Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Swift Saddle

Brooks Swift Saddle

Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Swift Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil18N
Country:New Zealand
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic saddle - an absolute class act.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have put this on an 80s steel road bike and it looks amazing. It took a few rides to break in, and I was a bit taken back by how hard it rode when I first used it. But after a week of 5km each way commutes to work, it feels great now. I use no padding by the way.
I would recommend doing a hand full of 10 min rides before taking on anything more than that when you first get it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heavyjohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I wouldn't buy anything else!

Posted17 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, Comfortable
Legend has it that you need to do at least 500 miles before Brooks saddles have adjusted to your posterior but I found that the Swift was fairly comfortable from the beginning. I have only done a couple of hundred miles since and, of course, it has become very comfortable.
This is the second Swift that I have purchased and I think that it is probably the most beautiful of all saddles. It is a bit heavy for the fast boys and girls but then again, so am I!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
opelister
Country:Turkey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You can feel the quality of the product.

Posted10 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
You can feel the quality of the product at first sight. even it's not finished the breaking-in period it's beyond the average saddle comfort surprisingly.
however i've little difficulties about positioning the saddle to find best angle and horizontal position.
I think Swift is good choise for mid and lightweight riders and sportive, light turers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scotty47

A Timeless Classic.

Posted02 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Three points of contact to a bicycle and I would say that the saddle is the most important.This isn't my first Brooks saddle, it's my second as I have two bicycles. It is a little more eye catching with it's copper rivets, and natural brown tan. Everyone who's seen it have pointed out how nice it looks. The saddle would seem to have been tailor made as it fits me perfectly. The quality of the materials used, the time honoured method of manufacture and the skill of Brooks workforce make this a superb product. Not cheap in any way,,but would you want it any other way..?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PetrL
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfy

Posted07 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good quality product that looks and feel great. Wanted for ages and it lives up to the hype.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LordKitchener
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Quality British made saddle

Posted26 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Beautifully made, timeless, steeped in history and comfy too. I need a seatpost with a little more layback as my top tube must be short so check in store before you buy that it fits your dimensions perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harry47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

great looking piece of kit.

Posted15 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bit of a hard ride,will get better as its broke in.looks great high quality bit of kit.rivets look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
F2000SL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beautiful

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic saddle, really adds a lot of class to my Brompton.
I read/heard stories that these take hundreds of miles to break in.
This wasn't the case at all, comfortable from day one.
First few rides seemed strange as leather saddle seemed very slippery.
Totally used to it within a couple of rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Scootjockey
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best reserved for masochists

Posted15 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
I used a B17 and loved it. There was almost no breaking in period and I often forgot the saddle was even there. So I didn't think much about getting another Brooks saddle for my next ride. This time, I went for the Swift. Big mistake! It felt like riding on a rock. I often dismounted bruised and battered, even with padded shorts on. I persevered, slathered it with Proofide... prayed, cajoled, begged. After clocking hundreds of kilometers, I threw in the towel and got another B17. The Swift is a gorgeous saddle but it just didn't work well with this bum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floydyboy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality and comfort

Posted27 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Decided to try a Brooks saddle on my modern road bike as the original saddle on the bike was comfy for a while but started to get uncomfortable after a few hours riding. The brooks swift was uncomfortable from the start but does not get any worse, and now I am starting to break it in it is getting more comfortable as well. Looks lovely as well with the copper rivets. Not cheap but a lovely saddle to own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kestrel
from NE England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Classic looker

Posted06 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, not comfortable straight off
Bought one of these for my Croix de Fer after reading many positive reviews. With discounts/ promotions e.t.c. got one for a lot less than the £99 list price (£65). This is still quite expensive but it's a great looking quality piece of kit. It's no lightweight, adding about half a pound over my original saddle but neither is the bike it's on (The original saddle wasn't comfortable for me). I've had 7 saddles over the last 4 years (searching for the holy grail of seats)... I would love to say this is the best saddle ever but for the first 100 mile the Brooks Swift was the most uncomfortable saddle I'd used. It was hard and puts a lot of pressure on your soft underparts! After another 400 mile it's getting better but still not the best, maybe 3rd-4th out of the saddles I've used. (Charge Spoon is top so far for distance riding). One big 'however' though... this saddle is getting better, whilst the others stay the same. I'm hoping it will reach number one as I reach the 1st 1000 miles this year. It does look good though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kestrel
NE England
 
Please wait while more information about Kestrel is loaded.
Additional information about Kestrel could not be loaded.
Still not comfy... 700 miles now
Posted 20 March 2012
Saddle is slightly better but still a lot of pressure on centre... and maybe I have sharp bones but getting sore on my sit bones after 30-50 mile rides.
May have to resort to soaking it in water, then going for a long ride as some people suggest.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bayman
from australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfort

Posted08 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this saddle due to on going problems with the current modern materials used in racing saddles i had a fall 2 years ago and broke my pelvis in four places and since the fall i could not get a comfortable saddle as a young cyclist i always used BROOKS saddles so i bought this saddle with great hope after 900 k the saddle is breaking in and providing a perfect fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pierre29177
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nice saddle

Posted17 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
i m really happy with that purchasse.
the delivering was really fast.thanks.
The saddle is really comfortable after two weeks and my bike look so nice :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eb1689

Posted05 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Elegant, classic and extremely well made saddle. Nice narrow, sporty shape. Still being worn in, but looks amazing and should wear in nicely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Surely a 'best of' saddle

Posted10 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
I have had several of the Brooks Swift saddles. I have found them to be a most comfortable ride. Better than anything I have had. My way of conditioning and fitting them may differ, but it works for me and I suggest anyone try it. I submerge the entire saddle in warm water for approx 10 minutes, attach to the bike and go ride for 30 minutes. Let it dry and you will have a fabulous fitting saddle to be enjoyed for years.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamester
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted05 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Superior quality saddle made using traditional methods and high quality materials. Designed and built to last!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks Swift Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goldenflower
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A great saddle

Posted28 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Superior in both form and function. The Swift is a good buy. Would like Brooks to offer some bespoke options though. Maybe a Swift Imperial?
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.