Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Blaster 850 Lock

Abus Blaster 850 Lock

Overall rating:
3.619 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Review 1 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pauly79
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice length

Posted02 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Superb lock, flexible but robust. Like Chuck Norris.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Somnambulist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money!

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a brilliant value for money lock; I think it carries an 8/10 safety rating. I use this around the frame with a Kryptoflex looped through this and the wheels. Hasn't been put to the test by any thieves yet, but it's easy to use with solid keys that don't feel like they'll break compared to cheaper options.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
arrgee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Feels good quality

Posted18 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Purchased this, based on recommendation of staff at the Braehead store. I'm happy with it, but cannot comment on it's effectiveness as a lock because the bike is parked in a locked bike store during the day, so thankfully no-one has tested it. It looks and feels like a good quality lock, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andrew1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Light weight lock

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought this lock to secure a child's bike. It is long enough to lock round a solid object, both wheels and the frame. It is not substantial enough to protect anything too valuable but would be okay for a back up lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
techjonful

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lightweight and easy to carry around. Easily lockable and it has a decent length to wrap around both the wheel and frame, although lightweight feel does make it seem like it would be susceptible to bolt cutters, but great value regardless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucia

Heavy but safe

Posted22 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's hard to fit this lock on the bike and it is heavy, but it seems very sturdy and safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Blackbetty4567

DO NOT BUY!!! USELESS!!!

Posted31 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This lock is useless!! My 11 day old bike got stolen from right outside the entrance of a Coop supermarket, the CCTV footage shows some worthless soul walk past it and flick it open in literally two seconds. Unbelievable how quick it can be hacked ... So if you care about your bike, sadly it seems, you'll need a heavy duty D lock ... Gutted
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WhizWes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Basic, good value, no-nonsense lock

Posted19 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what is says on the tin - nothing fancy and reasonably secure. Seems well made and a decent length for looping around lampposts etc. Good lock to carry with you, being reasonably light and compact when coiled up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SChen

My bike got stolen on the first day with this Lock

Posted16 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
That said - On the first day I am traveling with this bike lock - parked and well locked with both front, frame and rear wheel - Gone within 5mins outside one of the ASDA store.
What can you say?
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooksta

good lock

Posted30 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality lock, easy to use. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SJ2207
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good quality for price

Posted13 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good lock for the price. Enough to deter theft but it is heavy as one would expect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bez0123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

rubbish

Posted01 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
my 700 pound bike was recently stolen because somebody managed to cut through this lock very easily and very quietly!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraemeEdinburgh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

heavy duty strong secure lock!!!

Posted05 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, secure
I don't think anyone appart from the firebrigade will get past this lock!
It's heavy duty, strong and has decent length on it, so I can lock both wheels together if I wish, however I use it to lock rear wheel and frame to secure posts.
It would take a determined theif in the dark to get past this lock!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JK86
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do not buy

Posted16 September 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this lock a few months ago and my bike got stolen from exeter city center yesterday. A woman was caught on CCTV fiddling with it for a minute then rode the bike away. Don't go for lightweight as it's convenient. Will learn from my mistakes.....
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mariel
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

So far , so good

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this lock without reading the reviews. It scared me to read that a bike got stolen easily with this lock, particularly because I also live in Birmingham. Yesterday I left my bike in city centre and I did not have problems. I know this lock is not the safest option, but it is a light compromise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pioneer65
from Sussex
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly as you want!

Posted27 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says on the tin, I've used it several times leaving my bike locked up in town for a few hours returning a few hours later to find it untampered with and in one piece.
Its useful having two keys as I can keep one on my keyring at all times and the other at home if I need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
salsaMunchkin
from London
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value, convenient lock

Posted25 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easily wrap around anywhere on the bike whilst cycling, not heavy but looks sturdy. I wouldn't bet all the security on this lock, but combined with a D lock, it is perfect for my bike which has quick releases every where.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DefaultNickname
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Don't buy it

Posted02 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
If you want to find your bike where you left it just buy something else (solid d-lock, havy duty 10lbs chain, you just name it).
My husband's new bike got stolen just outside a city centre store next to the train station (second one in less than a month). The place was filled with cops and there were loads of people passing by as it was around 6pm, apparantly that didn't shy away the thief and I suppose he cut the lock in no time...
I honestly don't get all the good reviews it's been receiving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carl3011
from darlington
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent lock

Posted22 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent lock at excellent price, easy to use, looks more expensive then it is
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rswandls

Abus 850 lock

Posted17 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent lock. easy to use. Stores easily. Does what it should at the right price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>