, very comfortable

Posted28 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Quality build product, classic looks but modern feel, very comfortable saddle like no other...I've been riding for 7 years I have used 3 different saddles but none can compare with the experience of this brook saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonboy78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Total quality as expected

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, freaking awesome
Have wanted one of these since seeing a bike building documentary a couple of years ago which featured brooks saddles. Went for a darker brown colour which is top banana. I've read of a 'breaking in' period where it's supposed to be a bit hard and uncomfortable but then gets better as you lay down the miles but I've got to say that it was immediately extremely comfortable and 100 or so miles on its already showing signs of getting better and better. If this doesn't last a life time (and I think it just might!) I will deffo get another. Would also recommend to Proofide to help protect saddle and keep leather supple. Best bit of my bike by far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sab0102
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a legend for a reason.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as the touring saddle of choice.
It reeks of quality and craftsmanship - beautiful
Have only done 50 miles on it so far and it presented no problems during those miles.
People talk of a breaking in period but as I've a very old Brooks secondhand saddle on my other bike, I have to say that I didn't suffer on it at all. Can't wait to test it after a week of daily distances to see if it fully lives up to it's reputation. I've no doubt it will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

BROOKS B17

Posted13 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been thinking of buying one for some time , I've now taken the plunge , only done 50km but its getting there comfort is not far off I think, looks nice on my touring bike, treated with the brooks treatment a few times before using, its looking like a long term relationship !!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrimWilo
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Brooks quality

Posted14 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable from the outset, this was a replacement seat for one that was stolen from under the noses of the security at University College London. The quality of the leather is excellent, the seat itself is well made and comfortable. The order from Evans was prompt and efficient
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>