Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches

Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Review 1 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chook
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT PROTECTION

Posted11 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have used these before, great protection from chain slap on your chainstays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucas18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good product.

Posted06 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Lizard Skins Leather Chain Protector and Patches looks nice on my silver and black bike, stick well on frame. Most important - it's doing their job! Patches are wide enough to stop brake and gear cables from scratching head tube. They could be slightly thinner. Chain stay Protector fits perfect on my chain stay part of frame (check your chain stay size before you buy one for your bike).
In general good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Liesl
Country:South Africa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted08 April 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Easy application, aesthetically pleasing and extremely durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CaptTugboat
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, strong & thick

Posted04 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: limited size, unable to adhere on sharp corners
I've used this product twice on two bikes. The second time I made better use of it and cut it into smaller/thinner sections. I found that on my first bike the adhesive didn't stick on one side because the angle the chain strut frame was too sharp for it to bend over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StueyEd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality product

Posted29 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I've had this chainstay protector on my road bike for over a year now and it does exactly what you want it to.
It looks great, adding a bit of carbon bling to my mostly aluminium bike, it's protected my chainstay from damage and it's stayed put despite use in heavy rain.
What more do you want?!
When I first got the product I was concerned that it wouldn't adhere to the contours of my chainstay as it seemed quite stiff. I even considered returning it before I removed the backing paper from the adhesive side and made that impossible. However, I took the plunge and was pleased to find that it will quite happily bend to fit around your stay and stick in place!
I've never tried removing it so I can't comment on whether there is any damage to the paintwork as a result of the adhesive, but tbh, if I needed to, I would replace the effected area with another one of these anyway so I'm not too bothered!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tonypm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential frame protection

Posted26 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Does what you expect, good quality, sticks well and no residue or damage to paint colour etc.
Buy the chainstay kit as you can cut this into several patches or smaller strips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blackspur
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Good

Posted04 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Adhesive sticks well onto a clean frame and prevents cable wear on carbon, often not covered under carbon frame's warranty. You won't see them on black/carbon frames most of the time as they are generally where the cable routing is. They could save your frame, so good value when viewed like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deathsyc
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Posted03 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
this is not good skins.. because it's only patches.....
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins Leather Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orangepeel
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not the best

Posted10 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive, Poor quality
Bought this as evans were out of stock of the clear protectors. The adhesive isnt great and the cables can start to move the patches on the frame as they are quiet thick and sit proud on the frame. Have now replaced them with clear lizard skins, dont use surgical spirit to remove any leftover adhesive as this will dull your frame. they dont look great either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.