Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock

Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Bronze
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Review 1 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Good value for money

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Item was recommended by sales person. It looks stylish, it it is very strong and was reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AndrewWA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fundamentally doesn't work.

Posted02 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I used this lock and had my bike stolen within 1 hour of leaving it where it was.
Other locks might be heavier or what not but the purpose of a bike lock it to stop people stealing your bike. This does not do that.
Plastic cable ties are lighter than a good bike lock, but I wouldn't recommend those either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gilly222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very nice and sturdy feeling bike lock at a good price point. Found it easy to mount and use without any issues. I would like it if it was a tad longer but that would make it a bit harder to roll up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
isthisnecessary
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Flexible and strong

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this lock to take travelling with the purpose to lock my bike over lunchtime, outside a shop and overnight when in a garage or shed, and didn't want a heavier D lock. It is heavier because of its strength but I liked its flexibility and giving the appearance of security. It is too heavy and big to hang on a road bike but fine for a backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dst1982

Bike stolen 3days after using this lock

Posted07 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
It could be coincidence, but three days after replacing my old rusty d lock with this lock, my bike was stolen from the same place it had happily been living for the past three years........ I'll let you draw your own conclusions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spinitterry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good standard lock

Posted24 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice and flexible with a soft rubber coating that won't scratch your bike, and not too heavy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tobertronic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very pleased with purchase

Posted18 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, feels very strong
i needed a new lock for my Pashley, but didn't want one that was too heavy or cumbersome. i mainly use my bike to ride to work everyday, and am lucky enough to have somewhere out of public view to lock it up during the day... having said that, i'd still never leave it unlocked there! budget was a factor too...
this lock is pretty lightweight, but still feels plenty strong. locking mechanism is smooth & easy to operate. lock is long & flexible enough to attach my bike to most things.
it may not be the heaviest duty lock (probably not ideal if you've got a £2K bike) but for me is perfect.
ordered online (with a nice, bonus Xmas discount code!) and picked up from my local store 2 days later... on Christmas eve. great service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lazyfella
Country:United Kingdom

Saw off an opportunist chancer!

Posted09 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Glad I was talked into buying this. It was a bit more expensive than I'd initially budgeted for but the salesman said it would do a good job. Checked the bike outside the flat one night and saw some signs of disturbance. Some frustrated scratching on lock indicated someone had had a go but given up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajrm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock at the best price

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, high security
I originally saw this lock at a High St bike store but wasn't too keen on their price.
Found the same item at Evans much cheaper, even with delivery
The lock is well built and feels very secure. The whole lot is covered in a soft material that protects your bike from damage and it is easy to unlock with either of the two keys supplied. It fits easily into the Abus ST50 chain bag ( also bought from Evans) that I have attached to the bike. All in all, a very neat and secure looking package,
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SS10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really good quality lock

Posted19 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Really good quality lock, twists without knotting up.
A bit heavy to carry on the handle bars for a long distance, but supplied with a hanger for the frame. Good length – I wouldn't get one any shorter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hermintrude

brilliant lock

Posted14 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Long enough to get 2 bikes in if you need to or 1 bike and a stout lamp post, quick to unlock and light compared to D-locks. Also its solid enough that I'm confident that no-one is going to chop through it.
Proper job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Webof
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Use only with a D Lock also

Posted13 May 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: inaffective against cutters
This lock lasted less than 10 seconds against a daylight theft outside my place of work in the middle of the day.
I would only ever use a lock like this now in combination with a D-lock as these are so quick for a professional to cut through its unbelievable. Whilst it is a lightweight lock that was comfortable to carry round my waist for example it is not work the risk it entails.
They are not as secure as you might imagine.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Centuro 860 - 110CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gtmanning123
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Sturdy and flexible

Posted05 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Sturdy and flexible lock. Would be very difficult to cut through thats for sure!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.