Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock

Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Bronze
Overall rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Review 1 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisDoubleW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Decent lock

Posted18 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Well my bike hasn't been stolen yet, so that is a positive feature of this lock. Seems quite solidly built, hasn't been visibly affected by rain.
The included mounting bracket is absolutely useless, but it is easy to hang the lock around the seatpost.
I will be getting the longer version of this lock to secure two bikes at once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SIZ123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Fairly solid, lightweight(ish) lock

Posted04 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: not hugely thief-proof
I needed a neat lightweight lock for my bike and this has done the job. To be honest, I don't think that it's particularly thief-proof and I'd be very careful about where I left my bike if I was using just this lock. Still, on a long weekend ride when I just need to lock up my bike whilst I nip for an ice-cream, this is ideal.
A word of warning though - it is a bronze rated lock and, when I subsequently rang up my insurer to cover my bike, they told me that my insurance would not be valid unless I have a gold rated lock. I've now had to buy a further lock...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rb318
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Reliable lock

Posted23 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Good lock. Better than other brands. Could be a tad longer but does secure front wheel and frame around thin poles/ bike racks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Redparaman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Quality lock

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I purchased this lock as recommended by the sales advisor when I purchased my new cycle. Appears good quality and of good length. comes with a bracket for easy click on and off stowage. Well protected to prevent scratching to my bike frame. Feels solid and the locking mechanism seems strong. Not the cheapest but appears good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PlanetGoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good lock, but don't use it as your only security

Posted23 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, convenient
Cons: Heavy
I got this to replace same product that was chopped off my bike when it was recently stolen. Why go for the same one? - they can get through any lock, but having one that both deters theft and can be used as a quick way of securing the bike for brief stops is good.
I actually took this one back and swapped it for the longer one which is easier to carry on your body. The bike fixing is rubbish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
G101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Secure saddle

Posted22 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
After having my Brooks saddle stolen despite using a cable lock I needed a security upgrade.
This lock is much more substantial, yet fits through the saddle rails and loops, as a figure 8, down to the bike frame.
This seems a lot more secure than my previous solution, is reasonably priced, and stays attached all the time without getting in the way when I ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winc1507
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good secure lock

Posted02 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I purchased this for my son who is a very keen cyclist. He cycle in London and wanted a secure lock for his bike. He is extremely pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stuntmansimon
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thick & light cable lock

Posted04 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased 2 x of these. 1 for me & 1 for my girlfriend. Quite a thick cable with some great flexibility and at a decent price. Mainly bought this due to wanting to go for a quick ride to the shops or work and didn't want to carry a D-Lock at the same time.
This lock was perfect, lightweight short & very flexible enought to wrap around the top tube or seatposts & frame while riding if not using the supplied bracket. Comes with 2 x keys & mounting bracket. The only downside to this lock is the length. But you can purchase the same product in longer length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
coltrane
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Hopeless

Posted23 August 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Brand new bike stolen first time I used this lock. Left bike for 30 minutes in broad daylight. Returned and lock had been cut as it were made of paper.
Sadly I don't have a recommendation of what to buy in its place.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
moleisking
from Madrid
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong chain with good lock

Posted25 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have found the Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock chain and lock to be better than the last one I used.
The last one I had was thicker but was much heavier and had one of those round keys. They stole my bike with my old chain because of the round key which I have seen from the internet is easy to unlock making the thickness of the chain useless.
The Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock has a flat key and is long enough to use around the city.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bikebike
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

soft like butter

Posted01 March 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: easily cuttable
Having used a Abus D lock , and needing a flexible lock at short notice i bought this. It feels solid and has the great Abus build quality you would expect.
Unfortunately it got cut through like a piece of paper the other day, it didn't look like it was much trouble at all to go through it. As has been said before, it is a empty cylinder with a steel rope running through it, but the steel isn't interweaved, making it flexible but ultimately cutable.
Probably ok in a low risk area as a detterant, but bottom line is always use a d lock.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jijster
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Lock

Posted03 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Boy, this is heavy! But it is a very long length of 19mm steel - enough to put off most filthy scum bags. Very flexible (coils easily when not in use) and the lock responds really well to the key. A quality product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ballen

sadly it didn't do its work..

Posted27 December 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
..and my bike got stolen with this lock after a few days of using it. It is a steel tube, empty inside, therefore cutting it off takes seconds to any prepared thief. Though it is fairly light to carry and probably would make a decent protection if used as an extra lock, though never on its own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Centuro 860 - 85CM Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bilboben
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not heavy but secure

Posted17 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The balance between weight and security is always difficult to get right. This is the ideal balance in my view. Light enough to not deter every day carrying but certainly solid and strong enough to deter anyone but a professional thief with the right equipment.
This shorter version adds to the lightness but is fine to secure to a standard bike park. I also have the 1000 which is useful when that extra length is needed. Combined with a D lock in places where security is an issue is as good as it gets.
However if you just need a good solid deterrent and secure lock whose weight is fine this is the one.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.