Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre

Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre

Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 26(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Review 1 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frogrocket
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tip Top Tyres

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent grip in cornering and climbing. Seems to roll fine, although some people talk about it being a slow tyre. Unless you're on some dry trails with a race-oriented tyre, I doubt you would notice much difference.
"Power is nothing without control"
These tyres give you excellent control. Worth the cash.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
palerider301
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tyre .

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
great tyre
great price
would recommend to anyone ....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sucho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Downhill & Offroad only

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, confidence
Cons: Heavy, rolling resistance
Tires are great for downhill or freeride. Never skid even when pushed to that, giving rider lots of confidence not only in corners. As 2.35 it feels thin, better to go for 2.5 for gravity riding.
It's not good for XC as it is heavy and with huge rolling resistance. It's like a glue on the road. Good for fitness as you have to pedal a lot to get somewhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

This product is great value

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product is great value and is equally as good as the same higher priced items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philfila37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've found these to have extreme grip, especially off rd and in wet conditions. Very safe at high speeds and when cornering, I would defo recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mudflap
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What a difference

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
When the factory fitted tyres on my Kona (which had lasted 5 years) wore out I thought I'd give the Halfords own brand ones a go, they seemed to have a pretty good tread pattern for trail riding, what a mistake, they wore out in less than 12 months.
I'm not sure how long these will last but what a difference in grip from the rubbish Halfords tyre, not expensive either it's a win/win
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zesty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Best so far...............

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After slugging through the winter mud, i decided now is the the time to change to high rolling good gripping tyres, after a lot of searching online i decided these are the ones for me. All i can say is buy them you wont regret it , these are a great all rounder. best so far :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shunterjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Grip

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm not an experienced rider as such. Just been the last 15 years or so. My riding is mostly on tarmac or good tracks. But recently I went to do one of the 7 Stanes Mountain Bike Skills tracks at Newcastleton on the Scottish Borders. Then the tyres came into there own. Needed the good grip on the steep and sometimes slippy tracks through the forest course and over pontoon bridges etc. Really pleased I had these tyres fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamesb2049

Recommended

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought the super tacky 42a for the front and put the 60a on the back of my Orange Crush.I have to say the grip is amazing over anything wet or slippy.The push up the fire road is a bit slower but the hard push up is rewarded by the way the tyres roll and grip on the way down.
.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabba
from Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it should

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Performs exactly as described and cleans tubes and mouthpiece thoroughly.
No more lingering stale water tastes - easy to use and the hanger is a great widget!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samuel85
from Sheppey
Age:25-34
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good quality product and looks good too. Would recommend
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
YorkshireAdie
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but could be better

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought x2 of these for the MegaAvalanche and while the grip was good in most conditiond, they they were very slippery in dusty conditions.
Worth spending your money to get 2,3 ply tyres as i got x4 flats with these.. so ok but could be better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuddlybear1423
from Knaresborough, N-Yorks
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Purchase!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I would recommend any offroad cyclist to purchase these tyres.
They grip great and don't hold onto mud so you can continue riding without falling off!!
Not very comfortable on the road, but these are off road tyres and are great off road!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thebear28
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

high roller rear

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
run these on my 6" AM bike on the rear only. grips well, sheds the mud, no really problem climbing, the best size in high roller flavor to comprise between speed and grip on the descents. 42 way too sticky- 60 are the way to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrSmudger
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best ever

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A dry Easter weekend at Canock Chase on the Monkey trail and I was blown away by how much grip I had even though the surface was very loose in places. There is definitely more rolling resistance but not as much as I was expecting. I weight 82kg and had the tyres at 35 - 40 psi. If you need a tyre you can trust on a wide range of surfaces I would start with these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alpinist
from Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality tire

PostedApril 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought this as front tire for winter season, as my Kenda Small Block 8 tires almost have no grip on the wet surface. I must say that i am amazed how good that tire is, grip is excellent compared to my previous Kenda and rolling speed is comparable. Also i didn't have any pinch flats since i swap with highrollers. Only disadvantage is they are heavier, but i am not a weightweenie, so fun factor is more important for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Emmay
from Lake District
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great winter tyre

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good grip
Cons: Heavy
Bought this to replace the Continental Race King which was supplied as standard on the rear of my Lapierre Zesty.
Nothing terrible about the Continental but it just isn't up to British wet, muddy winter conditions.
The High Roller has been brilliantly grippy in mud on wet rocks and down wet grassy slopes. Its obviously heavier than the Race King but worth it for the grip. The only downside is that it's harder to keep it moving, but it'll keep you fit!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpykeyAndy
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very ggood tyre

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
these are the 1st tyres ive bought for my bike, i ride to wrok on road alot n they are very good for road n even better on the trail. very grippy and fast rolling and not too hard wearing which is good and not too hard on ya pocket either lol
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rookie666
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good tyre Good price, but i found them sketchy.

PostedOctober 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: not keen on the high side tread knobs
I was running some specialized tyres that I really loved, and when they finally bit the dust I looked for a decent replacement. The High Rollers are a very well designed tyres, great low rolling resistance in the centre, but I found them a bit sketchy on dry dusty cornering. Once you are over on the edge your fine but I found the transition a bit dicey at speed.
I have since changed to Continental Mountain Kings and I am far happier. Horses for courses on these tyres as I have read nothing but good reviews on them. Just not for me in this case, I got a great price from Evans though, and they are residing on my old Specialized hardtail and still in use so not so bad in the end. just not my cup of tea!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxxis High Roller 2.35 60a Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ironvan
from Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

solid dependable tyre

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
i needed a tyre that would not skip around on wet stoney runs and give confidence for my front end - this did the trick , i ride cannock regularly and this is the perfect front tyre .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>