Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain

Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.397 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
69 out of 73Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Does the job

Posted29 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Decent chain for the money. Fitted in store and no issues
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it does

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
excellent product. It's a chain what can I say. easy to fit, works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it says on the tin.

Posted21 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what you need it to do, just make sure you get the right size for your cassette.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

perfect repair!

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
fitted this on a mates bike after his chain broke and he lost it quick and easy to fit ,He cycled away a happy chappie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great length of chain

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
We tend to take chains for granted, but they are pieces of precision engineering. Anyway, I needed a new chain and this fitted the bill nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

There's a trick to joining up the quick link

Posted31 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Like, it seems, a number of others, I couldn't see how to connect the Quick Link supplied with the chain. The Shimano instruction sheet is difficult to locate online and isn't very helpful, but the guy at Evans fixed it in seconds. The trick is to flex the chain (ie the quick link) sideways so that the connecting link can snap onto the pins. Easy when you know how. Once you've seen it done, you realise that the illustration in the Shimano guide tells the truth, but it's not explained in words, and it's not exactly intuitive. Thanks to the Evans guy who sorted it out for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Chain perfectly OK bu the master link is a pain

Posted01 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
In order to get the chain connected you have to,physically bend the master link. Not good. Other than that, seems fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Crisp Gearchanges

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: slightly wide
Easy enough to fit, but I didn't use the enclosed spring link.
Works well on the 8-speed cluster, but has a tendency to rub slightly on the front changer when used with triple ring setups on either outer or inner ring (I don't use the outer with inner or vice versa but it still rubs a bit)
It seems noticeably wider than some other chains (Sedis), I think it would be easier to setup with two ring systems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Sturdy

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A good, hard-wearing chain. Stick it on and you won't have to worry about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Chiswick

Decent value for money.

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Seems fine, good value for money, no problems with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great item

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's a chain! Does the job just fine no noise and hasn't snapped what more could you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good Bike Chain

Posted11 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
My bike chain broke on my way to the office, walked into Evans cycles and had them fit a new one. It works really well, no skipping or popping off like my old rusty one did, even though the gear it's gone on is a bit rusty. They had it fitted within half hour, all around good service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Standard chain, good quality

Posted07 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a good quality standard shimano chain. Have just replaced the original replica chain which lasted around 2 500 km.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap but fiddly

Posted29 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This chain is fine but the method for connecting the links is rather annoying and fiddly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good chain but connecting clip needs work

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: not easy to connect
This is a good chain but the connecting clip can be troublesome
I did eventually manage to get it connected but only after viewing a couple of you tube videos
You need to slightly bend the clip inwards to get both pins into the clip.
Would buy the chain again but would buy some spare quick clips/connectors as a back up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

New chain

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
My old chain had stretched - the gears now work more smoothly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Its a chain

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
The special link for connecting the chain without a tool was impossible to use, i guess it had been machined incorrectly. Not a big issue as I just used a chain tool instead and had to shorten it anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful - does the job

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
The chain does what it says on the tin. Was a cheapo replacement after wearing my old one out over winter. I'm not disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Looks great and works

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was advised that the chain needed replacing so Evans Cheltenham supplied me with the Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain and fitted it and all is good and no rubbing to grinding now.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Perfect for my ancient 6 spd

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
After fitting a new freewheel to my steely, it was prudent to also replace the chain.
I find that I tend to travel further and at a higher pace (if lower cadence) with a chain fitted to my bike. This chain is no exception.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>