Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette

SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
doozy

Shimano compatible, good standard cassette

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted as a replacement for a Shimano cassette to a mountain bike along with an SRAM PC850 chain. You will need a standard Shimano cassette lockring tool and a chain whip to get the old cassette off. The new one then fits easily. Available in three ratio ranges: 11-28, 11-30, and 11-32. Fitted two weeks ago and used every day, it runs smoothly, changes precisely, and is quiet. A good standard cassette at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mafff
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfectly good component

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
added to my bike during a routine service. makes changing gears a whole lot easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MichaelF

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
So far, very slick transition between gears. No slippage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveStumjumper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works Great

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Used this model over a number of years with all combinations of chains and rear derailuers - Changes always smooth without hickup no matter what brand of chain etc.
A little heavier and not so effecint at clearing mud compaired to the more expensive alloy framed next model up but far cheaper and just as good in normal use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RuettigerPStone

Ok, not great

PostedDecember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Its OK for a basic cassette but not brilliant. Gears slipped a few times after having the cables tightened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PJR54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great part well fitted

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought at same time as new road bike to give wider gear range as I'm an older rider getting back into cycling so now super fast but also very easy on steep hills. Got part fitted as part of build great service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frankt

Cassette

PostedJune 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A smooth, quiet running cassette. Fitted easily and runs well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rslw

Excellent

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
No problems with the fitting. Seems reliable and durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM PG 830 MTB 8 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adastros
from Portsmouth
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Amazing quality and price

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is definately worth the cost and more. Not only was it cheap but works great. I have had no problems since i purchased it, even after doing a couple of thousand miles on it. It works smoothly and was extreamly easy to put on. A must buy if you're looking for a reliable cassette but without a price tag :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.