Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook

Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook

Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Review 1 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saved a packet

PostedApril 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit, improvement on original
Cons: none
After loosing both lower pannier rail hooks from a set of no longer manufactured panniers, I thought, "That's it. I'll have to shell out for a new set of panniers."
However, Evans saved the day when I saw that they sold a possible replacement lower pannier rail hook.
I quickly checked on a cycling forum and found that they would indeed be compatible.
So I forked out a lot less wonga than anticipated.
Very easy to fit and a vast improvement on the originals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taba
Country:Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent hook

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
not much to say really. Its a hook... ...I am replacing on my Arran pannier. I can tell you that I have been using Arran panniers for over ten years and they are superb quality and attach well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spence123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, quick delivery
The price for this on Evans was the lowest by far and it was dispatched quickly and at no cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cycleasy
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Indispensable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
It was a relief being able to replace my Altura pannier bag missing piece. This rail hook is indispensable for keeping the pannier bag stable when riding on uneven surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DarkUnicyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to replace

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, extends the life of your altura panners
When I lost the clip from my panniers, I thought that was it. But when I asked Evans if it was possible to get replacements, they replied immediately. To be on the safe side, I bought two just in case we lose another clip. We all have Altura panniers in this family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kipperito
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

This quickly restored my pannier to use.

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I found this item quickly, ordered quickly, and it was there to collect within a few days. Perfect fix for a problem that in pre-web days might have taken a few weeks to sort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikki666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great product

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, v. useful
Great pannier hook hopefully better than the original - Great service by Evans - Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
climbinmunkey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Helpful Spare

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: poor attachment
Very glad these can be bought separately! Lost on off my Altura Dryline Panier. This is an exact match.
Only disappointment is they come off too easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Japanbob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy..just what I needed.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Altura panniers my wife bought for me were missing one low hook. Evans sell it. In fact Evans were selling it cheaper than everyone else. Good job. I ordered it and as if by magic it appeared on my doorstep. Evans service was faultless. The product stops the lower part of the pannier from waving in the breeze by clipping on to the rear rack.
Easy to fit it works great. Better even than the elastic straps I use on other panniers. Good Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gilla
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

A handy replacement. Good on Evans for stocking it

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to fit, it exists!
I broke the original hook off my pannier after a rather overzealous hop up a kerb. Shame as I really like the Altura panniers and thought it'd be costly to fix or replace.
So hurrah that 1) Altura provide a replacement hook, and that 2) Evans stock it for a very reasonable price.
It was super-easy to fit - just a single screw to hold it in place on the rail, and I was all sorted out in no time. Simples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark27
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Useful to be able to get spares for Altura pannier

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: economic and useful
I use my Altura panniers for shopping almost on a daily basis. They are expensive items to buy new. I was very pleased to be able to buy replacement rail hooks. The process of ordering aand collecting at Evans in Kingston was easy and rapid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maddad1963
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good to be able to get good spares

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nothing fancy to say - just good to be able to get spares rather than replace expensive kit or resort to Hetah-Robinson repairs. Thanks Evans Cycles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bookbiker
from England
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Speedy and efficient product

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: does the job
This was a replacemmet for a bracket that I did not notice had come off. It does the job and fits well. Just need to make sure it is as tight as possible and adjusted occasionally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
henryy

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted perfectly and good value. Very easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreyingNumpty
from Middle England
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Relieved to discover these exist...

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, does the job
OK, so there I was carrying my panniers to my commuter when I realised one of these hooks had dropped off again on the way to the bike. Retraced steps, looked everywhere, only this time couldn't find it, thought the panniers were now toast. So I was a happy bunny when I found you could get replacement bits from Altura. This time I'll screw the thing on tighter so it doesn't work itself loose... Bit of a lesson to learn at just under a fiver, but hey, I don't have to buy a new set of panniers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yogi52
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy spare

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: handy spare part
Pleased to find this spare hook also fitted as a replacement for one lost from my DHB panniers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gvennie
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to find , good description , website and ordering easy to navigate , speedy delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sheel
from Edinburgh
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Panniers saved

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Stupid original design means these clips come loose too easily and fall off while you are walking about. Having lost two it was great to get replacements so quickly and affordably. Also these feel tighter than the originals when on the rail so I hope I won't lose these too quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanL

Does what it should

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cheap, well-made and simple to fit. Works on either side and stops pannier-wobble
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Lower Pannier Rail Hook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nethycommuter
from Highlands
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect replacement

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the tin. One of my Altura lower pannier rail hooks fell off on a recent cycle tour. This replacement arrived promtly from Evans, and fitted easily & perfectly onto the rail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>