Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Chain Bag ST 250

Abus Chain Bag ST 250

Finally a solution to transporting your chain locks without having to take a rucksack every time. Available in two sizes this will accommodate most chain sizes and attaches easily to the bike with the use of strong velcro straps
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8Would you recommend this product to a friend?88%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Review 1 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Pretty good bag - not huge but big enough

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, quite spacious, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
Panic bought this ahead of a 100mi sportive as my jersey pockets were bulging with food and I'd exhausted the room in my saddle bag.
Wasn't able to attach the rear strap to my bike's seat tube due to having two bottles and cages, but was still able to use the bag, wedged in between. Allowed me to all but empty my jersey which was great.
For subsequent, normal rides (with just one bottle) the bag is very secure and easy to access while cycling. The key tag is handy and there is plenty of room for tools, pump, tubes, wallet, phone, snacks and a small packed up jacket.
Bit on the expensive side for what it is but I'm generally happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Useful bag

Posted12 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: not waterproof
I bought the large one to make sure I could fit my lock in. Holds an Abus lock and other bits easily. Handy side pockets. Left out in rain and the insides felt damp so not waterproof. Easily fitted to bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick to put on bike. Quicker to take off.

Posted31 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Perfect comuting solution for carrying small items. I can get a tea mug, specks in hard case and a rolled up rain proof seat cover in it. On other days I put in a sandwich, specks in hard case and my smartphone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:London Bridge

Not good use of space

Posted08 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Nice looking, lots of comparments and good materials used; however if all the comparments were used then the bag bulges and does not function well! Also if you have a smaller frame as I do (womens 50) then it does not fit with ease alongside a water bottle holder.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product. Recommended.

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This bag is well made and good value for money. It is surprisingly roomy, and fits on the bike well. I bought it to provide extra carrying capacity on a recent ride on the Avenue Verte, and it worked very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent alternative for carrying your lock.

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I was fed up with carrying my lock and cable in my rucksack or pannier, and having to root around for it once I reached my destination.
With the Abus chain bag, my lock and cable both fit in with ease, and there is added room for other things such as multi-tool or inner tube. The chain bag also gives me an easy storage option on weekend trips when I want to carry as little as possible bar the essentials, mobile, money, card etc.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looking bag

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, stores a centuro 110 cm lock
This is a great looking well made bag that fits securely to the frame. I use it to store an Abus Centuro 110cm lock.
The bag fits to the frame with 4 velcro straps. Zip is easy to move and there is a side pocket too to store smaller items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Chain Bag ST 250
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Abus Frame Bag

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this as an alternative to a seat bag. To carry a spare tube, pump, tools etc which I leave on a mtb which I use for commuting and generally getting about. And also off road. Its well made, looks like it has decent zips and a separate pocket for keys etc. This is working really well and has more than enough space for what I need to carry and does not rattle around. I am sure this would also work well to carry a chain lock. Good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.