Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain

Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redvers
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A great product as you would expect from Shimano, have purchased their chains previously and never had any problems with them. Fast efficient service from Evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Akos320

If you can afford it buy it

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had some other chain on my bike, chained to this and the shifts are a little smoother, it is quieter. If I had known what i know today I would have changed to this chain some time ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Penge430
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality, easy to install.
So much smoother than the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TKEH
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good chain for a great price

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good chain for a great price. Easy to fit to road bike but I didn't use the connector pin and installed using a KMC missing link
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crossy007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good chain. Easy to put on. Nice and light to! Makes little noise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMCBarney
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable, lightweight and reasonably priced

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
my entire groupset is Shimano 105, and I always use like-for-like replacements.
This is my eighth 105 chain on this bike, all of which I've replaced at their natural end-of-life. I've not had any break or seize on me.
I find these tend to last me for about 12-1500 miles, depending on how disciplined I am with keeping it clean!
If you're wondering, this chain is compatible with both Shimano 105 5600 and 5700 cassettes and chainrings. Apparently 5700 offers improved shifting. I can't say I've really noticed much difference though (I've used both types of cassette).
Cost compared to other levels within the shimano range is good. I believe it can also be used on Ultegra setups, if you're trying to save money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snapemike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Instructions for shortening the chain not entirely clear, otherwise just what I wanted, and worked well once installed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kristoffer
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good value - but missing powerlink

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As headline says - this chain is (like any other 105-series product) good value for money. However Shimano could really learn from SRAM's powerlinks as this chain is a pain the shorten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stanalexander
from australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

chain

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This chain is in keeping with shimanos' quality as expected from the 105 series of components.
The chain runs smoothly, changes well, and is durable for many miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OxfordS
from Oxford
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality chain

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Same chain as had been on my road bike from new - that one performed so well I went for the same again. Following the instructions provided fitting is not a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sssss

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I chose this chain for commuting purposes. I made it up without the special link, the purpose of which puzzled me. So far, it is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gilbert
from Norfolk
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

good buy

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
its nice to have a back up chain when riding as a broken chain can turn a good ride into a bad one. this chain does what a chain should, light, does not slip and lasts for a long time. what more do you need?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matthew
from Mansfield
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
just changed mine after 4700miles+ on a triple chainset - that impressed I replaced with identical. Riding invovlved commuting, fast day rides and a laden Lands End to John O'Groats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano 105 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
w01313ly
from london
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

mediocre

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
snapped after 15 miles. repaired on the road - then it snapped again around 40 miles in uphill in a low(ish) gear. repaired again taking out two broken links which means i assume the derailleurs need to be adjusted at some point, but it seems to be working fine now.
It's not my riding style, first time it snapped i was doing just 18mph and changed gear and snap. Ridden the same style for years - no problems, just when i used the new chain
Would say when you get a new one lubricate it loads, then give it a good 50 - 70 miles to wear in before you do some decent hill rides on it
Tbh though they arent to hard to repair - you might as well grit your teeth and get on with it
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.