Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre

Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre

Please Note that Brompton Accessories cannot be purchased for international delivery and can only be delivered to an address within the UK.
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Review 1 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
feelyjordan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit Brompton tyre

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to fit
Having struggled with Swalbe Marathons, and believe me I know all of the tricks, I wanted a replacement Brompton tyre that does not require steel fingers to fit. This one ticks the box very nicely, I feel confident that I could repair a puncture on the road in difficult conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jbone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
fast delivery, easy fitting and looks good. if it lasts as well as the kevlar tyres it could be excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
srjones89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wouldn't use anything else

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've always used these tyres on my brompton. The rolling resistance is good and I think they provide a good level of puncture protection.
I recently had to replace the originals because they were wearing thin, which after two years of continuous commuting seems very reasonable. Brompton have updated this tyre since i bought my bike, the picture shown here is the older discontinued version (with green "labels").
I like the styling of the new version and it seemed to be a lot easier to get them onto the rim than i remember the original ones being when they were new (could be that I've just had more practice though). Rolling resistance seems the same and as long as the puncture protection is as good as the older versions, i really can't see why you'd go for any other tyre on your Brompton.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GelGel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Seems much more durable than the one it replaced

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I love my Brompton, but was reaching a point where I was getting puncture after puncture (after puncture...). Loving these new tyres!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LWaB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Rolls well, few flats

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Brompton tyre rolls well when inflated to the top half of the pressure range and doesn't pick up too many flats. It is nicely made (concentric) and lasts a long time. Traction is reduced in the wet, of course, because of the durable compound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twanger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

The last set lasted 4 years

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to get on and off
This is the standard brompton kevlar tyre. They do the job. The reason I use these rather than the Marathon tyres is that even though you are more likely to be visited by the p*nct*re fairy, it is easily possible to get these tyres on and off by the roadside, even on a commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichieRich99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good but let down by weak sidewalls

PostedMay 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: weak sidewalls
I have just replaced this standard tyre on my Brompton with a Schwalbe Marathon after about 1200 miles. It sustained a puncture after about 700 miles and, after struggling to get it back on the rim after fixing it, I damaged the sidewall. This resulted in a nasty bulge which eventually caused another puncture later on and when I took the tyre off I could see it was coming away from the wire rim. The Marathon tyre seems much more sturdy. Also I found the Brompton tyre more prone to picking up bits of grit and gravel on my commute which takes in some tracks and trails. But generally not a bad tyre if you look after it and don't venture off the tarmac.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
emirpprime
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Standard Brompton tyre replacement

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had to replace my rear tyre for the first time after 2 years - this is an exact replacement for the original.
Does the job - easy to fit if a little tight - and they seem to wear/last well.
I've found them a good compromise between speed and grip and they've coped with all (commuting) conditions I've been faced with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scuds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is well made

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The Tyre i purchased is produced from quality materials, and I have been over some substrates on this tyre and the kevlar belt has done its job well. The tyre was relativley expensive but worth the extra cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
drough
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

poor tyre

PostedAugust 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I have been getting quite a few punctures recently and thought i could get a new tyre. I was ready to go and the tyre broke away from the wire. I am tired of punctures and in need of better tyres.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
L0nd0nC0mmuter
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Stop punctures NOW!

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Not had a puncture since I started using these tyres!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bromptonbiker

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Seems to be cheaper on the website than in store. But seems solid, good value given brompton markup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WobblyRider
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Can't complain

PostedJune 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This does what is required and keeps the ride the same while giving good road handling and assurance that it's been made for the bike i.e. a Brompton
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davie
from Dennistoun,Glasgow
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good

PostedJune 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had 3 punctures in 3 weeks with the Brompton default yellow brand tyres. Since getting the green kevlar one,have cycled 5 days a week to work,for the last 9 weeks (touch wood) via Glasgow Green and the bonnie Clyde, with no puncture.
I believe Brompton now have the green kevlar as standard. When I removed the yellow tyre, I could see light through it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tony
from london/Colchester
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Purchase

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality, easy to put on
I have used these tyres for 3 years now and can honestly say that I get less punctures than before. I would recommend these to anyone with a brompton.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gebb
from London
Style:Road Cyclist

No more punctures

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After a puncture in the original Brompton tyres on the day after I bought the bike, I ordered a pair of these. No punctures since.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brompton Reflective Kevlar Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kenny
from Cambridge
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brompton Kevlar Tyre

PostedDecember 10, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, last long
Really good tyres. Used it daily ad lasted for 3 years!
Don't do like me. Check for signs of wear on the side.
The latest versions are more reflective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.