Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Blaster 850 Lock

Abus Blaster 850 Lock

Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Review 1 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Blackbetty4567

DO NOT BUY!!! USELESS!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This lock is useless!! My 11 day old bike got stolen from right outside the entrance of a Coop supermarket, the CCTV footage shows some worthless soul walk past it and flick it open in literally two seconds. Unbelievable how quick it can be hacked ... So if you care about your bike, sadly it seems, you'll need a heavy duty D lock ... Gutted
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WhizWes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Basic, good value, no-nonsense lock

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what is says on the tin - nothing fancy and reasonably secure. Seems well made and a decent length for looping around lampposts etc. Good lock to carry with you, being reasonably light and compact when coiled up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SChen

My bike got stolen on the first day with this Lock

PostedJune 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
That said - On the first day I am traveling with this bike lock - parked and well locked with both front, frame and rear wheel - Gone within 5mins outside one of the ASDA store.
What can you say?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooksta

good lock

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality lock, easy to use. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SJ2207
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good quality for price

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good lock for the price. Enough to deter theft but it is heavy as one would expect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bez0123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

rubbish

PostedAugust 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
my 700 pound bike was recently stolen because somebody managed to cut through this lock very easily and very quietly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraemeEdinburgh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

heavy duty strong secure lock!!!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, secure
I don't think anyone appart from the firebrigade will get past this lock!
It's heavy duty, strong and has decent length on it, so I can lock both wheels together if I wish, however I use it to lock rear wheel and frame to secure posts.
It would take a determined theif in the dark to get past this lock!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JK86
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do not buy

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this lock a few months ago and my bike got stolen from exeter city center yesterday. A woman was caught on CCTV fiddling with it for a minute then rode the bike away. Don't go for lightweight as it's convenient. Will learn from my mistakes.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mariel
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

So far , so good

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this lock without reading the reviews. It scared me to read that a bike got stolen easily with this lock, particularly because I also live in Birmingham. Yesterday I left my bike in city centre and I did not have problems. I know this lock is not the safest option, but it is a light compromise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pioneer65
from Sussex
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly as you want!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says on the tin, I've used it several times leaving my bike locked up in town for a few hours returning a few hours later to find it untampered with and in one piece.
Its useful having two keys as I can keep one on my keyring at all times and the other at home if I need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
salsaMunchkin
from London
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value, convenient lock

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easily wrap around anywhere on the bike whilst cycling, not heavy but looks sturdy. I wouldn't bet all the security on this lock, but combined with a D lock, it is perfect for my bike which has quick releases every where.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DefaultNickname
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Don't buy it

PostedJune 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
If you want to find your bike where you left it just buy something else (solid d-lock, havy duty 10lbs chain, you just name it).
My husband's new bike got stolen just outside a city centre store next to the train station (second one in less than a month). The place was filled with cops and there were loads of people passing by as it was around 6pm, apparantly that didn't shy away the thief and I suppose he cut the lock in no time...
I honestly don't get all the good reviews it's been receiving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carl3011
from darlington
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent lock

PostedMay 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent lock at excellent price, easy to use, looks more expensive then it is
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rswandls

Abus 850 lock

PostedMay 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent lock. easy to use. Stores easily. Does what it should at the right price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Blaster 850 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COLCHIP
from Devon
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use ABUS Security products at work, they have always been top quality and this 850 lock is no different.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PETENG
 
Please wait while more information about PETENG is loaded.
Additional information about PETENG could not be loaded.
Avoid!
Posted January 25, 2011
I had this lock and I thought it would be fine but my bike was stolen and the thieves were able to easily cut through this lock. it's mostly rubber with a very little metal underneath. They could have cut through it with a pen knife. My girlfriend had a better lock made by the same company (cost £5 more!) and they were unable to get through it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)