Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD Saddle

Brooks B17 STD Saddle

Overall rating:
4.809 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 194 reviews
5 Stars
162
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
192 out of 194(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Sheer quality

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The moment a new Brooks saddle arrives the quality and care is evident. The packaging alone is fantastic, with a genuinely interesting newspaper included, plus spanner to adjust tension in the saddle. The saddle itself is a beautiful object, very easy to fit and adjust, and I'd say ignore all those folks who reckon Brooks saddles are just too hard to start with. Yeah, it's hard, but it's comfortable straight out of the box for me. Already done 65 miles on it without any concerns for my behind. Make sure to buy some Proofide to prepare before riding and keep the saddle in good shape as it begins to relax.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SUPERB Saddle

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Having had to replace a broken Brooks B17 standard saddle (which was about 25 years), my first thought of course, was to replace it with an identical 'B17' saddle. However, after some browsing and research - to my initial surprise - I began to look at the Brooks FLYER instead ... this is the same saddle as the standard B17 but with a few springs added at virtually no extra cost !
I bought the honey coloured one, the same as my old saddle, and although it's not had that much use yet or wearing in, I'd say that it's even more comfortable that my old saddle!
If you're say over 35 - or at any rate, not a youth anymore - the B17 "FLYER" deserves some serious consideration. In my youth, the thought of 'un-cool' springs might have put me off, but the saddle's a dream to sit on !
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CedricInOz
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

A good saddle thats getting better with each ride

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I had been thinking about getting a Brooks saddle for some time. My old saddle was good but Brooks have such a legendary name I thought that I should try one. I was buying some other products from Evans online so decided to add the saddle to the list. I gave it a good rub of Proofide each night for a week before I fitted it. On the first ride it felt a little firm but not uncomfortable. On each subsequent ride it got better and better. I am starting to understand why these saddles have such a great reputation. I am a bike tourer so I spend many hours in the saddle everyday for weeks on end. I know this saddle will get better and better with each ride. My tip is to buy one and see.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobboRob
from London & Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth it

PostedJune 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was not 100% convinced that paying over £50 for a saddle could make sense - especially one which looks like it was made in World War One.
However this saddle has doubled the distance I can do in comfort and I am looking forward to years of use.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raleigh84
from Brighton
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mmmmm comfy

PostedMay 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
‘Don’t get a Brooks saddle’, one friend told me, ‘the two years of pain you’ll have to endure before it actually becomes comfortable will scar you for life.’ Clearly he had never come within ten yards of one. It was comfortable from day one, and a totally different experience from any saddle I’ve used before. The smooth leather surface means there’s less resistance than with softer fabrics, and so the first thing I noticed was that my riding actually felt more efficient. It also keeps your bum amazingly cool since there are ventilation holes drilled through that allow air circulation. The profile is great if you have dropped handle bars, since you can just move back slightly on the seat and the upwards curvature helps to tilt your hips forward so you’re not just leaning from the lower back. And if all this isn’t enough, just look at it… sexy!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
abdul1996
Country:Malaysia
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product makes me comfortable when i cycled

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable and relax when cycling. It's also cheaper then other website. Thank you evanscycle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DDubbleya1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Once into Brooks saddles, there's no going back.

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've now got Brooks B17 saddles on 4 bikes & now can't live with any other make. I've just done a 2 week tour using one (550Km) without any saddle soreness. They say they mould to your shape but I wonder if it's the other way round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CycleLdn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great style and comfort

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was looking for a comfortable saddle and bought the Brooks B17 following generally very positive reviews read on line. I am using it on a steel hybrid bike converted into a light touring bike and it works very well both in terms of comfort and look. It is heavier than my previous saddle but this is not a concern for my intended use and what I am looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Psilos
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

For my body it's good

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This saddle makes exactly that i was expected,i hope for long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humptydumpty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

style & comfort

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
What more can you ask for classic style and comfort.
Brooks saddles have a reputation for needing a breaking in period but this is my second B17 and I treated them both straight from the box with brooks own proofhide, three coats underside and two on top over a 24 hour period and then fitted them to my bikes and have found them to be comfortable with no breaking in period and just getting better the more I ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChsCyprus
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very high quality, great looks, very comfortable

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Quality build product, classic looks but modern feel, very comfortable saddle like no other...I've been riding for 7 years I have used 3 different saddles but none can compare with the experience of this brook saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonboy78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Total quality as expected

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, freaking awesome
Have wanted one of these since seeing a bike building documentary a couple of years ago which featured brooks saddles. Went for a darker brown colour which is top banana. I've read of a 'breaking in' period where it's supposed to be a bit hard and uncomfortable but then gets better as you lay down the miles but I've got to say that it was immediately extremely comfortable and 100 or so miles on its already showing signs of getting better and better. If this doesn't last a life time (and I think it just might!) I will deffo get another. Would also recommend to Proofide to help protect saddle and keep leather supple. Best bit of my bike by far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sab0102
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a legend for a reason.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as the touring saddle of choice.
It reeks of quality and craftsmanship - beautiful
Have only done 50 miles on it so far and it presented no problems during those miles.
People talk of a breaking in period but as I've a very old Brooks secondhand saddle on my other bike, I have to say that I didn't suffer on it at all. Can't wait to test it after a week of daily distances to see if it fully lives up to it's reputation. I've no doubt it will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

BROOKS B17

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been thinking of buying one for some time , I've now taken the plunge , only done 50km but its getting there comfort is not far off I think, looks nice on my touring bike, treated with the brooks treatment a few times before using, its looking like a long term relationship !!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrimWilo
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Brooks quality

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable from the outset, this was a replacement seat for one that was stolen from under the noses of the security at University College London. The quality of the leather is excellent, the seat itself is well made and comfortable. The order from Evans was prompt and efficient
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geofft44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

A Comfortable Perch

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I love Brooks saddles and have them on all my bikes. The look good, are very high quality and after an initial break in are very comfortable. You need to make sure you adjust them properly to get the best out of them and i find that a very slight nose up aspect is best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ats95
Country:Taiwan
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect look for Brompton

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I order a full set of Brooks products, to fit my Brompton better.
B17 Honey color saddle very good looking, very nice leather, of'coz comfortable when riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jm031689
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

A bit sore to begin with, but only briefly.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, Comfortable
As many people have already probably said, don't expect comfort straight away. Happily after a week of cycling, around 100 miles, any initial hardness was gone and the saddle seems to just get better with every mile. It provides a good deal of support but due to its larger surface area is probably better suited to commuting/touring rather than racing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ayjaycee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Seems good but still to be fully proven.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, reasonably comfortable at moment
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I am newly returned to cycling after a long break and bought this as a replacement for the stock saddle on my new Specialized Crosstrail which I just could not get on with. I actually had one of these on a road bike some 30 years ago and liked it so thought I would give another one a go. First impressions are that it is comfortable enough and the likelyhood that it will get even better over time is something to look forward to. The only problem for me is that I am an unashamed fair weather cyclist and not therefore likely to be using the bike much on the road until next April/ May - I do however have a turbo trainer which I intend using over the winter which hopefully means that the Brooks wil get broken in properly before it gets to be 'used in anger'. The only issue that I have found is that I have had to fit it with a very pronounced slope (ie. the nose is about 3/4" higher than the back) or I am constantly sliding forward on the [very] smooth & polished surface. That said, I feel comfortable enough and so maybe it is not really an issue - it just looks a bit odd. I am hoping that over time, it will not be quite as slippery and I can get it back to a more 'conventional' position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks B17 STD Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ytsejam
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brooks made my rides joyfull.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I'm riding a road bike. Although my friends say brooks doesn't look good on my bike, I like it as you can really feel the difference even without padded shorts. People say it will be even better as you ride going forward. I liked it much and I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>