Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock

Kryptonite New York M18 Lock

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Evanshelpus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

No-messing-with lock

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tough
Cons: Heavy
Heavyweight durable lock that looks and feels as though it would last a lifetime!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich1977
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Awesome lock

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, secure, meets insurance needs
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
The New Yorker shackle is an awesome lock that should deter any wanna be opportunistic thief. The locking mechanism is easy to use and unlike other locks, uses both sides of the u-bar to form the security. A tad heavy to commute with, but that all depends on how much love you have for your ride!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drawde
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

difficult to review a lock

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Unless someone tries to steal the bike and the lock defeats them then it's pretty difficult to give an accurate review. That being said, this one certainly feels solid enough and it has great test reviews, the covered key hole was also a good feature IMO, after reading reviews of the ABUS suffering from issues in that area).
It's a chunky bi t of kit and you certainly know its in the backpack but it at least gives me some confidence to leave the bike after it was stolen (and quickly recovered by police) recently after my Kryptonite Kryptoflex lasted all of about 4 seconds (guy who nicked the bike was caught on the work CCTV).
Expensive, but hopefully worth it (price was somewhat moderated by the Evans price match).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisy79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Wow

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a hardcore D-LOCK and wieghs a ton. Best left at destination.
Lovely build. Makes me feel very confident the bike will still be there as only pros could get through this mother of a lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dominator
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, secure
Cons: Expensive
Exactly what you need to have piece of mind when you lock up your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sirstan

Big Heavy Lock

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
No problem to lock two bikes together around a post. Its heavy and bigger than you may expect. Only to consider if weight is not an issue whilst touring/ recreational/ commuter cycling.
Far too heavy to take on a training/ speed run, and unnecessary if bike will remain insight during a stopover - for that I take a modestly thick (but reasonably light) cable lock to deter the opportunist would-be thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
seniorherb
from Stockholm
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Powerful stuff

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, strong
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
I bought this lock because i was tired of always wondering if my bike was safe when i left it. It's quite Big and feels strong. Since it's large you reach well around objects but sometimes it is unnecessary large. It is also quite heavy. I was surprised how heavy it was and i am used to a heavy bag. Conclusion is that it is safety to the cost of comfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raymond26
from Exeter
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kryptonite New York M18 Lock

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
People go on about how heavy they are, but with that comes piece of mind!!! I dont mind at all about carrying around something like this if it means theres a much stronger chance my bike will still be there when i return.
Evans price-matched so price was good too. Also, this model is slightly longer so it is easier to lock my bike to things, and through the wheel and frame.
All in all, a great pice of kit, and i am sure a thief will just take one look at this lock and will move on!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lance7Cotty
from Ashford Kent
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant peice of kit

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, worth every penny
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Having had a few attempts from cycle theives this has to be the best buy ever. They cannot get past this beauty. Maybe slightly heavy but worth it, along with the extended Kryptonite cable I feel very assured my cycle will be where I left it. You get 3 keys which leaves you with plenty of options but remember to note down the key numbers and keep it safe just in case you require a new key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrBuz

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very good lock and gives me great peace of mind when used with my other D lock.
The lock is actually a very nice piece of engineering.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PCycle
from Genoa, Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stong and affordable

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Eavy lock, but it's solid rock and it's worth the weight.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpookTooth
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Probably the best of it's type of lock there is...

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, looks the part, extremely strong, weatherproof, good car type keys, 3 keys provided, about as good as it gets
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable, keys are a little flimsy, insurance is onerous to qualify for and us centric, no bracket supplied, really really heavy
As far as bicycle locks go, there is nothing that can guarantee your bike will remain secure when left away from home. This is simply due to availability of easy to purchase tools like portable angle grinders, car jacks (for leverage attacks) and of course easy availability of massive bolt croppers from ordinary DIY stores across the land and isn't really reflective of the quality of lock and fitness for purpose these have. Anyone researching the topic of bike security should make You Tube their first port of call as there are many good educational videos that will show you just how long it takes to break any kind of lock you can think about. Some using just the end of a ball point pen and others with a can of compressed air and a small hammer. And so it is likely our view of what a lock should do that needs altering since if these locks got any bigger and heavier none of us would be able to use them.
What you're actually ultimately buying, when purchasing a lock, is a sliding scale of time and the added hassle factor for those professional thieves who make a living from taking bikes so they'll hopefully leave your bike alone and - as mean as it sounds - target someone elses bike instead. Every lock type on sale anywhere to date has more than likely been broken in well under 5 minutes in independent testing (if you don't believe me then just a have a quick search on YouTube). Many of these locks have been broken in under 2 minutes and just about all of them in no more than 3 minutes. If that doesn't sound too impressive in terms of securing your bicycle then that fact needs to be taken in consideration with factors such as where you leave your bike and how visible it is to ordinary passersby as it is also to how you use your lock and the accessibility afforded mr-not-so-honest white van driver. Generally any thief is loath to take too long cracking open a lock with standers by and every chance of being apprehended or accosted or interrupted by a chance encounter with the law or anyone standing up to them (probably not recommended).
With some locks being breakable in seconds with a simple pair of bolt croppers with little effort it makes sense to make it as difficult as possible for a professional gang to nab your expensive bike. This means using your head and locking your bike properly (ie through the back wheel and frame dropouts/forks) to something immovable rather than just through the top bar of the bike's frame or just through a wheel etc. You'll also want to use a cable through any removable wheels/the saddle etc and lock that too. A shackle type lock, like this, is susceptible to attacks from both angle grinders and to a far lesser degree, car jacks. It isn't bomb proof but does offer pretty much the maximum level of protection being far more resilient to bolt croppers than heavy duty chains or twisted cables.
Kryptonite have moved away from using cylindrical keys and anyone using such a lock (common with shackle , U or D type locks such as this from a few years ago) should really consider upgrading their lock to something which uses a different style key. You get 3 keys supplied with this lock and one of them has an LED built in to illuminate the lock's key barrel when you need a light to guide you. The other 2 are just standard car type keys and are not the strongest looking in the world either though they are double sided like car keys and offer higher security against picking and again, there are plenty of interesting videos on Youtube, which demonstrate how easy it can be for those who know how to pick padlocks etc to quickly render your lock so much worthless metal. Again it doesn't take the best of them very long at all. The one worry is these keys do break quite easily and aren't that strong so it's important you record the unique codes for replacement purposes and take care when using them.
I chose this lock after quite a bit of research and it's been a very educational experience. I'd have preferred a nice easier to carry twisted cable lock that can go around your waist instead but seeing how easily they were broken with a pair of oversized bolt croppers was just scary. We're talking just 40 seconds or less. I'd consider using a separate high diameter chain lock in conjunction with a quality shackle lock such as this but really, if you've got to go to this kind of level to secure your bike you should be looking at not leaving it around at all or in a very secure place in a building not accessible to the general public at your place of work etc. These are just too bulky to comfortably carry around and this one is far too heavy to want to take with you on a leisurely ride and so doesn't quite fit the 'pop in lock' spec that would be useful for quickly securing your bike whilst you popped into a convenience store to buy a drink etc. For that I would consider the Abus cable types or just a lighter shackle lock with Kryptoflex type cable for the wheels but I wouldn't leave the bike for any length of time. Well, not my new £1500 bike that's for sure. My oily 14 year old mountain bike, now that's a different matter yet I'd still take care to properly lock it up just so I could be reasonably sure it was there when I came back. Do yourself a favour and go search YouTube for advice on bike locks and tips on how to lock your bike up securely. I'm sure, once you've gotten over the initial shock of how easy it is for pro bike thieves to steal your bike, you'll be glad you did.
+39points
43of 47voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheTester
from Poland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great lock!

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, security!
Cons: Heavy
It has only one disadvantage: it's VERY heavy. But anyone who consider buying this should be aware of that. I always have backpack when I'm riding so I don't have problems with carrying it around.
But with its weight comes one, most important thing: security! At last I have peaceful mind when leaving bike here and there. :)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SimonM
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Kryptonite New York M18 Lock

PostedMay 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This lock ticks all the boxes for bike security, but its not easy to carry around with you as it dosent come with an attachment to fasten it to your bike frame. (i guess its more of a motor bike lock) Its quite heavy and bulky. I leave mine attached to the bike rack.
Works best with a second lock or cable for the front wheels also you wouldnt get this lock around a lamp post but as i use one of the many bike racks in Manchester thats not a problem.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York M18 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
w01313ly
from london
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Pros and cons...

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Ridiculously expensive - theres other places which do it cheaper, but if your buying a bike from here you can get it free under accessories.
I have to say its a sturdy thing, I've kept my £625 bike locked up with this for weekends etc in central london - though i combine it with another kryptonite lock and kryptoflex (about 20 off other sites, not seen it on evans).
You have to remember that all locks can be cut - i own a petrol disk cutter for taking won roofs and sheds etc and i know that whatever gold security rating rthis had, it would take me less than a minute to get through it. In fact i'm pretty sure i could cut it several times in less than a few minutes.
Buy this for that extra piece of mind and anythig above 600 pounds, but when you lock your bike remmeber - well lit busy area, near public places and dont leave it there too long or consistently.
Honestly, no one will carry a jack / saw / disc cutter outside a rail station, so use your sense as well as your wallet.
Otherwise you have to rmember these weigh around 2kg - that's the weight difference of a 6 grand time trial bike and a 400 quid commuting bike. Best to leave it on long rides, take a small lock and dont leave the bike more than a few minutes.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.