Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain

Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.434 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
50 out of 53(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dezmondo73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Replacement chain on a new MTB

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having purchased a Cannondale trail 7 29er mtb i was unfortunate to have to change the chain as during a training ride it twisted and bent during a gear change.
Evans Cycles changed this with no quibble, a fantastic repair and a quick check over the bike too, even before my 6 week service...the guys in your Cardiff store as always are helpful knowledgable and courteous.
This is why i always shop with you and will continue to do so
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well with 8 Speed Cassette

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I recently purchased a new 8 Speed cassette and this chain along with it. It functions as expected and is great value for money.
I had to remove a few more links than expected, but it is better to do that than need to add more in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
domster410
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good quality chain

Posted09 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good quality chain at a reasonable price. It makes sense to change your chain on a regular basis as wear and tear can damage the more expensive componants such as the sprockets on the rear cog. I always use this chain as it is easy to fit, smooth running and does not slip. I have tried others but the shimano is my first choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paula86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

It does what it's supposed to!

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Replacement chain fitted during service. Low cost, but working great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yellowdragonman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Fiddly to fit!!!

Posted24 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: awkward
Got this chain to put on a bike i bought for my wife, simple enough to trim to size but i found the so called quick link supplied very fiddly to fit, it took nearly an hour of messing around and trying to bend the chain, only buy if you have patience and time to spare!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stev2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quick link was easy to use once I watched a few videos on youtube. You will need a pair of pliers.
Excellent product, top shimano quality!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ally83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

budget chain, purchased for MTB

Posted22 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Require to adjust / remove links, re-joining link included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CombineAvi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Ok but the speedlink was very hard to use

Posted26 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my wife's commuter bike. As a chain it's as good as any other. The chain I got came with a shimano powerlink/masterlink. I found this one a lot harder to use than the SRAM and KMC links. I'd recommend making sure that you either buy one from those manufacturers or, buy one with the standard connecting pin (if you don't need to regularly remove your chain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godric80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

Posted22 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value easy to fit chain is all I required and this does it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fiddly

Posted23 October 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A little difficult to lengthen/shorted compared to the SRAM chain I recently bought, and to clip/unclip, If I'd have known how difficult and time-consuming it was I would have got another SRAM chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldprune
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality chain at reasonable price

Posted28 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, quality
I needed the chain to complete a restoration of my 1975 Claud Butler Electron, complete with 27 inch wheels. It is a very nice quality chain which runs very smoothly with a 38 year old Shimano Sun Tour gear mechanism. The "Quick Link" is a great idea although It did take a little while to work out how to attach it, but having done it once it is very easy. I can strongly recommend this chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
p1nk1e
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Replaced as part of my bikes Service!

Posted22 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Was repaced as part of my bikes service. I didnt know that it needed replacing but the bike has a smoother ride now :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product, competatively priced,

Posted17 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great value product , competitively priced, It arrived quicker than I expected In no time I had it installed as per simple instructions and was back on the bike in minutes. Thanks Evans !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chainreaction
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality product

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great quality product, would have benefited from the suggestion of buying a chain spliter at the same time as the old chain was difficult to get apart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KAMI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

good quality

Posted27 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
like most bike components at evans this chain is great! quality and the price is not bad either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cambois
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good quality Shimano chain made by a reputible company to fit the shimano gears on my mountain bike. Complete with assembly instructions.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

is what it is

Posted12 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
no problem fitting, come's with the quick link fitting which make's life easy. good chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisopinion
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain once adjusted to correct length

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The chain is quality and comes oiled and easy to fit. Also it has a missing link . you just need to take off links not needed then fit it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good value

Posted21 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value chain and quality is not compromised. Easy to fit as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano HG40 6-8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jez28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain

Posted07 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Used these cahins in the pas, good longevity, smooth gear changes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>