Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket

Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket

Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Review 1 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
axecarver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a bottom bracket bearing.

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Does what it says on the packaging. Replacement for an identical one that had covered about 8000 miles in all weathers, so fingers crossed it will be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phloops
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Easy to fit

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This item was very simple to install on my bike without any problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ro55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easily fitted and good performance

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Brought as a like-for-like replacement. Easily fitted, good price and available in store!! BB has done less than 200 miles so far but has performed well and I expect it will continue to do so!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sivic01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You get what you pay for.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, cheap
Very good value.
Bit unsure how long the plastic end cap will hold up, a metal one would have been preferable.
But seems smooth and quiet so far.
Relatively light too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eggpeg

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
bought a cheap end bottom bracket as a consequence of lack of ££s. hope it sees me through the winter. time will tell i guess
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pontus
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great at that price. Bargain.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Couldn't be happier. Have a 2009 Kona Dew, no need to go fancy with the bottom bracket when it needed to be replaced. Feels solid even at this price. Fast delivery, and free shipping to Sweden, which was excellent. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aspered75
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thanks costumer support

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have been referred this product by Evans customer services and its fits perfect on my bike. It's was easy to switch to this BB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dawn01

Good quality for the price

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this as a replacement for my worn out bottom bracket. It was easy to fit and works like a charm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamie007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking

VERY quick service

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I order the part on a Wednesday and pick it up on the Thursday!
This enabled me to enjoy some weekend riding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wallydog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement BB does the job well

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The original BB in my finally gave up, I needed a suitable replacement as quickly as possible and of the right size. Evans came through with this product delivered in two days from order and has happily completed its first 100 miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ecky3373
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well manufactured product and good value

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Recieved product in good time. Very well made and easy to install, smooth action and no problems since fitting it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skiint

Perfect, great value for money

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Ordered Tuesday got it on Wednesday. Easy to fit with the right tools and is so smooth. The locking nut is plastic but does appear to be a problem with strength as have cycled everyday for three weeks so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve9253
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality for price and easy to fit.

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Upgraded a spindle BB on a childs bike. The low price makes this a cost effective upgrade. Its easy to install (with the correct tools) and the bike runs much more smoothly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Middleaged
from Midlands
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Used on Specialised Hard Rock - also put a new cog set and chain - all fine and through Evans Cycles - very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kitelite
from Midlands
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to replace a non-cassette crank axle. It was no trouble at all to fit and is really smooth. Nice to know it won't fill up with dirt. Great product considering how cheap it is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
from Surrey
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value item

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit (with correct tools). But not always easy to spec the correct size required, so I visited Evans Kingston for some very helpful advice (since I was not sure weather I needed 110mm or 113mm size). The Evans staff looked over my bike and correctly specified 110mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cleyhidesman
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wrong bottom bracket

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did not use this item since it was the wrong size. I was removing a bottom bracket front derailleur and replacing it with a seat tube mounted changer. The bb mount displaced the bb, a 68 x110 by the width of the mount. I bought a 68x 113 instead which worked perfectly.
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MitchinNotts
from Nottinghamshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality part - though big increase in price since I last purchased same item!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano UN26 Bottom Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beazer
from West Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great value and service, quality branded product

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As a keen DIYer with little bike experience I volunteered to service a friend's cheap bike on a very tight budget. After angle-grinding a slot in the seriously seized old cup bearing one to knock it undone with a cold chisel(!) I went to the B'ham shop having seen this one on-line and not being sure it would fit. Very helpful service, the assistant checked with a mechanic who kindly measured the old and new ones for me and confirmed it will fit which I verified tonight. Looks like a finely engineered product that should prove far superior to the original, amd at such a decent price it fitted the shoestring budget.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.